2003 Mitsubishi Carisma Elegance DiD 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Brilliant drive, economical and problem free

Faults:

Brake caliper needed replacing. That's it.

General Comments:

20,000 of mileage and I'm starting to fall in love with the car, as it has started every time and never really had a fault.

No rattles, no electrical problems, engine is sounding lovely.

Drives lovely, comfortable, good space, nice looking car in dark blue. Very economical, I can get 55-60 MPG on the trip computer.

Highly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2014

2003 Mitsubishi Carisma Elegance 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Reliable, spacious and economical family sized car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a well built reliable and high spec car.. it is not the quickest on acceleration, but when hitting the 4k rev mark, the engine wants more.. I have taken this car up to 115 mph and it still wanted more...

On a good run averaging around 60mph, the car will return about 42mpg, which is not bad at all..

Electric windows, air con, CD player, leather seats, air bags, alloys and very roomy..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2007

2003 Mitsubishi Carisma Equippe 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Reliability not up to what I expected

Faults:

Engine management light came on for no apparent reason, car still ran OK. Was fixed when car went in to have bodywork repaired after a collision.

Tail light didn't work, neither did number plate light at time of purchase, was fixed by the independent dealer we bought it off before delivery (wiring fault, not bulbs).

Main beam warning light didn't work - discovered the fuse was missing, once replaced worked OK.

Alarm randomly started sounding, was able to start and drive car with it still sounding, very embarrassing in a pub car park! Seems to have resolved itself now.

General Comments:

Car needs plenty of revs when setting off otherwise stalls - can this be good for clutch life?

Idling speed when cold can be over 2000rpm - seems too high?

Ride harsh, rolls plenty on corners, but grips well.

Quite spacious, good spec - cd, aircon, alloys.

Averages 35mpg mixture town, motorway driving.

Expected Japanese reliability when buying, have been disappointed. However this model is made in Holland.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2007

2003 Mitsubishi Carisma Elegance 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great long distance cruiser

Faults:

Absolutely nothing at all.

General Comments:

The car is very economical (50 MPG easily)

The performance is excellent.

The most comfortable leather seats.

The interior is well made and rattle free. Nothing has broken or fallen off

Air conditioning and cruise control ABS and electric windows as standard.

The ride of the car is not firm at all, but still remains composed through bends.

The paintwork doesn't collect stone chips.

This is the first Mitsubishi i have owned, and i can honestly say it has surpassed all my expectations.

Before buying it i read the reviews in popular car magazine publications. These gave the impression that everything about it was poor which is certainly not the case.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2005

6th Dec 2005, 13:34

Yes agree with all you say a very underated car by the motoring press.

2003 Mitsubishi Carisma Elegance 1.9 DiD from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fully specified car at a cheap price

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is the first time I have ever bought an 'expensive' car (£9000), my usual price is around the £2000 mark. And I can honestly say I am completely satisfied with my choice of car.

I find the car very comfortable to drive in, I have daily commute of 120 miles.

Having leather seats, air con, CD player, ABS/EBD, etc all adds to the great overall package.

So if you never thought you would ever buy a Carisma surprise and yourself how by good it really is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2004

16th Jan 2005, 15:28

After running this car for further six months, no problems have been encountered. I carried out the 20000 mile service myself (no point in wasting money on expensive mitsubishi servicing).

21st Apr 2008, 20:08

Air mass flow meter failed went to Mitsubishi who wanted to charge me £680 to replace unit and labour. Went to an independent Renault specialist who charged £220 for the work.

How could could Mitsubishi look me in the eye and want to rip me off?

8th May 2010, 18:41

Car has now covered 150000 miles, great car!

2nd Jan 2012, 08:19

The car has now covered 175000 miles and is still going strong.

24th May 2014, 17:12

The car has now gone to meet its maker. The car had covered 275000 miles, and what a car. The only item that was replaced was the air mass meter. It was still on its original exhaust, shocks, etc - air con was never topped up. It's a shame they do not make it any more.

Bought a Citroen C4, which had covered 16000 miles and needed a new clutch!

2003 Mitsubishi Carisma 1.6 from Ukraine

Summary:

So far it keeps disappointing me - hope this will change for better

Faults:

Within 3 months of the purchase (at about 3,000 km) the car signal went off and never stopped. Mitsubishi service station told me that the problem was caused by the button of the signal, which was hidden behind the airbag in the driver's wheel, getting stuck. The only way to fix the problem was to replace the airbag, which would have cost me (absent a warranty) about USD1,000. In any case, I had to live without the signal 1,5 months until the replacement airbag was shipped and installed.

Right now the fuel consumption is at 14,5 liters per 100 km, which is way too high for a 1.6 engine, so I have to bring the car back to the service station. And that's after mere 8 months of ownership of a brand new car!

General Comments:

The car is generally OK, but I sincerely expected it to be problem-free for at least first 5 years. It is also a bit too slow for its declared 113 hp. It feels even slower than my old Ford Fiesta 1.6, which was a diesel. The fuel consumption does not make it an economy car either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

13th Mar 2006, 06:30

I have one charisma since the 8/2003

The button for the driver windshield broke twice.

Both left and right air ventilators broke also twice

The horn went on and never stopped. Changed airbag.

Transmission third gear also broke. Changed the whole gearbox after 2 months without car.

The light <<engine check>> went on. Changed sensor in engine.

All of the above were covered by the warranty, hopefully. What will happen when comes out?

Car since the first time <<pulls>> to the right.

8th Feb 2007, 13:02

When did you got the idea you have 113 hp?

The 1.6 2003 air has 103 hp!