1992 Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews

1992 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.6 114 hp from Iceland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 114 hp Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

Tough, fun and sporty

Faults:

Nothing went wrong at all with this car.

It had some paint damage on the front bumper, but that was easy enough to fix.

General Comments:

It had electric windows, electric mirrors, seat heaters, and an electric sunroof.

And none of those electric bits ever broke down, which is good for such an old car.

It was small, quick and fun. With the sunroof, shaded windows and spoiler, it was really cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd February, 2012

1992 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.6 petrol from Poland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Honda Civic

Summary:

Great Japanese job. My favourite Japanese brand too

Faults:

Nothing, the car runs and runs.

General Comments:

1. Runs and runs, no problems at all.

2. The engine is not very strong at small rpm, but when you go higher, it gets really a lot of power like Honda Civic VTEC, which is far more expensive and difficult to get for such a small amount of money.

3. The handling is not perfect, as the suspension is not too sophisticated.

4. The car is very economical on petrol. If you drive it not more than 60 mph, you can get even 42mpg.

Later I converted it to LPG. It made no sense as using this fuel is not that economical. It takes 28 mpg LPG.

5. My Lancer is very poor equipped car. I would love it if not for this thing. I am looking for another with everything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2009

1992 Mitsubishi Lancer GTi 1.8 from Philippines

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

The car is worth buying

Faults:

Noise occurs when reaching 80KPH up.

Power windows are always mis aligned.

Recaro seats head rest easily damaged.

General Comments:

This car is the choice for hi-speed conscious people.

However, the aero dynamic noise is very annoying to the ears, I can't hear my radio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

1st Jul 2005, 12:38

You should buy an amplifier.

3rd May 2006, 08:37

My 94 Lancer EL had some shuddering vibration on the steering wheel at around 90 to 105 but disappears at a little more than 120kph. Have your bushings checked.

The whooshing noise can be fixed by replacing the tires with quiet ones; that's up to you. Check the door seals too.

A quick trip to Banawe QC can solve practically everything. Good luck!

21st Feb 2009, 12:31

I love the GTi. I love its looks, the way it handles, and the way it feels. It's a complete car for me. It may not be perfect, and I agree with the power windows, but all in all, it's my dream car.

1992 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.6 Cyclone ECI Multi from Philippines

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Cyclone ECI Multi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

If I buy a new car, I'd be sure to buy another lancer

Faults:

Mostly AC since 1992.

Some engine fans after 100,000 miles.

Radiator after over 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

For a family sedan, this relatively old car in stock configuration can accelerate from 0 to 60 in 8 seconds!! And of course, brakes quickly too. That is if you floor the throttle, but I don't recommend doing that all the time.

Handling is very crisp on tarmac and the car is well behaved in drifts and power-slides on gravel.

I'm not very particular on interior, but as far as the looks go, the model still looks good and modern even by 2005 standards.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2005

22nd Jun 2008, 02:53

I, too, agree with this comment about Mitsu Lancer. Me too; I bought a 1992 Mitsu Lancer GLX, and I was surprised. I admire the durability of this car. Xer.

1992 Mitsubishi Lancer GTi saloon 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Serious fun, for a small car

Faults:

Hand brake cable seized.

Valve stem seals became brittle.

General Comments:

The car is very quick, it eats 1900 Peugeot 205's for breakfast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

1992 Mitsubishi Lancer GL 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

Definitely for someone who doesn't care what they drive

Faults:

Exhaust blew at some point, whether it was before or after I got it I don't know, but it stopped me getting a WOF.

Brake cables cracked apparently. Didn't even notice.

Alignment was terrible so I corrected it, seems fine now.

Hates being cold. Starts OK, but accelerates like a wet loaf of bread.

General Comments:

Excellent fuel economy, would rather have a little extra power though.

All in all, a great little family car. Not for someone who wants 'pep', but comfortable and economic.

Nice tight turning circle & easy to park. Very standard interior and very ordinary exterior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2004

13th Apr 2005, 00:27

I believe that buying a car like that of that age you would expect some of those difficulties. stop complaining.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews