1997 Mitsubishi FTO Reviews

1997 Mitsubishi FTO GR 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

I would have no trouble recommending this car to anyone who wants a quick, reliable sports car

Faults:

Reliability has been superb.

Tyre wear could be a problem, though. Mind you, the way this car begs to be driven I suppose it's a small (?) price to pay.

General Comments:

What a car! It is seriously quick, even with the auto box. But put it into Tiptronic, find yourself a windy B road and have some serious fun.

My partner has a really well sorted Porsche 924S that just can't live with this. In fact I can't keep her out of the FTO!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2005

16th Jun 2005, 10:08

Thank god for comments on your FTO, as I'm just looking to buy FTO Mivec Auto.

And you have just given me peace of mind.

Thank you.

1997 Mitsubishi FTO GPX 2.0L 24v Mivec from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L 24v Mivec Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Fantastic, great handling performance car

Faults:

Nothing major, new tires and a full service.

Front left suspension needs to be re-worked.

Apart from that, all is good.

General Comments:

The FTP GPX is one fantastic car. Is in a league of its own, and can compete with cars priced twice as much.

Handles great with TC and ABS, and comes with heaps of extras; TC, ABS, sunroof, twin airbags etc.

Looks fantastic and turns heads more than almost any other car, and the best thing is that it is rare!

Excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

5th Nov 2002, 04:42

RARE??? Man, they are all here at Brisbane, Sunnybank. Just hang out at Nathan campus Griffith Uni.

Anyway, there is a good site for FTO lovers.

http://www.mivec.co.uk

Explains everything that you need to know.

22nd Feb 2003, 04:21

I don't consider an Integra Type R a "performance" car, since they are rare (here in the US), and my car will take a stock one any day of the week, without ever getting out of 3rd gear. I have a 90 Plymouth Laser RS-T, a DSM. It's a turbo I4 with stock HP of 195. Right now, with just 2 simple bolt-on's I have 235hp, and 0-60mph of 5.4 seconds. An Integra Type R, Civic Type R, FTO, anything in that price range won't touch my car. By the way, I have only spent $2,800 total including the price of the car ($1900).

4th Apr 2003, 01:39

Just wondering what happens to the guy with the Plymouth when a corner arrives?

3rd Jan 2004, 18:22

LOL, I guess he'll come to that problem when it arrives. Far too many people believe a "performance car" is just the 0-60 or 1/4 mile times in a straight line. For the pulling from the lights 'drag races', I suppose that's all that matters, but if you like to do your racing on the track, that's when a true performance car comes into its element IMHO. An Integra Type R is evidence of this. A production car that is race spec... very impressive. Very few cars come close to this one for the price. The FTO version R is also an excellent race spec car with fantastic handling... Depends what you want in a car really :)

24th Jul 2005, 16:04

I don't agree that the old Celicas are better than FTO's and know that the new ones aren't. The GT 4WS Turbo is a better car, but in the UK these are still £12,000+ for a nice example whereas FTO's are much, much cheaper (£6k-£7k for a mint condition GPX model) and their performance is very good.

Don't forget that maintaining a turbo car is also costly.

New Type-R's are lovely, but then they are the post 2000 ones. Older ones are certainly not as good. The reign of the FTO was mid-90's and to be fair their spec (and looks) for a car of that age is pretty awesome.

5th Mar 2011, 03:30

Yes, the last review sums it up the best I think. Perhaps the steering has more feel in an Integra or Celica, but come on, real men wouldn't waste their time with a buzzy old four-pot. Six is closer to twelve isn't it...

1997 Mitsubishi FTO GPX 2.0 Mivec from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Mivec Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

All in all, a low priced super Japanese car

General Comments:

Great car, great looks, unbelievable power at high revs, insufficient torque below 4000rpm however, sounds great above 5500rpm. Blind spot shadowed by C-bar on both sides, typical comfort level for a sports coupe.

All in all, a low priced super Japanese car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 3 reviews