1995 Mitsubishi Magna Reviews

1995 Mitsubishi Magna Executive 3.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired380000 kilometres
Most recent distance424000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Timing belt.

CV.

Clutch.

Water pump.

General Comments:

I have owned Magna's since I got my license 10 years ago. I'm also in the process of doing one up.

The last Magna I bought 2 years ago is a 95 TS V6 manual. I paid $450 for as I wanted it for the manual conversion. It now has got 424000km and is still going strong. Nothing major has been done to the car.

The TS regularly travels down the coast for work, towing a full trailer (400km round trip in a day).

Magna's are extremely good cars. I cannot fault them at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2010

20th Apr 2011, 18:22

I also have owned the same model manual sedan since new (June 95). 402,000 km and no problems.

It is just starting to use a little oil due to failing valve stem seals. It will cost more than car is worth to overhaul the heads, so I just keep on going.

Sad day when Mitsubishi stopped making them.

2nd Jan 2014, 18:37

I love my Mitsubishi Magna 1995 :D

But one bad thing about them is the timing belt... Almost every time you turn on the A/C, you will have 8 seconds of shame and then the sound is gone. Then you can sit up, and look good and drive :P

The power is good for being a Mark 2 type car, but there are some things I hate.

1. Why are the 2 front speakers not on the doors like any other car? I didn't want to take the whole thing apart to get to them, so I made 2 new holes in the front and put them in.

2. Why are there no back speakers in the car?

3. When I went to put my CD player in the car, I had to run a wire from the battery to the CD player, because the power wire in the car is too weak to turn on the CD player.

1995 Mitsubishi Magna Executive 2.6L 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.6L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired206000 kilometres
Most recent distance258000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

Rear muffler - 206,000km, $80.

Valve stem seals & lifters? (small copper buttons that contact with the valve stems) - 206,000km, $180.

Thermostat - 206,000km, $80.

Front shocks/struts - 206,000km, $240.

Alternator - $230,000km, $400?

Clutch - 255,000km, $500.

General Comments:

The car I bought had been neglected and had been in an accident, but has been repaired.

The car is reliable and tough. The engine isn't very economical, giving around 10L/100km, and it's not very powerful.

Car looks good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2010

1995 Mitsubishi Magna 2.6 liter from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Looks are down, but it's a great all round car for a bit of it all, and cheap on fuel with power

Faults:

Nothing major.

Roof lining was falling down, so I stapled it back up.

2 engine mounts and the air con. drive belt tensioner bolt broke, so I fixed that.

The paint is fading off the bonnet, roof and boot, just like the rest of them that I see getting around (bits are missing in the paint).

Anyway, I don't know how to fill out over 50 words about a car that's been so good to us.

General Comments:

The car has plenty of power, and I'm keen to see how she would go pulling our 15ft tinnie over a hundred kilometers fuel wise. I know she was about the 9ltrs/100kms mark with a good sized tank; 60 to 70 ltrs I think.

The interior is roomy with a good air conditioner (cold), and you don't feel it drag on the motor much either.

Seats hold you firmly, and the car handles great on the corners; acceleration and braking are great.

The front tyres smoke up easy in the manual with plenty of grunt.

Personally I just don't like the look of them, but it does do the job well. Strackys been here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th January, 2010

1995 Mitsubishi Magna SE 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance317000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Extremely Reliable

Faults:

Starter motor at around 250,000kms.

Fuel injectors at 200,000kms.

Shaky drive after 280,000kms (probably due to non servicing)

MAJOR OIL LEAKS FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER.

Drivers power window not winding up (fixed by removing front plate off it).

Air conditioning increases fuel consumption a lot.

General Comments:

This car just fails to give up, it has over 317,000kms on it now, hasn't been serviced for over 67,000 ks, and it's still running.

Power is great, being a V6.

Australian build quality.

Cheap to buy (underrated).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2008

16th Jun 2013, 23:12

I have a friend who has major oil leaks. She's been told it is either the valve stem seals, camshaft seal or crankshaft seal. A lot of outgoing expense for a cheap car! Any advice or further information on your known leaks would be very helpful.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews