1993 Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXI 1.6I 16v from Belgium

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6I 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60500 kilometres
Most recent distance69000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Renault R 25

Summary:

Practical, modest, and quite powerful

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far.

Only bought it October 1st 2005 (from my grandfather).

General Comments:

From 1993 till 1999 I already had a Lancer GLX and was very satisfied. Bought it at 33000 km, sold it at 183000 km. This car is even better. It's more quiet, smoother and handles very well. Of course this one has low mileage. When the engine's cold I do not exceed 2500 rpm. And yes this car is made for high rpm : 5000 rpm is max torque. The nice thing about this Lancer is that the model seems very modest, but its engine is quite the opposite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2006

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GSR 1.8 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Quick, clean fun

Faults:

Front of the roof started to rust. Problem stems from the type of headlining used. It seems to retain moisture and make the roof begin to rust.

Nothing mechanically went wrong with this car, but I replaced cam-belt, leads, spark plugs and filters in the course of regular servicing.

General Comments:

Great car to drive. Small turbo gets on boost quick. Great for around town, but out muscled by 2.0 liter Subaru Impreza WRXs at higher speeds. Good handling and provides good lift off over steer when provoked. Not too thirsty either, but boot and back seat cramped.

Ran like a dream with regular (8,000-10,000km) servicing. (Easy to do, did most of the work myself) Only problem came when the mechanic didn't replace the cam belt correctly!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2004

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer MR 1.6 gasoline from Bolivia

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190E

Summary:

Great sports car for young and not so young people

Faults:

Major problem, there are no replacement parts for the engine: MIVEC - 4G92.

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars in the market, but be really careful when you buy one. Check the engine, and I mean CHECK IT!!! With a computer system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.8 N/A from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 N/A Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired184000 kilometres
Most recent distance204000 kilometres

Summary:

A Great Little Rev Head!!!

Faults:

Rubber engine mounts needed to be replaced, along with gearbox mount.

Head gasket seal needed replacing.

Throw-out bearing (which operates pressure plate which operates clutch) seized up, needed new throw-out bearing, new pressure plate, new clutch housing. Clutch was replaced while gearbox was out to save time and money.

Dash lights for the air conditioning, fan speed etc are dead and need to be replaced.

Cabin light on/off switch broken. Needs replacing.

General rattles when driving at certain rev ranges.

Although it sounds like a lot, they are easy things to fix, apart from the clutch.

General Comments:

It is a great car, awesome to drive. Very, very fun. With just a 1.8l N/A engine, it has fantastic performance and you'll find acceleration is quiet good! I have modified the exhaust and muffler, added a K&N air filter, had the timing gear advanced, new gear ratios... And it really goes now.

For just a little bit of money put into this car, you could have it fly. The cabin is good, nothing wrong, bit too much plastic there, but it does look good and hasn't worn by even the smallest amount.

This is a great little car and I really enjoy driving it whenever I go out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2004

16th Dec 2004, 21:08

Hey I've got a 1.8 litre Lancer. I've had the engine rebuilt with a performance cam, and a chip put in the computer. I think they are a great car, but the gearbox's really need strengthening up. I blew a hole in the box the size of a coke can. Apart from that, they are a great car.

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.8 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance158000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi FTO

Summary:

Economical bargain, with impressive performance

Faults:

Had to replace quite a few things on this car:

- Engine mounts

- Gasket Seal

- Timing Belt

- Radiator

- Water Pump

- Clutch Master Cylinder

- Tires

- Windscreen.

General Comments:

My last car was costing me way too much in insurance, so I went looking for an economical car which still had a nice design and comfortable to drive. I believe I found all of this in the Mitsubishi Lancer.

Even though I had to spend about $1500 on fixing this car up, I was impressed by it's performance for such a small engine and it's reliability.

NOTE: To any people in NSW (Australia) looking at buying this car, don't get NRMA to inspect it - they are hopeless and non-realistic about the total cost of repairs and a big waste of your money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

18th Nov 2005, 14:01

I was wondering, if you have had trouble finding parts for this car. My car is the same, and the dealerships and canada tell me this car isn't on their computers. I got my car overseas. I was wondering if you know of any other cars that would be suitable for parts.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews