1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS-T 4g63t from North America


An amazing sporty car


Nothing so far!

General Comments:

Great, fast, cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2010

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder 2.4 Liter from North America


Great car if you find that one gem in all the rocks


Number one, being a convertible the top leaks, and when I say leaks I mean POURS. It's just in the corners where the top meets the windshield of the car, and I was told it needed new weather stripping by Mitsubishi; which was going to run me $800+ to replace.

Seats are now mildewed because of the leakage.

Jerky before the engine warms up when shifting gears.

When going down an incline, and barely tapping the break, the RP-Ms raise (I was told it was the fuel injectors needing to be cleaned and an induction service done on the engine. $300+ by Mitsubishi.)

Antenna motor has stopped working.

Convertible top has stopped working.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car despite it's faults, it handles wonderfully to me. Having switched from a rear wheel drive to a front wheel drive car I'm in love with it.

The small rear passenger/driver windows and small rear window leave a massive blind spot in between.

Very small space for rear passengers.

Very easy to bottom out the from bumper and crack it.

Beautiful stock body.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2008

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.4 liter from North America


Weak. Feels like my car is ill


TERRIBLE OFF THE LINE ACCELERATION. The only person who would say that this is a "sports" car is a teenage girl who likes the way it looks, but has never been in a real sports car. 140 hp is an absolute joke for a nearly 3,700 lb. car. Simply waaaaay too heavy to perform. No low end torque, and will barely go past 100 due to the fuel pump cut off.

Modified the hell out of it, and got some good gains, but still way slower than it looks.

It is basically a fake Rolex watch you'd buy from some jive-ster in midtown Manhattan... it looks great, but there is nothing inside.

General Comments:

It handles great and will get you lots of tail, because like I said... it is a girl's car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2008

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder GS 2.4L from North America


Love it


Transmission rebuilt for the only time @ 215,000 miles.

Regular maintenance things (oil, air filter, etc.)

Oh yeah, my top leaks some, shouldn't have a recall or at least made it perform better.

General Comments:

Regular maintenance things (oil, air filter, etc.) needed for the last 10 years of owning my Eclipse Spyder.

Added Koni Shocks and Eibach Springs to improve handling and adds a nice looking stance.

Have 17" Niche Bella Chrome rims w/Nitto tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2008

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS from North America


Awesome car, I definitely recommend you buy one if your interested, you won't be disappointed


Needed timing belt fixed as soon as I got the car.

My serpentine belt broke at about 165K.

General Comments:

This car isn't very quick at all however, it handles turns awesome.

Its not the most comfortable car, but long rides aren't too bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2008

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0L DOCH N/T from North America


Great car for a low budget!


Transmission and clutch are too crappy, and the side windows and sunroof will die if they go up/down a lot, and in the wind.

I recently lost all the lights inside the car and the speedometer.

The transmission died at about 145k miles, and the clutch at about 136k miles, which is not bad for stock! Average stock is about 100k on the clutch.

General Comments:

It's not a bad car for $4500k; the BLUE BOOK price was like $9595.

A great car to drive and enjoy the gas mileage, not to mention you can get all the HOT chicks with this ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2007

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder GS 2.0 from North America


I love this car, especially the year right before they change it again in '00


The top of the car leaks. I don't know if it is the material or the seals around the windows.

The top does not go down all of the way because there are bars bent on both sides of the top. They continue to bend after I bend them back.

Shortly after purchasing the car with a limited warranty, the clutch burned out and the flywheel was stripped. both had to be replaced along with the disc pressure plate.

The tires were bad in the rain and when braking hard they slid a lot. I purchased pirelli all season tires, and they are great so far.

General Comments:

This car does really get a lot of attention. When people ask me the year of my car, most are shocked that it is a '97. It looks a lot newer than it is.

The trunk in the convertible is a lot smaller than in the coupe.

Overall I love my car.

Once I get everything fixed I hope to have it for a long time.

There are some recalls that I have not checked into yet, but I recommend checking into them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

24th Mar 2008, 20:05

What did you do to get your top fixed? I am having issues with it as well and wondering what needs to be done to fix it.

30th Aug 2008, 20:33

If the top material is good, just replace both the elastic ribbing that help fold the top. Then it should be normal.