2001 MG ZT 190+ 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great and versatile performance saloon

Faults:

One of the rear wheel bearings went slack after I had taken her on a track day in Germany. It didn't cause a problem it was noticed when I had the oil changed after I got home.

Apart from that I've had no problems at all.

General Comments:

The car is good at everything, it's comfortable around town and soaks up the miles when carrying out long journeys e. g Germany in 5 hours felt like 2!

I use mine for track days and can out run most other usual machinery found at these meetings.

It's easy to drive with a slick gear-change and responsive steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

20th Jan 2010, 17:45

I couldn't agree more! The ZT is probably the best all-round vehicle to come out of MGRover. The ZS seems to have it slightly on handling, but seeing as it's lighter than the ZT, I guess we can give it that mark.

If you go for a fully spec'd V6 manual with alcantara, navigation, sunroof and TV etc, you've got one the best vehicles in it's class. Better than anything BMW can produce for the same money, and it'll be more reliable than the German!

2001 MG ZT 160+ 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Drop-dead gorgeous, true sports saloon

Faults:

Sticky boot release when cold. This was fixed during the first service by the dealer.

General Comments:

A beautiful car that turns heads - the test is do you look back at the car when you park it on the drive at night? I do it every time.

Trophy Blue is a superb colour, but getting a bit too popular now though.

Interior is rock solid with no rattles or squeaks after 33,000 miles. Seats are very comfortable too, even on long journeys. The reason for the side supports becomes apparent when you test the car's amazing cornering abilities - it's the only way you'd stay in the car when you really push it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

2001 MG ZT Tourer 190+ 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A high performance bargain - it really is!

Faults:

Nothing, it runs like a dream.

General Comments:

A great car! Very different to my previous car (Toyota Celica) but just as quick.

This car growls when you're in a hurry and purrs when you're not.

My pearlescent blue Tourer is still rare enough to be acknowledged by other blue Tourers as they go past.

What's even better is that because no one else knows how good they are, you can pick up a nearly-new example (like mine was at 15 months old) for just 60% of list pice!

All in all a fantastic car to own and drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

2001 MG ZT 190+ 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A shame to the British reputation across Europe

Faults:

Head gasket failure, Engine lost a serious amount of power as accelerating and it's never been the same since, Brake failure as heading into a dual carriage way at the lights, Leaks from all windows around the car and finally, air-conditioning failure.

General Comments:

A really bad car for the same amount as a proved quality car like my next car a BMW 3-series. No wonder the smart BMW group sold Mg-Rover for £10.00 it was a real rip-off to BMW they could have got more! Generally bad attempt at the sport tourer group and a shambles the British reputation across Europe. NEVER BUY AN MG-ROVER THEY'RE CRAP TAKE IT FROM ME!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

3rd Jun 2003, 07:25

A 3 series. Don't see many of those at all. You'll really stand out from the crowd.

22nd Feb 2008, 17:07

"MG ROVER ARE CRAP! TAKE IT FROM ME" Said the original poster.

I would rather not thanks. I think you are one of the biased people whom I doubt even owns one.

Please leave the commenting to owners, whom by and large love these big MG's. Great handling cars, and nothing compares at the money.

Really. 1998 100k BMW 320, or 2000 50k mile MG ZT 190?

MG is faster, bigger, better to drive...

Oh I can't be bothered debating this. The MG is a great car, much respect to those who own one.

And I am soooo tempted by the ZT 260, even now.

27th Jan 2013, 16:13

Hear, hear, brilliant all rounder. I think the above must have had a bad apple, of which there are plenty in each make of car. I'm sure there are even bad apple Ferraris LOL... Big, bad, steady British cars!!!