2000 Mitsubishi Galant Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2000 Mitsubishi Galant Es from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles

Summary:

Hell on wheels

Faults:

Since I've had this car I've have to have the timing belt replaced, oil leak fixed, Driver window regulator has went out, Replace transmission, seat adjuster on driver side came off. I would not advise any on to buy a galant this car is Hell on wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2006

2000 Mitsubishi Galant V6-24 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

If God needed a car..

Faults:

Only had car 6 months, but so far not one tiny complaint.

General Comments:

What a beautiful mix of power and comfort.

Dawdle along at 70, or rip past the boy racers at 120. This car will do it all and ask for more.

Just like driving an armchair. Quick, easy response. Yet an overwhelming feel of safety even at speed.

All coupled with a roomy, easy to drive cockpit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

25th Aug 2004, 08:59

Ha ha, I liked your review :) "driving an armchair".. It's true though. I'm so satisfied with my G8-V6

/adrian.

2000 Mitsubishi Galant ES from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

It's a piece of crap

Faults:

My brakes has went out 3 times in a four months period. Engine makes a lot of noises. The car gets louder when just sitting. My car doesn't like to start right up. Car needs gas every 2-3 days after being on full. My car runs horrible. My windows make noise when being rolled up or down. My heat starts to work 30 minutes after the car has been on. Never and I mean never get one of these cars.

General Comments:

This car runs horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2003

15th May 2004, 23:54

You just bought a car that somebody has trashed.. everybody else likes it. Open your eyes, it's not like buying a pair of socks.

/Adrian.

27th Oct 2010, 07:41

Are you sure you didn't get a Honda...?

2000 Mitsubishi Galant V6 Estate 2.5 V6-24 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6-24 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

An underrated, reliable, economical, fast, entertaining luxury car

Faults:

Brakes start to judder every 30,000 miles needing disc skimming. Known defect but not expensive. Nothing else in over 3 years.

General Comments:

I bought the car from new after having owned a BMW 740 which was far too expensive to run (servicing and parts) and unreliable. Prior to that I have owned Mercedes 230E and a Lexus LS 400. Pound for pound I regard the Galant V6 estate the best car I have ever owned.

It is very comfortable, fast, economical (routine servicing £100 - £150), extremely reliable, and a joy to drive.

I achieve over 30 mpg on long runs and overall it gives me 27 mpg.

This is the top of the range model which has leather, climate control, heated seats, an enormous sunshine roof etc.

The tiptronic auto gearbox is excellent combining the benefits of both a manual and automatic shifting.

It does roll a bit on corners, but the ride is very gentle on the straight. Not everyones taste, but I prefer it.

It depreciates in value very quickly so second hand cars are remarkable value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2003

2000 Mitsubishi Galant ES 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A cost effective, reliable car that looks good

Faults:

Nothing Really, only a little noise in the wheels when they are cold, that's it!

General Comments:

This car has the most bang for the buck.

Reliability and cost are great.

No problems at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

2000 Mitsubishi Galant ES 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Excellent value for a small to mid-size sedan

Faults:

Rear brake rotors began to warp at 50,000 miles.

Rusting of the weld joints under the hood began after 12 months (the car is used in the winter where roads are salted)

No other problems other than scheduled maintenance.

General Comments:

The car has been trouble free as a daily driver. It is driven 35,000 miles a year, mostly highway.

Total dollars in maintenance for three years (102,000 miles) including brakes and one set of tires is about $1200.00. The car has never been returned for warranty work.

Seats become slightly uncomfortable after an hour. But the overall ride is smooth, even at 70 MPH.

The interior quality is good, with only a minor rattle from the glove box door lock that is annoying when traveling over rough pavement.

The exterior finish is excellent with the only detraction being the weld seems in the engine compartment rusting (as mentioned above).

Radio and CD player is adequate.

Engine power is sufficient and the transmisson is excellent. It shifts precisely and makes the most of the engine's power.

The car performs well during winter driving situatons.

The rear passenger compartment is roomy enough for two adults.

Heating and air conditioning is more than adequate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

29th Jan 2004, 14:57

Update - just past 4 years and 127,000 miles. Performed scheduled mtnce to replace timing belt and water pump at 80K, new set of tires at 120K (3rd set), another set of front brakes (2nd) and my 1st set of rear brakes at 120K. Front stabalizer loosened at 120K, and now at 127K I hear other tapping noise from front and rear suspension, will go for service soon, no other problems, no oil burning, no other rusting (weld joints never got worse) never stranded.

24th Feb 2005, 11:13

Update at 162,000 miles, can't believe another year went by. No mechanical problems in 12 months other than oil and lube. Car does not burn oil between changes, will be sent for second timing belt / water pump change next month. I will probably shop for a replacement in the fall of '05, this car will be passed down to my daughter.

3rd Oct 2010, 19:34

Would you consider this a good first car? They're cheap, which is the primary reason I'm interested.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 24 reviews