1997 Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1997 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IV GSR Turbocharged 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Turbocharged 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Crazy car. Good value for money if you find a good one

Faults:

Windscreen washer sprays stopped working.

It eats tyres when driven hard.

Under heavy braking, the pads fade and braking is poor.

Air-conditioning packed up.

General Comments:

OK, I used to own a modified Nissan Sunny/Pulsar GTi-R, that was about 280bhp, 60 appeared in under 5 seconds.

It was seriously quick. But the Evo feels so much more stable. The handling is precise and extremely responsive.

In standard form the car was a joy, and with just a new exhaust system and air filter, the car feels so much more responsive.

The Evolution V is currently £3,000 more to buy than the Evolution IV. That's why I opted for the Evolution IV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2003

16th Nov 2009, 13:38

The Evo 4 is a very good car, not much separates the 4 from the 5 or 6.

On special versions they might be slightly more powerful, but not that different.

1997 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.3 12V from Greece

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 12V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Absolute Quality and Reliability

Faults:

Absolutely Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is very very reliable. The only extra cost was a new battery after 5 years. Although is 75HP is quite fast and nervous. The net consumption is 9,5 Lt /100Km, not so big I think for a car passed his life mainly in the streets of a big city.

Handling is good with the factory tires (175/70/13) but if you change it to a lower profile (185/60/14) the car becomes more accurate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

1997 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.3 from Greece

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance82000 kilometres

Summary:

A reliable car, worth the money

Faults:

Only poor power, nothing else!!!

General Comments:

An excellent and reliable car with very good road safety. Also, very good terminal velocity (210 km), yes I did it!!! I must say it has an excellent air-condioner and gear box!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th December, 2001

1997 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.5 petrol from Thailand

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

A weak car with no power that eats a lot of gas

Faults:

Air conditioning hose, spark plugs.

General Comments:

I have a 97 Lancer GLXi, 1.5 liter engine, and this is the slowest car I have ever had in my life... so slow it is dangerous, attempting to accelerate onto a freeway on ramp is a nightmare, no worthy climb in speed or torque whatsoever... Mitsubishi has been clouded in scandals recently, as well as covering up customer complaints... I understand why now.

This car eats gas very badly and with no power to boot. If it was more powerful and ate a lot of gas that would be OK... but the opposite is dominant... turn the air conditioning on and expect a 25% loss in power... so for a family looking for a new family car this is not it... there is NO POWER to get you out of a bad situation, so if you love your family stay away from this car. It's so underpowered it's dangerous. Seriously.

Another thing is the cheap carpet, you'll have to wipe off the interior weekly due to all the dust produced from the cheap carpet, so all of you that suffer from allergies and stuffy noses, this will be a nightmare for you... sometimes I wonder what I am breathing in as I drive down the road...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th July, 2001

23rd Nov 2001, 00:02

You might wanna try replacing the lub oil with something more slippery, like maybe a good SJ quality 15W-40 oil. I find that using this oil gives the car a little more power.

Additionally, a bigger exhaust muffler and sport air cleaner might clean up the overall torque a bit.

The problems about Mitsubishi only relate to the Galant & Town-Box. I don't think I've really had much problems with my Lancer except for the power of the car.

CORONA27@apartment107.com.

1997 Mitsubishi Lancer GL from Philippines

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

The car is okay for everyday driving

Faults:

The clutch pad was worn out even though the car was not yet one year old. I had to change four clutch pads in a span of three years.

The floor mat always slides and it interferes with the pedals.

General Comments:

Generally, the car is good, but the problem with the clutch will have to be rectified.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 14 reviews