1992 Mitsubishi Magna TR from Australia and New Zealand


Good car for the price


Transmission went in it completely around 200000kms, and replaced it second hand transmission. This transmission seems to be slipping a little too.

Inner door handles are partially broken.

Fuel pump and filter needed replacing.

Radiator cap wore out, needed replacing.

Oil leaks noted.

Timing chain needs to be replaced at 220000kms.

Inner and outer c.v. boots split and needed replacing.

General Comments:

The Mitsubishi Magna is very good for its price, it has all of the extras like air conditioning, power steering, and it has a modern interior.

It is a bit sluggish when going up hills, and when needing to speed up quickly.

The interior is very comfortable and appealing.

It is a bit heavy on fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2004

7th Oct 2005, 03:58

Can anyone tell me where I can find the thermostat in the 92 Magna??

25th Sep 2006, 03:44

Can anyone help me I just purchased a 92 magna theres a problem with the gearbox. if anyone knows where the computer for the gearbox is could you please share it with me thanks.

19th Feb 2008, 17:22

I have a small problem with my 1992 Magna. I purchased about 6 months ago. It was making a noise in the dash board area and it was suggested to put in a new speedo cable. I was warned it might not stop the noise. Well 2 months on and the noise is reappearing. I can still drive the car and it has the noise for about 30 minutes and it then stops. It might reappear later. I drove on a 3 hour trip and did city driving for 2 days and returned the 3 hour trip with no noise at all. Has this happened to anyone else? What can I do to get rid of this noise?



17th Mar 2009, 23:26

At 2nd poster above me, telling us anything about the noise might be more helpful then just saying you have a noise.

12th Aug 2009, 05:27

Does anyone know how to fix the timing chain in a 92 TR Magna?

22nd Jun 2011, 05:44

Honestly a big job. I would take out the engine and replace the brand new timing chain kit (probably AUS $ 200). But it may cost you around total AUS $ 1000 including labour and takes 2 or 3 days in a workshop.

I had mine fixed last year and now car is going good.

1992 Mitsubishi Magna TR 2.6L Astron II Carburettor from Australia and New Zealand


A good car to use as a project car as it has a lot of potential


Timing Chain and guides needed replacing at 125,000 km.

Clutch needed replacing at 130,000 km.

Balance Shaft and chain broke at 150,000 km.

Bad rust needed removing in boot (behind driver's side tail light)

Roof lining needs to be fixed as the moisture from the boot has caused it to start peeling off.

General Comments:

This car in standard form has 85 kW and is not exactly a quick car in stock form. Most of the torque is under 4000 rpm so it is a little sluggish above 4000rpm.

5-speed Manual trans-axle is a little rough at times, but is relatively smooth in operation.

A good exhaust (2" to 2.5" from the cat back) and high flow muffler is a start to getting more out of the motor, as well as making it sound more sporty.

Interior is relatively roomy and comfortable, but is a little on the plain side. Plenty of boot space for Sub-woofers and Amps. :)

The cars suspension is made more for comfort, but the car is able to corner quite well with stock suspension although it under steers when cornering hard. Upgrading the rims from 14" to 16", lowering the car 2" and stiffening the suspension makes a lot of difference in handling as it eliminates most of the under steer.

If a lot more power is wanted a turbo can be added (Garrett T03 or similar size), but boost should remain under 10 psi unless forged pistons and upgraded engine components are installed.

Stereo is crap so an upgraded stereo is a must. I have a Pioneer head unit, Pioneer 4" replacing the dash speakers, Pioneer 6x9" in the front doors and the parcel shelf running off a 1200W amp and 2 12" sub-woofers in the boot running off the same amp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

5th Apr 2004, 00:08

Excellent review, thanks, answered my questions perfectly.


14th May 2005, 06:09

This car actually produces 96 KW. Just thought you would like to know.

22nd Sep 2005, 13:23

Actually no, the original poster is right. The TR GLX which is the car he has, (carby model) is 85kw as he stated. The fuel injected executive model is 98kw.

30th Dec 2008, 04:47

How do you get the power wire for the amp into the car??? Don't know where to start looking...

I tried looking before for 3 hours, but later woke up under the bonnet from looking for what? I don't know???


15th Feb 2009, 17:16

HI, I have a 92 Magna TR. the car has very little grunt to offer, but yes.. putting a HUGE (2x 3.5") exhaust on it and lowering it helps.

The stereo wire for the amp must be installed by yourself from the battery through the firewall, under the carpet and into the boot.

1992 Mitsubishi Magna TR GLX 2.6L 4 cylinder (Carb) from Australia and New Zealand


A comfortable car to drive, only let down by lack of power


CV joints went.

Timing Gear needed to be replaced. (luckily under warranty because this would have cost over AU$1000)

Corroded hole in the inlet manifold.

Holes in exhaust manifold.

Engine rattles loudly on start-up. (Most probably from the starter-motor, but I'm not certain yet.)

Engine over-heating problem. Caused by electrical fault leading to fans not coming on (apparently a common fault in the TR model. Mitsubishi released a very cheap fix-kit for the problem... around AU$30).

Problem with choke sticking, causing car to flood and therefore not start.

Interior door handles cracked.

General Comments:

Very comfortable to drive.

Handles quite well for a car its size.

The car is under-powered. It's sluggish on take-off, but not too bad once its up and going.

Poor turning circle.

Good fuel economy when country driving, but not so much around the city.

Great car for price they are selling for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003