1996 Mitsubishi Magna Executive 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Manual V6 Magna? I'll take it!!!


Complete new engine (re con) dropped in.

New clutch.

New brake pads.

Air con.

General Comments:

Apart from spending $4500 2 months after buying this car (which was due to previous owner neglect) I really enjoy driving this car and plan on keeping it for a while longer.

Due to the resale value and previous generations of the Magna, they are a very over-looked. I have owned a nice long list of previous vehicles and this car is definitely in my top 2.

The interior doesn't have the room of a Falcon, but then again the Falcon doesn't have the same boot space a Magna does.

Being a young man with a family, I wanted to get a car that would still keep me entertained while still being practical for the family.

If you are thinking of buying a 3rd Gen Magna (TE onwards) then I would suggest a manual, they are a lot harder to find, but are worth it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2006

1996 Mitsubishi Magna Altera TE 3.0L V6 from Australia and New Zealand


A comfortable, powerful, durable car


At about 150,000 K's the transmission/gear box failed and it cost $1500 to get a reconditioned one installed.

It seems to go through quite a bit of oil between every 10,000 Km service. Up to 2-3 liters. Has small leaks that mysteriously can't be located by service centre.

When the handbrake is tightened the back wheels squeal until the handbrake loosens up to the extent that it doesn't hold any more. It is a design issue.

General Comments:

The car handles very well and even after almost 300 thousand Kilometres it still has substantial power off the lights.

There have been hardly any problems apart from the gear box failure. All other parts are running well. The interior is holding up well with all electronics working fine.

I can see the car lasting for a much longer time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

26th May 2004, 23:56

I had my Magna Te for the last 7 years. It done 168,000 kms. The car drive very well. had the distributor and the belts replaced so far. Recently it develop a strange problem that I had never encountered in 27 years of driving.

When it's on the freeway, the wheels start to wobble and the car shakes to the extent that you have to stop. Strangely it doesn't develop the shake when it's not on the freeway. Also, sometimes it's OK on the freeway too!!

The mechanic changed the auto transmission fluid and I had the front tyres replaced with new ones, but the problem is still there. Any idea what the problem is??

1996 Mitsubishi Magna Altera 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Refined, quiet, comfortable, boring


Auto transmission is very clunky and jerky - a common problem in this model Magna.

Timing belt snapped, which then broke the water pump and then did the head gasket, all before the temperature gauge got anywhere near overheating! Expensive...

Auto boot release failed (fixed by dealer at no cost)

Strange rubbing/clunking noise when turning left when cold.

CD player failed (radio still works)

General Comments:

Overall, a very competent and quiet car, far superior to similar era Commodore, Falcon or Camry.

Very quiet (so quiet, in fact, that if you have the stereo going, you can't even hear the head gasket blowing...).

Reasonable fuel economy, although not as good as I had hoped.

Shocking resale value at the time, although this has improved slightly in the last couple of years (well, not by a lot, but a little nonetheless).

Very smooth and refined, apart from the auto transmission on mine, which is a rather common problem of this model.

Make sure you get the timing belt changed according to the service schedule (and make sure your dealer follows the schedule). Mine didn't, and it was an expensive lesson.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

26th Jul 2003, 05:38

With all respect at your opinion, but the Mitsubish Magna can be more superior than the Toyota Camry, but is much more inferior if compared with the Ford Falcon and Holden Commodore.

The Magna lacks in comfort, luxury and performance for both of this car (specially the Commodore which also is better than the Falcon).

1996 Mitsubishi Magna Altera 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Enjoyable, comfortable, powerful and responsive


Nothing yet.

One of the keys is a little funny

General Comments:

Excellent car. Very comfortable, excellent road handling and low noise.

Was hesitant to buy a 1996 model, but it was cheaper than a 1998 model and just as good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2001

1996 Mitsubishi Magna TX 3.0i from Australia and New Zealand




To date nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Car performs even better than I thought. Went looking for a Ford or Holden and came home with a Mitsubishi Magna.

Very impressed with the handling, comfort and all over features of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2000

1996 Mitsubishi Magna Executive 3.0 from Australia and New Zealand


Brakes have made a grinding sound despite repeated checks and new brake pads.

General Comments:

Very roomy, smooth ride and good looking car. For those who want a stylish car, without having to fork out for a more expensive European model, the Magna is a great buy. It is a family size car, but is great for those who also just want a good looking vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

26th Jan 2004, 19:41

Conveyed in subtle detail; although giving quick, strong and understandable language. Writing contains 'truthfulness': "What things have gone wrong with the car?"