2002 Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2002 Mitsubishi Lancer Automatic from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9500 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

Replaced front brake pads at 40000.

General Comments:

Very reliable automobile, I feel like this car will run forever.

The ride is a little rough, although it handles real well, and is fairly comfortable for a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2005

2002 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 7 FQ300 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission FQ300 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carHonda Integra

Summary:

The closest thing to a super car without supercar prices

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I got a red one (wanted red as most are either black or silver + red is the color that Mitsubishi rally in). Get lots of respect from people (& not just other road users either). Have had a number of conversations with people about the car. I have read that some drivers have had bad reponses from other drivers, but I haven't noticed this any more than with my last car (Honda Integra Type-R)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2004

23rd Jun 2004, 03:47

Only a 7/10 for performance mate... I always knew they were sluggish!

21st May 2007, 07:34

What do you prefer the integra or the evo? I'm thinking of getting an integra.

22nd May 2007, 03:43

What do you mean by bad responses from other drivers? You'd expect people wanting to race you more often than if you had, say a ford focus. But what do you mean, people getting angry with you? being rude? Not letting you in? (STI owner)

2002 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.6 from Lebanon

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance31800 kilometres
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Very good car overall with some reservations

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable.

Fuel-consumption is friendly at 280 Km per 20 liters on highway, 220 Km in- town.

One cause of discomfort is its very initial acceleration causes other passengers to get a neck jerk of a mild to moderate intensity.

Engine somehow loud with non-idle RPM.

Another relative disadvantage is caused by a new type of essentially continuous-gear transmission system that removes the sudden acceleration/"kick" from pressing down fuel throttle and makes acceleration rather dull, necessitating driver to shift gears often for even minor up-slopes. I guess as it is this does cause a saving of fuel overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2003

2002 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 7 2.0 turbo 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Recalibrates your senses!

Faults:

No faults whatsoever.

General Comments:

The most capable real road car money can buy? Perhaps. Certainly for the money, nothing will touch one of these.

280 bhp turbo engine is a peach with very little lag and a fantastic growl. This car goes like absolute stink - 60 in around 4.5 seconds and is capable of an indicated 150 with a small amount in reserve.

Handling is silly. Turn the wheel, it goes round. Everyone's seen Tiff Needell drive these on telly and seen the ridiculous powerslides the car can do, but the speeds you need to be doing are nigh on impossible on public roads. In the real world, your brain is the limiting factor, and the car will string a good B-road twisty sequence together as quickly as you can point the nose in the required direction.

I bought one of the original Escort Cosworths in 1992 and planned on replacing it with an Impreza WRX, but was very disappointed with the Scooby in relation to the Escort. In fact, apart from the engine, it was inferior in every way. Not so the Evo - a real step forward as you might expect from 10 years extra development. Far sweeter engine, more "chuckable", meaty steering, top brakes. The higher limits mean you can't slide it around so easily, but what the hell?! It's an awesome bit of kit. Looks cheesy, but then so did the Cossie.

Like the Cossie, I will keep this car until I find something better for similar money. I wouldn't mind betting it will be another 10 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

9th Dec 2004, 08:20

I am lucky enough to own an FQ300 Evolution VII. The car is mental in every way and I still (2 years on) have an grin from ear to ear, every time I drive it.

If you can keep up with the heavy financial burden of 4500 mile service interval, and single figures MPG when you boot it, I truly believe that the Evolution is about the best performance you can have in a "practical" every day car.

I love mine, and will treasure it forever.

I did consider a Subaru, but sorry to say they are far too common on UK roads. The Evolution is rare enough to attract admiring glances and the odd wave, every time I go out in it.

17th Nov 2006, 09:08

OK, I live in Cyprus I'm nearly 19 and I'm in-love...

Every time me or my friends see an evo, we all shut up in respect and admiration, I have not been in one, but I've been in my girlfriends dad's scooby, that was scary and nearly wet myself! I'm wondering if the evo7-8-9 could beat it (i know it can its just hard imagining a car that fast ;P)

7th Dec 2008, 05:16

It depends on the Evo and the Impreza. A low spec Evo Vs a top spec Impreza isn't going to be the same as the 220bhp WRX Vs the 360bhp FQ.

28th Dec 2008, 16:35

Look I think the guy means a comparison with the standard spec models i.e Evo GSR vs WRX STi, WR1 vs FQ 330, 340.

All in all, the Evo would be the car to beat.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews