1995 Mitsubishi FTO GR from UK and Ireland - Comments

19th Mar 2003, 23:15

Hi there, my FTO does have a tilt mechanism on the drivers seat and also would just like to add that I have looked in making my Turbo FTO a 4WD, but the cost is very high a lot of work needs to be done, relocating the fuel tank, relocating exhaust etc big job really not worth it in my opinion. As for FTO parts in Australia they are very expensive even 6times that of any other import.

Thanks For your time check out my review if you get the time. 95 FTO GPX tiptronic, Australia Turbo :)

10th Jun 2004, 16:16

I'm the original poster of this review, and I still have my FTO after 3 fabulous years. I've just spent over £500 on it getting a new timing belt (crucial every 60,000 miles), new tyres, new brake discs, and a general service. Its also just passed its MOT with no problems.

My biggest issue is that I can't see any other car on the market that comes anywhere close for performance & looks, yet is also affordable.

This just confirms what a great buy my FTO was in the first place!

Stephen.

18th Jun 2004, 07:58

I had my FTO GPX for one year now. Parts don't seem to cost too much. Put my only problem is the performance. Fitted a HKS exhaust system which makes it sound awesome, but its not that quick. Wish I got a manual version now. Sure it's down to gearing as it does 80 mph in second gear. Great looking car tho and will do 140mph. Handling is sharp, but not as good as my old car (Mazda MX3 V6). Also is drinks petrol like no tomorrow. Costing me about £50 a week. Back and for to work (20 mile round trip) and a bit of driving on the weekends. Apart from that what a head turner... Well worth it. Have to save up for a RX-8 now.

25th Jul 2004, 16:40

Surprised at your comment on heavy fuel consumption. I regularly can get around 30mpg, which for a 2 liter V6 is pretty spectacular. Maybe I don't drive it as enthusiastically as some other people! I also like the new RX8, but it's a 4 door car (even if they try and hide the rear ones) so its not on my shopping list.

I'm currently looking at a Nissan Skyline, Toyota Supra, and Mazda RX7 to replace my FTO. (The 'evo' and 'scooby' are just not pretty enough). Am also waiting for an older 911 to turn up, this is my dream car...

Stephen.

30th Jun 2005, 17:13

Just an update on my original review...

I have now purchased a Toyota Celica GT4 (1995 model). Its amazing! Performance blows the doors off the FTO. 0 - 60 in 6 seconds, although fuel consumption is apalling (around 22 MPG even if you're good!).

The Celica however, is still nowhere near as pretty as the FTO, with the GT4 having a much more brutal & aggressive stance. The FTO is truly stylish and is an exceptionally hard act to follow... I miss her :)

Stephen

3rd May 2006, 11:01

Hi there I am about to embark on purchasing an FTO and was wandering if people could point me in the right direction regarding insurance companies, I am 24 and have 6 yrs experience no claims.

Any advice would be great, ly appreciated.

Cheers.

Neil.

12th May 2006, 06:54

Try Adrian Flux insurance, search google for their number. I'm 25 with 5yrs bonus, driving a GR 2.0 V6 FTO for £700 per annum fully comp with bells and whistles - not bad in my opinion. Also, have to say, I've had the car a week and I'm in love, WHAT A MACHINE!

15th Sep 2006, 15:17

The Fto can only be described as sex on wheels!

The number of people who stare as you drive past is great! Makes you feel like you are driving a Ferrari.

I'm never letting my FTO go. Only advice to wanna-be owners is check out the roof for rust. small spots of rust come through from inside on early models and are expensive to fix.

The Car is truely awesome to drive.

25th Mar 2007, 15:39

Hello. I'm looking to buy the FTO, but I want a sports car, but I don't want to be filling it up with petrol every second (i don't drive fast well rev cars loads)

Will this car be OK for me, it looks amazing and is soo nice to drive.

I don't want to buy a boring normal car (Astra, coursa and so on) but at the same time I don't want to spend all my money on petrol..

28th Jun 2007, 17:25

Try Money Supermarket for insurance mate; they found me fully comp for 500 quid, which isn't bad seeing as I'm 24 with three years no claims!

Just wondering; does anyone know the 0-60 for the GR manual?

And the 0-60 for the GPX tiptronic?

10th Jul 2007, 15:59

I must be the FTO's number one fan - I've had my "baby" for 11 years!

Touching wood, all I've had replaced is disk pads, a couple of tyres and the exhaust (stainless).

I've used my FTO as a van for my business (you'd be surprised how much stock you can get in it), and now it's up and down the side of a mountain because I've just bought a house in the middle of nowhere, which brings me to my question, which I hope someone can help with.

I'm going to sell my beloved FTO to buy a 4x4 (more practical) but I can't find any details in Glasses or Parkers. She's a 95 M 1.8 triptronic no mods 118K Kilometers. Can anyone point me in the direction of a comparison site? Have looked in Autotrader etc. but they seem to vary so much. Thanks.

20th Aug 2007, 15:32

I bought my FTO (a manual '95 GPX) about a month ago and I haven't looked back. This car is superb! Absolutely stunning to look at and ever better to drive - what more could you ask for?

With 200 BHP and weighing only 1100KG it's far from slow. It can be a bit of a slouch at low revs, but once the MIVEC kicks in it goes like a rocket. And the sound... don't get me started on the sound. There's nothing better than taking it around some tight mountain roads, hearing it roar and feeling it glued to the tarmac even on the sharpest turns.

In terms of practicality it has ample boot space and is extremely comfortable even on long drives. However it's not kind to the wallet if you're driving in the city a lot and you better not be planning rear passengers.

All in all - absolutely amazing car. I'm in love.

27th Aug 2007, 07:20

I purchased my GR black 1994 FTO from my son-in-law in May 2007 because he said he was too old for it. I considered I wasn't too old (at 58) so I bought it from him. Since that time I have spent nearly as much on the car as the purchase price - complete service for 100,000 kilos (although the car has only done 98,000ks) with replacement of all belts and hoses - just to be on the safe side. Added an Alpine (IVA W202E) 2 din DVD, MP3, Radio with Ipod input & multiview rear reverse camera (HCEC200R), new interior mats with FTO logo embroided on the front set. Had all the paint dings and scratches professionally knocked out, added a couple of FTO stickers to the interior windows and the outside. Car runs like a clock and is fantastic to drive. Petrol costs are really no different from my everyday car (a 1997 Magna V6). Original Mitsubishi parts are very expensive for this car, but there are alternatives. Second hand parts can be picked up quite cheaply and I make it a quest to find second hand parts (not perishables like belts etc) that I can use if needed. I consider the FTO is an unsung classic car and in the future well kept ones will be sort after by collectors. Happy FTO motoring.