1990 Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews

1990 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.5 petrol from Israel

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Most recent distance284000 kilometres
Previous carn/a n/a

Summary:

Reliable and comfortable timeless car

Faults:

The power windows go's off power at same points and the after 16 years the suspension is starting to make bad noises when when the wheel is at full stir.

But it doesn't reflect any of the car driving parts.

General Comments:

Truly a car for life.

When treated, she can obtain a normal person life span, and after 17 years she's still good to to get you all excited about driving like it's a new car.

Thumbs up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th January, 2007

1990 Mitsubishi Lancer GL 1.8 diesel from Malta

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000000 miles
Most recent distance10050000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Very comfortable and very reliable by all means

Faults:

When I bought the Lancer, the cigarette lighter don't work. Anything else, nothing gone wrong.

General Comments:

For it's price, and years it have, I'd say this is one of the best japan cars ever built. It's reliability, diesel engine means strength. Very comfortable car and easy to drive. Altough it is not power steering, the steering is very easy to turn. Handles very well, but in sharp corners in the rain you can feel the rear tires slipping, but that's to be expected from any car. Good for car audio installations - ICE. The rear boot is roomy and huge, altough it is not hatchback, the bass from the sub woofer can be heard very strong. Also have very comfortable front seats & the rear seat is very, very comfortable & you can sleep on it very comfortably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2006

1990 Mitsubishi Lancer GL 1.8 diesel from Malta

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000644 kilometres
Most recent distance10023655 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Stylish and Reliable

Faults:

Nothing gone wrong.

General Comments:

I am glad that I bought Mitsubishi and I like Japan cars very much.

This car is a little bit slow because it's a diesel, but for it's category it's very good. Very comfortable to drive and the pedals are very soft to press.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2006

1990 Mitsubishi Lancer CA 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired193762 kilometres
Most recent distance207563 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

The greatest car for modifying

Faults:

I had to replace the air intake hose it wasn't getting enough air.

Had to have the front left brake caliper replaced.

General Comments:

This car is a joy to drive.

I have made minor modifcations to make it a little better, such as a bigger exhaust and 6 inch muffler, stablizer bar and a k&n high flow air filter.

The cabin is very modern for its time, once again modifications have been made the entire dash area is now white with the accents blue.

She is a perfect car for a huge sound system very open and easy to move parts around, as well as very little rattling, a pioneer 12 inch sub, Kenwood head unit, Sony 6x9's and Kenwood 6 inch's are a great set up I have found.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2005

1990 Mitsubishi Lancer SE 1.5 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired143927 kilometres
Most recent distance241125 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Well built, value for money small car that has been a reliable and economical performer

Faults:

Alternator had to be replaced.

Master brake cylinder needed to be replaced after brake fluid leaked in engine bay.

Water pump replaced.

Minor oil leaks.

General Comments:

Owned for more than 6 years, the Lancer has been a reliable and economical car to run.

Adequate power and performance and good fuel economy from the fuel injected 1.5 litre engine. Comfortable to drive around town, but not suited to long country drives.

Reasonably cheap car to maintain during the time I've owned it, fortunately only relatively inexpensive problems have arisen in that time.

Engine by now pretty old and recently uses up a fair bit of oil. I use a thicker type of oil now which helps performance.

The interior is still in excellent condition and the design was quite modern for its time, with dials and controls well laid out. Includes handy features such as a split rear fold seat and height adjustable steering.

The car is well equipped, with air conditioning, tinted windows, a good sounding stereo, power steering and central locking, all of which have performed reliably and helped make the car pleasant and easy to drive.

Overall, a reliable smooth and pleasant performer, with a comfortable interior. Seats are not comfortable for long periods and along with its overall size make it suitable as a city runabout.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

23rd Oct 2004, 11:23

I drove one of these once. Was the worst car I have ever driven. Very bad quality car.

15th Aug 2006, 00:46

Well I have one, but its the 1.5 carburetor and its pleasant to drive and I like it very much. Has a nice modern shape too.

31st May 2012, 11:33

I have mine for just a few months now, and she always makes me proud! Great looking, like it's never aged, and I think it will be going to 2020 without looking old!

A classic car with comfortable driving... sporty and almost luxury! Very nice.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews