1995 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX from Barbados


Needs to be recall due to transmission problems



Unfortunately I only heard that these cars had some transmission problems after I bought it. Clutch has burned out. Experiencing great difficulty in getting a replacement or having it repaired. I have met two other persons who have had to replace or fix transmissions in their cars. One other frequently replaces brake pads. The only problem is the transmission which is a very big problem. Parts seem to be very expensive and difficult to locate even from the dealer.

General Comments:

The car is quick, comfortable and looks good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

1995 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 3 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand


A safe, exhilarating car which is guaranteed to put a smile on your face - every-time!


Car has been faultless.

General Comments:

These cars have exceptional performance, coupled with handling, comfort and safety. Being built for homologation purposes, the cars literally are a road going rally vehicle - with all the potential of the real thing.

As I said above the cars have huge performance, but also have the safety factors too - Full time 4 wheel drive, and Anti-lock Brakes.

The model I own is a GSR version, and therefore has all the creature comforts, of climate controlled air conditioning, electric windows/mirrors, full Recaro race seats, so is great for going on long trips in comfort.

The Evolution 3 has the best power to weight ratio of all the Evolutions to date, due to the lack of Anti Yaw Control and other electronic gizmo's to weight the car down.

With only a few basic modifications you can have this car easily keeping up with the later model Evolutions - due to it's lighter weight and very similar engine configuration.

Many people copy the styling that these cars have as factory which can be a disappointing factor for many - but personally I think this is simply a greater form of flattery.

Hard to find a car which hasn't been driven hard by previous owner, but well worth the hunt, as these cars are so rewarding when driven with enthusiasm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

18th May 2004, 04:49

I couldn't agree more. I just purchased an Evo III about a month ago. It is by far the best purchase I have ever made. Anyone who can get their hands on one will not be disappointed.

2nd Apr 2011, 08:45

Mine has 150000km on dashboard. Still going strong. I know what I am talking about.

Owner of an Evo3, an Evo5 and an evo6.

1995 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.6 MPI petrol from Australia and New Zealand


An outstanding vehicle, highly recommended



General Comments:

Excellent all round car.

Very reliable.

Very comfortable.

Excellent handling, both cornering and at speed. This car has been thrashed, it's towed trailers weighing a ton, driven hard through the rev range, on gravel roads chasing rallys, and cost me a few dollars in speeding tickets, but it still keeps going, and feels and handles like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2000

28th Dec 2000, 05:02

I noticed that my Lancer GLXi 95 power windows motor are not welded strong enough. I just brought it to a car repair shop and we saw that the motor and cable had dislocated.

With regards to performance, it's good!

12th Nov 2003, 15:21

I have my lancer glxi about 3 years and I am completely hooked on it. I put 15" rims on it and it hugs the road. I find the performance brill for a 1600cc and have done 128mph in it, which is pretty impressive.

9th Dec 2003, 06:39

You're all fooling yourselves.. I owned a Lancer before buying a gen-4 Prelude. I must say, it was the worst handling car I have ever driven. It would under steer uncontrollably in the rain even with Falken 205 16's. I have yet to find the Prelude to do so. I didn't think it was possible for a FWD to overseer before the front wheels let go, until now. Above that the amount of plastic in the cabin is somewhat a resemblance of a Korean heap that something that came from a Mitsubishi factory. Then there's the engine. Don't get me started.. That thing couldn't beat a civic if its life depended on it. Truly a disappointment.

3rd Jul 2005, 22:44

Hey folks, your satisfaction & car performance is lie on how your keep your car. If you treat your car like a baby, it would give you power & satisfaction regardless of what make & model.

4th Sep 2007, 05:11

PPPLLEEAASSEEE children if you really want class go for the old datto 1600...nothing beats the handling of a full rally suspension on one of those things. rear wheel drive rules...and power you can play with when a nice set of dellortos are attached...