1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS-T Spyder 4G63 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4G63 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

4 cylinders are faster than 8. Drive it and see

Faults:

Only things that I have had go wrong were the stereo has so so reception. The door and rear speakers although made by Infinity were of poor quality. The CD changer in the trunk doesn't work. And the spark plug wires were upgraded to 8.5 mm @ 90K due to wear.

General Comments:

I have had many turbo charged cars. Including a previous Crystler product (Dodge Daytona Shelby Turbo Z). This car kicks... It takes better to upgrades than any car I've ever had. Minor upgrades give you massive power. And although the turbo is smaller than a first generation Eclipse. The little T25 has no problems propelling the heavier convertible to 60 MPH in 5.2 seconds, and it does the quarter mile in 13.1 seconds. No signs of Crankwalk here. Just the wind in my hair...Spyderman.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

27th May 2004, 07:22

I agree it's a great car, I have a '99 gs-t spyder, however; the car does not go 0-60 in 5.2 seconds it does it in 6.4 seconds (stock), and its quarter mile is 13.9 seconds (stock).

29th Jun 2005, 18:20

If you read the orginal post clearly you would have seen it had modifacations.

30th May 2006, 16:48

Only AWD eclipse/talons can break 13s stock, the fwd cannot and especially in those heavy-ass drop tops.

9th Nov 2006, 01:32

Your CD changer will work if you disconnect the battery for 45 minutes and plug in the battery again. It worked for me.

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Love the car for a weekend car, but not a everyday driver

Faults:

Doing another review here, lets see. Leaks to all hell, brakes suck, they have started to smoke on me a couple of times, the brakes run hot. What else, the car squeaks and the windows rattle to hell when rolled down. That's about it.

General Comments:

Besides items listed, the car is a great sports car, put new suspension on it and the car handles perfect, also the car turns heads, especially with 18" chromes and a few mods on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th March, 2003

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS-T 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

A high performance car with all the luxuries of a super car

Faults:

So far I have yet to complain about this car. It has been very reliable for me and the only thing I have had to do is give it has been 2 oil changes and replace the injectors.

General Comments:

This car runs great and handles very smooth. It has a great top speed for those who like speed, but is also nice for the ones who just like to go for a drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX 2.0 turbo AWD from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo AWD Automatic
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Fast

Faults:

The first and only problem I have had with the car is with the turbo. I blew it up recently and I had to pay almost 1000$ to fix it. I expected the turbo to blow much later, but I look forward to the added performance.

Other than that my only compliant is the tight engine compartment which makes the engine hard to work on.

General Comments:

The all wheel drive and turbo combine to make an almost addictive driving experience. With few modifications the four cylinder power-plant will rocket the car from 0-60 in 5.7 seconds. While the turbo produces minuscule 0-60 times the all wheel drive system gives you a good feeling of control and reliability while driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

12th Aug 2003, 23:57

I have a 97 gsx and the only complaint I have is the exhaust is white and it smells awfull also it always feels like it wants to downshift what is wrong?

19th Dec 2004, 20:57

It could be anything, but one thing I wouldn't rule out is your fuel injectors. Get em checked out!

5th Apr 2005, 20:17

You definately want to check the injectors you could be sufficating the car or you could be drowning it.

2nd Jul 2008, 01:20

To the guy with the 96 gst, it's most likely a vacuum leak. I ran in to the same problem with my 99 gsx, it's a bit of a tricky problem, fixing it is easy, finding it is the hard part. It could be costly to bring it in, but if you'd fix it your self you'd save a good amount of cash.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 39 reviews