1994 Mitsubishi Diamante LS 3.0L DOHC from North America


A nice car for the money, but be prepared for its flaws


The car has burned oil and smoked since the day I bought it. This is common to Diamantes of this body style.

The power antenna broke at 140,00 miles.

I replaced the stop light switch when I bought the car (The brake lights did not work).

The electrical devices act up sometimes, such as the radio occasionally turning off while a window is being rolled up.

General Comments:

Nice car for the money, but choose carefully and be ready to handle to the maintenance that comes along with it, and the likelihood that it will start to smoke some time after 100K. Comfortable and amply quick, a nice road car, but not too great on gas, and it doesn't improve much on the highway. Expensive looking interior, and most interior parts have held up very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th October, 2003

19th Nov 2003, 02:25

I think it just all depends on the Diamante. I bought my Diamante with 121k, when I sold it it had 162k without ever having putting any money into it other than regular maintenance (tires, oil, brakes)

1994 Mitsubishi Diamante ES V6 from North America


Great car, bad engine


Engine started burning oil and smoking after idling and accelerating from traffic lights, even though I changed the oil and filter regularly, always used high-test gasoline, and performed the 30,000 mile interval maintenance. This all started at around 70,000 miles.

The blower fan for the heating and air conditioning was very noisy from the start, and the blower fan motor finally gave out at around 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

I generally liked and still do like everything about this car. I think it was a good value. It had a lot of nice standard features for the price, especially compared to comparably priced cars. It was less expensive than the Lexus ES300 and the mid-model Infiniti, for example, which I read it was designed to compete with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

1994 Mitsubishi Diamante ES 3.0 V6 SOHC from North America


Dependable, sporty and luxurious!


I bought the car from a dealer who gave me no warranty and actually sold me the car in "is as" condition.

The engine died when there was excessive steering movement usually while taking out the car from a parking lot, I got the idling adjusted it helped, but it still, sometimes, has that problem.

When I did a tune up a week ago I also did a compression test, which showed good numbers apart from one cylinder, which I think has an exhaust valve leak.

The air conditioning system didn't work efficiently so I got it checked by a local mechanic. He said there were apparently no leaks in the system, but it showed no refrigerant in the system. I got it recharged for $60 and it fixed the problem for the time being. It will have its real test during the summer, though!

It has a Pioneer 12 CD changer in the trunk, which the dealer said wasn't working, but when I tried changing few settings it started working fine.

The Power Antenna doesn't work properly; the motor seems to work well though.

The stereo controls on the steering wheel aren't working at all.

General Comments:

I love the way it accelerates. It's quick and easy to handle. The power steering is smooth.

It has all the comforts and sometimes I wonder there is a lot in this car that might mesmerize anyone! It doesn't look as if it has it all -luxury and power. We can actually feel both after getting inside and pumping the gas!

It was an excellent bargain for a mid-size sports sedan with such low mileage on it! After all, there are only a few lucky people on earth.

No regrets for the running cost, that's expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2003

1994 Mitsubishi Diamante ES 3.0 SOHC from North America


A very high quality car, but may be expensive to repair


Engine valves burned at 130,000.

General Comments:

I love the look and feel of this car.

Even at 8 years old, it is still very quiet on the road and handles like a new car.

However, I found that when repairs are needed, they can be very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2002

1994 Mitsubishi Diamante LS 3.0 DOHC v6 from North America




Transmission went, oil pump went and blew engine, needed to replace brakes, struts, shocks, upper and lower control arms.

General Comments:

This car is the biggest piece of junk I have owned. It is a nice riding car when it runs. I don't know if it's just bad luck, but I spent thousands on the car within four months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th July, 2000

11th Sep 2001, 07:34

The old Diamantes are so much better than the new. More powerful engine, lighter, plus if you didn't beat the crap out of the car or knew how to take care of it, maybe it would last.

28th Sep 2001, 14:13

Our 1992 Diamante is also a piece of junk. It started smoking after 70k miles and the transmission went at 100k. Even GM cars last longer than this. I have also noticed almost every Mitsubishi I see now smokes. Does anyone know if there is a class action suit I can join against Mitsubishi. Ours has been well taken care of with regular service. Driven carefully by my mother...