1993 Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXI 1.6 from Philippines

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

This car is awesome!!

Faults:

I have replaced the engine gasket and the clutch assembly.

General Comments:

Very nice interior, though the sidings are plastic. Too much vibration creates noise from the plastic interior.

It has cool A/C, nice flooring and ceilings.

This car with the 4g92 stock engine has reached 180 kph on a freeway.

The money I spent for all enhancements I have applied to this car is worth it. HKS grounding kit, KYB gas shock absorbers, HID light, Splitfire spark plugs and Simota air filter. That stuffs is worth it! Performance wise, I can't complain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2010

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Liberty

Summary:

Worst car ever

Faults:

Absolutely everything went wrong with this car. `ie` the brakes needed replacing(ASAP) the A/C needed work, suspension needed work, stereo and speakers needed replacing, and also all of the very cheap plastic fittings were cracked and falling apart.

The final real killer for that car was the absolutely massive amounts of rust through the entire body, and especially the roof, which just ballooned with rust; you could nearly watch it grow!

General Comments:

The Lancer also went like a total dog with the transmission slipping and the engine struggling to keep up with traffic. I was very happy to sell the car cheap and get another Subaru!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2010

1st Nov 2010, 02:25

I've owned one for 2 years and have done 50000 trouble free kms. It is now just past 100000 kms.

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GTi 1.5 eci from Philippines

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 eci Manual
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance120500 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

This car sure was a great buy

Faults:

Engine won't start so I changed the fuel pump.

Suspension arm bushing and linkage stabilizer replaced due to bad road conditions.

General Comments:

This car is really powerful and quick, despite having a 1.5 engine. This car could be old, but you wouldn't be left behind easily on the road, it revs up fast.

Fuel efficient, even with the aging engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2009

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.6 from France

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance126616 kilometres

Summary:

I would like to keep HER all my life, like a collector's car

Faults:

Exhaust line between catalyst and silent every 50 000 kms.

Engine control unit at 12 years, 110 000 kms.

Oxygen sensor at 115 000 kms.

Front brake used, but not over 100 000 kms.

This car is very reliable after 15 years. I made many replacements recommended by the manufacturer as preventive maintenance. I replaced these things:

Timing belt every 7 years (60 000 km instead of 90 000)

First replacement cooling 15th years, very clean. (I never adjust the cooling level, no consumption).

First replacement thermostat 15th year, as prevention.

First replacement water pump 15th year, as prevention

Very economical with tires when you drive cool; I can make easily 65 000 km with tires (front or rear).

Car body very clean because of manufacturer treatment (anti-oxidation).

General Comments:

Very fast, the car can go over 215 km/h. I tried this a few times long times ago.

Consumption 7 L by 100 Kms (unleaded 95 percent).

Very good stability on the highway.

Driving visibility good because of high driving position.

Engine runs exactly as if it was new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2008

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXI 1.6L from Belgium

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60500 kilometres
Most recent distance79900 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

It's fast, reliable, economical ride and modest

Faults:

So far, nothing has gone wrong.

Except for starting problems, because of moisture in the Delco.

General Comments:

The car looks very modest, but is quite fast.

A lot of options on my 'ES' version : electric powered windows, electric sunroof, power steering,...

I owned a Lancer (model 1990) from 1993 till 1999, then I bought an Audi, and from 2002 till 2005 I had a Renault 25.

The only real disadvantage about both Mitsubishi's is that the interior quality is beneath European standards.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2006

1st Dec 2007, 15:53

Could you/anyone comment further on moisture problems in mid-90's mitsubishis. What is meant by "moisture in the delco" - is that the distributor cap or some other part of the ignition (electronic component)? Thanks.

10th Dec 2007, 17:58

Yes I'm also having starting problems with a mid 90's lancer-it chugs away until it warms up which is quite embarrassing and risky when others expect it to take off quickly.

People have said that it is an 'choke' problem, but I'm interested in hearing what moisture in the Delco means.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews