1994 Mitsubishi Diamante Reviews

1994 Mitsubishi Diamante Station Wagon 3.0 V6 SOHO from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 SOHO Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance134366 miles

Summary:

A great car if you can afford all the repairs it needs

Faults:

Idle has a mind of it's own.

Sometimes upon start up it turns off.

Must allow 10 minutes for car to warm up in order for it not to turn off.

Transmission sometimes "jumps" at stops or right on take off.

Everything leaks, most recent is either cam shaft, crank shaft or timing cover (everyone that sees it has a different opinion).

Haven't used the AC since the first month I owned it, because the car drags rather than drive when it's on. After 5 minutes it blows out hot air anyway..

It has a loud click. Haven't figured out what it is, but when you touch the gas pedal to take off it throws out one loud quick "CLICK".

The glove box stopped closing about a year ago now it just hangs.

Windshield wipers have to be replaced twice a year for front and back glass.

Car has electrical problems, it locks itself. Whether or not the key is in the ignition, upon closing the doors the car locks itself. (I've been locked out twice warming up the car cause I forgot to open the window).

General Comments:

I loved this car.

It's comfortable and makes me feel safe.

When it wants it runs great, like a brand new car.

Other times it lets you know that it's giving up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2006

10th Oct 2007, 20:42

I have owned this car for five and a half years and have not experienced one thing listed above. I have 106600 miles on it and yes things have gone wrong, but this is one fantastic car. It runs great, handles great, looks great and is as fast as can be. This vehicle is fully loaded. The only negative comment I have is that it requires high test fuel. We are thinking of selling it because of age, but it has become a very difficult decision. I have the original window invoice for this car which listed for just under $28,000.00.

10th Oct 2007, 23:48

20:42: Let me help you solve your problem. I'll buy it. :) Send me an email at betadraft@gmail.com.

1994 Mitsubishi Diamante Station Wagon 3.0 double overhead from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 double overhead Automatic
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance223000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Diamante

Summary:

It is a great car and I would buy another one!

Faults:

The Idle motor is faulty.

I had several oil leaks and replaced seals.

The car does burn a quart of oil every 1000 miles. There is a little smoke due to worn valve seals.

The exhaust pipe rusted out so I replaced the section.

The brakes are wobbly.

General Comments:

It is a powerful car and served very well over the years. It is still running strong and is comfortable to drive. I cannot say that I have meticulously looked after it either. The oil changes have been irregular, however, if something went wrong I fixed it. The seats are comfortable, however, the interior is finally showing some wear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2006

19th Dec 2006, 11:19

Wish I had your luck.. My station wagon makes me want to cry.

1994 Mitsubishi Diamante LS 3.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carAudi 90

Summary:

I love this car. A serious bargain for 4000 bucks!

Faults:

The car was out of alignment when purchased and needed new tie rods. Now it aligns and tracks perfectly.

General Comments:

This LS has all the options and everything still works flawlessly. I am impressed with the smooth shifting transmission, interior comfort, logical layout of the many controls, and the Infinity sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2005

1994 Mitsubishi Diamante ES 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired187000 miles
Most recent distance188000 miles
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

Great car, if you want to fix it

Faults:

FM radio tuning works intermittently.

Air conditioning needs a recharge.

Starter needed replacement.

After starter was replaced, radio needs a code to work, which I don't have.

Valve seals, or some gaskets, or whatever are causing the car to leak oil need replacement.

Burns oil.

Smoke comes out of the engine compartment after the car is running for a while.

The car doesn't seem to like shifting from second to third gear.

General Comments:

I love driving this car. It looks great, it handles nicely, it's powerful, and it has one of the most comfortable bucket seats in which I've ever sat.

However, all that is counterbalanced by the engine problems. This car leaks and burns oil pretty badly. It used to spray oil, but all it needed was a new oil cap. The smoke coming out of the engine is what worries me the most.

Worse yet, it would take thousands of dollars to fix these problems, an investment I'm unwilling to take.

If this car didn't have these mechanical problems, then it would be a perfect used sporty luxury sedan. But sadly, it does have problems and that forced me to replace it with a less luxurious, but more reliable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th May, 2005

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews