1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carDodge Avenger

Summary:

A great vehicle and a great value from Mitsubishi

Faults:

Engine pulleys went out at 155000 miles.

Small oil leak on bottom gasket of crankcase.

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle for the road.

Great value for amount of purchase.

Reliability is excellent.

Car handles quickly and is responsive to driver input.

Car is comfortable for drive and one passenger.

Backseat passengers are a little cramped.

Trunk space is ample and netting provides extra stability for groceries.

Console is very clear to see and all controls are within fingers reach.

Excellent gas mileage and only needs to have 87 octane gasoline.

I use 10W30 in the summer and 5W30 in the winter for oil weight for better performance.

Great car!

It looks great and the styling is classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS-T from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

One of the best cars of this class I've ever driven

Faults:

Previous owner had the oil inter cooler go bad.

Door speakers went out and dash speakers went out. Haven't found cause for loss of sound yet...

Previous owner had broken seatbelt guides on each seat and the reclining handles on each seat.

General Comments:

This car is great to drive. The turbo has small lag off the line like most turbo's do, but once it is up to pressure it pushes like mad.

This car also has the performance upgrade chip, K&N Filter Charger, and Tenzo type R exhaust. With all these I'm sitting behind about 250-260 HP and the exhilaration is heart pounding at higher speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

24th Oct 2010, 20:22

What type of performance chip are you using? Like the exact model and everything.

25th Oct 2010, 16:28

"What type of performance chip are you using? Like the exact model and everything."

This is a 7 year old post. He probably blew this car up a long time ago!

1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

A fun project

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The 1996 RS is a fix-er-uper and by no means do you have to do anything to it. The car is perfectly reliable as it is, but like Hondas the Eclipse can be fitted with more custom parts than you can imagine. People who own a RS and GS will especially want to fix their car up since it lacks the turbo engine, which is rather expensive and kind of hard to find. It is comfortable, but be warned do not even think about trying to put more than two people in this car, it is a semi sports car and it is pretty much only meant for a driver, if you want a pretty car with more options and room that can't perform like the 2nd generation Eclipses go with a 2000 model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles

Summary:

Great looking for little money

Faults:

The driver seat is a little worn down because I'm a big guy. It is also noisy on the highway with the top down. Good thing the stereo is loud.

General Comments:

I really love the car, The back seats are small and the trunk is tiny, but it fits my golf clubs and my hockey equipment (not the stick).

I'd buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

The Eclipse is all that and then some!

Faults:

I never had any problems with the 1996 Eclipse.

General Comments:

My 1996 Eclipse was one of the best cars I have ever had the pleasure of driving. It was totally reliable. I would still have it today had it not been totalled out in a wreck. I would not be here today had it not been for that car taking all the impact instead of my body. I am sold for life on Eclipses.

Performance and handling go hand in hand and I rate it very highly on this vehicle.

As for the comfort I do not think anyone could find a car that size that makes the ride feel as if you are in a large-size vehicle.

It is also a very economical car in more ways than one. Gas mileage is great. The price is right. Repairs if any are not too expensive. The body protects the occupants. What more could you ask for out of a vehicle?

Rarely would you find a Eclipse on the side of the road. I don't believe I have ever seen one leave its owner stranded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2001

19th Jun 2003, 10:53

I am the original owner of a 1996 (bought in 1995) Eclipse. I just love it. Maintain it well and timely and it will last. I've only had minor repairs made: Timing belt, gasket replace, oxygen sensors and just now thinking about a new clutch. The exterior paint has lasted like no other car I've had. Even the interior has lasted the test if time. I've made no special alterations to the car other than 16" wheels (anything larger makes for a rough ride) since I bought it. My only negative comment I can make are the headlight acrylic lenses have turned yellow from the sun. It was a great price and has held a good value.

1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS-T 2.2 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance92400 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A moderately high priced piece of junk!

Faults:

Spark plug wires were arching.

Battery literally exploded.

Transmission had to be replaced @ 65000 miles.

The convertible top started to come apart.

The engine threw a rod @ 92000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has good looks, but was the most unreliable automobile I've ever had the displeasure of owning.

Ever time I turned around there was something else breaking on the car (i.e. Knobs for seat adjustments).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

20th Jun 2001, 02:38

They don't put a 2.2 turbo in the Eclipse. Its a 2.0 turbo and mine runs great.

29th Jun 2001, 11:16

I own a 95 Mitsubishi Eclipse and it is a piece of junk. I am so disturbed that the car has only 37,000 miles (bought new) and it has been a problem from the onset. I have already installed 3 sets of brakes, on at least 4 occassions, my car simply would not start and most recently, the car cut off on me while driving on the interstate. This is a car that has been "pampered" and received routine maintenance faithfully. The best part is that when you take it in to the dealership, they "never know" what the problem could be. Already this week, I've spent over $1,000 + rental car expenses in trying to get the car repaired. They tell me "it could be the computer" but they just aren't sure. It is a shame that I am faced with having to buy a new car when my current one only has 37,000 miles! I would NEVER, EVER purchase another mitsubishi.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews