2002 Mitsubishi Diamante Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2002 Mitsubishi Diamante LS from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Not too bad, but sounds like a lot of the same problems everyone else has

Faults:

Heater core went out at 45,000 miles.

Antenna stopped going up and down at 60,000 miles.

Gas gauge stopped working at 65,000 miles.

Check engine light comes on due to the gas cap not being on tight (loosens up when it is hot outside).

Steering wheel vibrates... makes my hands numb when driving.

Car doesn't turn over until several tries of reinstalling the key to start.

General Comments:

Like all owners of Diamante's, I too have had to replace the heater core when I first got my 2002 Diamante LS in 2005. Everything went well until about a year ago when my antenna stopped going up and down, and made a grinding noise, and my gas gauge stopped working.

Then a few months later... my radio stopped working. I can do without a gas gauge since I know what I get per tank for miles and I am getting used to the silence.

NOW... my car won't turn over. I turn the key... nothing. I take the key out several times.. then after a few tries it will start like nothing was wrong. I have been happy with my Diamante and love my car, but I think it is time for me to fork out the bill to get it fixed or get cash for clunkers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2009

2002 Mitsubishi Diamante LS from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Faults:

Heater core has a leak. Pungent smell comes across every time the heater is turned on.

I have replaced couple of O2 sensors over the years.

Besides that, I really like the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2009

2002 Mitsubishi Diamante LX V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles

Summary:

Won't buy another Mitsubishi

Faults:

The first problem I had with my 02 Diamante was the brakes. They seem to wear pretty fast.

At 40,000 I had the well known heater core problem.

I have had a rattling noise up in the headliner since about 20k. I took it to the dealer and they fixed it, but it came back at around 36k.

Antenna problem is common, so I will fix mine also..

Now I'm getting ready to change my timing belt at 64k just to be safe.

The leather doesn't wear very well either.

I've also found it hard to find a repair manual. I rate the overall car poor!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2009

2002 Mitsubishi Diamante LX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi 1997 Diamante

Summary:

Heater core issue in all of them

Faults:

I had a 97 Diamante bought from Texas that had 150K miles. It ran great and I sold it when it had 240K miles.

Then I bought the 2002 Diamante. I love the way they look, the one I got looked brand new. After one I got the following issues.

1- Heater core went bad, started leaking inside the passenger side. Cost me 1000$ to get it fixed.

2- Trans started jerking going from 3rd to 4th gear.

This car was a nightmare. Thank god I sold it after 8 months, lost $3000.

General Comments:

Bad car. Don't ever buy Mitsubishi unless it had a very low mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th July, 2008

14th Jul 2008, 16:49

It's called a transmission flush. Try it. And wow, 2 repairs after 100,000 miles makes it a terrible car? Not every car is problem-free especially after 100,000 miles.

29th Oct 2008, 10:23

I also own a 2002 Diamante, and after 4-1/2 years the heater core leaked ONTO the Engine Control Computer... When I took the car back to the dealer, from whom I regrettably bought it, the head mechanic said, "oh, yeah, the heater core, we see that all the time..." All the time???!! If so, wouldn't a manufacturer at LEAST alert their customers of a propensity for their products to self-destruct? In my case, I had to replace both the heater core AND the Engine Control Computer to the tune of over $2,000.

BTW... The mechanic recommended I donate a 5 year old car to Goodwill, because, in his opinion it wasn't worth fixing! In retrospect, I have to agree with him, but I've owned cars (Honda, Nissan) that were more than viable with 92,000 miles on them! I drove an Accord to more than double that with nary a problem.

BTW... I stupidly bought an extended warranty with the car, and it not only did not cover the heater core, and the ECC, but neither the Electric Antenna or the Gas Tank Fuel Gauge Sender...

Caveat Emptor...

21st Feb 2010, 16:08

Heater core went on my car right after the warranty expired. Dealers know about problem, but never recalled. Won't buy another Mitsubishi.

3rd Sep 2010, 23:47

To the OP that has all have heater core issues. Mine never once has, and it is over 200,000 miles.

As for flushing the tranny, that does a great job in seizing the tranny, not helping it.

12th Jun 2012, 10:02

How much is it to fix the gas tank sender?

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews