3rd Nov 2002, 18:59

Well I live in Beaumont, Tx. It rained real hard last night.

When I went to get in the car, the passanger side had water in it. It was not wet on the sides only on the floor, It seems like the water is coming in from the bottom of the car. Has anyone else had this problem.


6th Jan 2006, 00:12

I have a 1997 mitsubishi galant it has the steering radius equal to a big rig I know it's a big car, but wow a ken worth can make a u turn faster than that car wow now that's pathetic.


29th Oct 2006, 22:27

Has anyone else had a problem with the head lights on 2000 and up Eclipse's? My driver's side light dimmed out, but it's not the bulb, it has something to do with the electricals, and it isn't any fuse... I'm thinking it's a short in the wire?

Anyone have any ideas... Get back to me.

20th Jul 2007, 21:33

I have a 2001 Eclipse GT, and yesterday my transmission blew in the middle of the interstate. The dealer says it's not covered under warranty, as it has been over 5 years, even though it's under 60000. I have around 50k miles on it, and it's costing me 3-4 thousand to fix? Any ideas?

28th Jul 2007, 00:38

2000 GS Eclipse - Has anyone experienced a problem with the car randomly starting and not starting. When the engine light does not come on for the few seconds in the beginning of starting the car then we know it's not going to start. Acts like it's flooded or something. Finally got the engine light to stay on and they said it needed a new Idle Air COntrol Solenoid. We replaced and still that did not fix the problem.

14th Aug 2007, 22:03

The dim headlight happened to me. It was a melted wire.

The air conditioning died too, and this was also due to a melted wire...

The transmission also died at 4 years old. About 60k miles.


27th Sep 2007, 14:59

I just got a 2006 Eclipse and I was wondering if anyone else was having the problem I am having... When I back up the brakes make a squealing noise like if I have dirt in them, but only when I back up and it doesn't do it all of the time, just most of the time.

18th Nov 2007, 07:11

2001 eclipse spyder

Melted right headlight plug twice in 4 months of ownership. Now up to four cracks in the dash. Any ideas on the cause of the melted plugs? Fuses are still good, but neither headlight, high or low beam will come on.

12th Feb 2008, 15:01

I have a 2001 eclipse GT, since I bought the car with 32,000 miles on it my passenger headlight was dim, I replace the bulb, but found that the wire had melted. Shortly after that both headlights and lowbeams wouldn't turn on. I found out that due to the fact that the wire had melted on the passenger side it shorted out the whole thing. I had to go to a junkyard to pull the plugs for both lights, my topcoat on my car is crappy and now my black car is spotted white. this is due to the fact that the manufacturer didn't put the right coating on when they were painting all mitsubishi on that year.

8th Jun 2008, 21:36

I have a 2000 Eclipse GT V6 5 speed. I have too had a few things wrong.

Wheels are bent from factory.

Shift points; first is too low of a gear.

Needs heavy duty clutch.

Auto roof sticks at times.

The horn and panic wiring had to rust.

Security goes off at times.

Clear coat was too thin.

Rotors bad from the start.

I replaced both wiring looms to the headlights to a heaver gauge. I put new silver stars for that brighter light. After I replaced wiring to headlamps, the low beams now seem dull. (Anyone had this problem?) Is there a relay that going bad?

Other than that, it's sporty, picks up from 2nd to third. Handles nicely around corners. Design like a Ferrari Testarossa, but still a Mitsubishi Eclipse.

29th Jul 2008, 01:31

I have a 92 Eclipse. The dash separates, but you know what, the car is 15 years old and I love it to death. It is the best car ever built, and that is all I will own, a Mitsubishi.

11th Aug 2008, 14:09

I have read all the reviews, and I only have a few of the problems everybody is complaining about. I bought a 2000 Eclipse GT brand new. I now have 120K miles on it and the only complaints I have are:

Bad thermostat from factory

Sunroof sticks

Trunk lock sticks

Factory rims were junk.

Other than those minor issues (except rims) the car still runs like its brand new. Maybe you guys don't know how to take care of a car.

11th Sep 2008, 14:02

I own a 2000 Eclipse GT with 119,500 miles on it and have had these problems -

1. Horrible noise from rotors when driving under 20mph

2. Melted headlight wires

3. Extremely rough shifting from 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 3rd

4. Headboard as 3 large cracks

5. Glove box lock just fell out one day

6. When driving over 55+ the steering wheel shakes

7. When slowing down the steering wheel shakes

8. It's like there's a film under the headlight covers so I replaced the entire units with halogen

9. The rotors warp extremely fast.

I have taken care of this car as best to my ability. Oil change every 3,000 miles. Tires rotated every 3 months. Air filter cleaned or replaced when needed etc.

4th Mar 2009, 00:05

I own a Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 02.

I wrecked the clutch a couple of months after I bought it by pulling a car up a hill. I burned it so I rebuilt it, and it lasted me a couple months good, when the car started shaking, vibrating and burned it again. So I fixed the same clutch and got the 3 new supports for the engine, and a couple days ago when I step on gas, it shakes a lot.

If you know what the problem is, please let me know thanks.

20th Apr 2010, 14:34

I have a 2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT V6 automatic 4 speed. There is 145k miles on it and it still runs amazingly. The only problems that I have with the car are that the glove box lock fell out, and the factory rims were a little crappy. Other than that, I do not have any of the other problems. My advice? Take a little better care of the car.

16th Sep 2011, 21:34

I have a 2000 Eclipse GT with 149,000 miles on it. I've had no issues, other than the black paint peeling off and the glove box lock breaking, until a couple months ago. I started noticing that whenever I fill with gas, the car sputters and stalls upon starting it. After a few seconds of that, it runs great until I fill it again... Anybody else?

26th Jan 2012, 15:59

I've decided that these cars stink. I have a 2000 Eclipse, and I'm having the same problem with the AC, headlight and it's shifting weird. We are out of luck guys.

23rd Apr 2012, 11:07

That's because it's not properly grounded. There is a spring that pushed the bulb into the case of the headlight, that's your ground.

3rd Jun 2012, 13:46

Try the starter solenoid. It was recalled.