2001 Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews

2001 Mitsubishi Lancer Cedia 1.8L turbo petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 1.8L turbo petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres

Summary:

Don't recommend

Faults:

It's the turbo touring model and I'm at about 130,000km now.

- Noticeably noisy tappets.

- Dashboard lights blown.

- Shocks need replacing.

- Expensive, hard-to-get-to oil leaks.

- Radiator fan stays on, sensor broken.

- Ignition coils need replacing.

- The turbo appears to do nothing.

- Fuel gauge broken; I suspect some sort of damper fault.

General Comments:

Comfortable and nice to drive. But in more recent times it has caused me a lot of grief.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2014

8th Jan 2014, 15:19

What I've learned from experience is Mitsubishi and oil leaks / oil burning go hand in hand. Stay away from them is my advice.

2001 Mitsubishi Lancer CE2 GLi Coupe 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

Sporty, reliable, economical

Faults:

Power steering went when I first got the car, at the time covered by factory warranty. Not sure how much that would cost to fix normally, but met plenty of other Lancer owners and no-one else had that problem.

Mid-2007, dash cluster developed a weird problem where ALL the instruments (ie. speedo, tacho, odometer) turned off randomly. Problem gradually got worse and had the cluster replaced by an auto-electrician/wrecker, cost was $210 ($150 for cluster, $60 labour). Fault lay entirely within old cluster. Again, not common.

General Comments:

Apart from the problems above, my Lancer was faultless. It was very easy to drive with a light clutch and decent handling. I only sold it as my partner and I had a baby, and a small coupe doesn't make a great family car. It was my first car, and I would recommend as a first car or runabout.

Excellent on fuel (6.2L/100km on the highway with A/C on), and servicing is fairly cheap as it is a common car.

Front seats are a little firm for long trips and back seats (in the coupe, at least) have very little legroom, nor do they fold down. Boot space is generous for a small car.

Being the 1.5L it won't set your pants on fire in the performance department. However, they are reliable if serviced regularly, and easy to modify if you're into that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2009

3rd Jul 2010, 06:42

My partner had the same problem with his instruments also. We got told it was a faulty computer chip, 250 I think it was to get fixed, and it now it works fine. He bought the car in 2002 with only 12,000 Kms on it, and he finally sold it to a friend at 198,000 kms in 2010, and never had a problem other than the clusters! I've just last week brought a 2000 GLi with only 55,000 kms on it; I can't wait for years of reliable driving.

2001 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 7 GSR 2.0L turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A superb car

Faults:

Active yaw control pump went; a common fault with these cars.

General Comments:

What can I say? This car is absolutely fantastic!

Performance is so impressive, the pull in 5th gear over 50mph is unbelievable. 280bhp as standard, so I can't imagine how quick an fq320, 340 would be!

One of the best handling cars on the road; so responsive.

Recaro seats grip securely but are very comfortable.

Running costs may be quite expensive, but if you can afford to buy one, you can afford to run one I say.

Prices are dropping on this car at the moment, so if you have the cash and want a performance car, the Evo is the must have. I have owned an Impreza and it wasn't a patch on the Evo.

Buy one and you won't look back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2008

2001 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.5 Carb from Philippines

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Carb Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres

Summary:

The 2001 Lancer is the epitome of reliability

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car since I got it.

General Comments:

The 2 most common comments by anyone who has ridden it and has been near it are:

Paints looks like it was just bought this year. Car looks like new!

Engine doesn't even purr when you start it. It is very silent and the 1.5L carburator engine is pretty powerful.

This is amazing because prior owner never changed the oil for its entire 44000 km run! Although I am now religious with changing oil every 5000 km.

Gas consumption is relatively low for a 1.5L car. Not as good as a 1.3L car of course, but low for engines in its displacement class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2007

22nd Jan 2011, 12:24

I agree on your feedback! I have my Lancer 2001 GLX 1.5. Before it was all stock, and I added K&N racing filter and headers, and added more power to the car with less fuel consumption. It will depend on your driving habits, and I do not push the gas pedal too heavily, and just wait for the line to go up, and change shift between 2k-2500 rpm.

2nd Feb 2011, 11:21

I was planning to put KHAOS turbo charge gas saver. Do you think it will help? Will it ruin the engine in the long run?

27th Jul 2011, 11:28

KHAOS will not help. I've done that before, and I was glad that the shop had 1 week cash back. The engine was like having a hard time to accelerate.. it was like your spark plugs were fouling.. the best thing to do is install 4-2-1 headers and do not put gasoline with ethanol; your car would be like drunken master then!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews