9th Jan 2004, 00:53

Please note that Mitsubishi and Chrysler are essentially part of the same group (DaimlerChrysler) and have access to the same parts bin, so a statement to the tune of "I 've never had probs with Chrysler transmissions, but this Mitsubishi is rubbish" is a bit daft in my opinion.

3rd Sep 2004, 16:57

I have owned my 1995 mitsubishi galant for 2 and a half years. all the comments on here about the problems with this car are as true as can be. The brakes have gone out repeatedly, the transmission failed a little after 2 years. Stay away from these cars. I've paid more money on fixing my car than what I actually paid for the cost of the vehicle. I advise everyone to stay away from Mitsubishi, especially this model.

23rd Sep 2004, 01:48

Ever notice that people who hate this car all seem to flock together as a group to have their views supported by each other. For example, one person made some not quite positive remarks, now all these people jumped on it to add their negativity. I believe that when this happens there is a LOT of exaggeration.

I have 3 Galants. One as a daily driver, and one I race. The 3rd was my daily driver for 5 years. The only problems that occured were just normal upkeep issues that happen every so many thousand miles with all cars. Finally at 226,000 miles I broke a connecting rod. However, I was also going 130mph shifting from 4th to 5th when it happened. Still none of the valves bent! My other 2, 1 I've had for the past year, the other I just bought 2 weeks ago. It has leather interior, a sunroof, and from the factory, has a very rare block and head combination. So I had to get it and put the other up for sale.

Anyways... These are great cars. Like ALL makes/models there will be some lemons. You will find people with your opinions and experiences on Galants as their opinions and experiences on any and every car out there. Just because a car dealer screwed you over doesn't mean that all Galants are going to have problems. Hate the car dealer, not the car.


6th May 2005, 17:09

I do drive a 1995 Mitsubishi Galant ES now with over 156,000 mile on it. I bought it 5 years ago with 107,000 miles, changed transmission & radiator fluid, control arm (recall), engine mount bushing, and that is all I have done. I get very good mileage on gas.

I do have the same problem others have with car not starting easily, A/C clutch locked up, headliner a mess (none existent).

The car has never failed to start in 5 years, so if it not broken, I'll probably drive it to junkyard (final resting place).

I'll say Galant ES is a good car from experience.

9th Aug 2008, 18:19

I still drive my 1995 Mitsubishi Galant LS and it runs like a champ. I haven't had any of the problems that the other postings have spoken of except my air conditioning quit last year. I haven't checked out the reason yet, so I don't know why the A/C recently broke but I've been driving this car for 13 years! In fact this winter will be the 14th western New York winter that this car has gotten me through! (I live near Buffalo)

I have taken it in for the recalls I was informed of, so maybe that's why I haven't had problems.

After I went car shopping today, I decided to check out a new paint job for it instead of buying a new car. All of the dealers that commented on my car said if I don't get 250K miles out of it, I was doing something wrong. I keep up with the oil changes and have 140K on it right now. So I might get another 100K out of it or at least another 5 years!

5th Oct 2008, 20:12

I had a 1995 Galant S. My stepmother had purchased it new and I sold it this past March with 180k on the clock.

I had some pretty scary moments in that car due to the suspension and tires that would wear down very quickly.

My car also had bad seals and pistons, and I was adding a quart of oil every 500-1000 miles.

Gas mileage was good, and my interior has actually held up quite well for a 13 year old car. But the components such as brakes would always go quickly, and weren't very cheap to fix.

I also had very unusual problems when changing a tire, or at least trying to; the wheels would stick to the hubs (with the lug nuts off), and we would have to beat them around and kick them to get them off. Once I had a guy smear some oil and use a blowtorch to get my wheels off.

The car is usually cheaper than an Accord or a Camry, but I worry now about safety, especially after driving that Galant in harsh Colorado weather.