2002 Mitsubishi Magna Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Mitsubishi Magna TJ 3.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Astra

Summary:

A true performance car that isn't a WRX, Commodore or Falcon

Faults:

The Ralliart badge on the boot is starting to deteriorate.

Other than that, nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

The rear wing is not very subtle, but kind of grows on you after a while.

The engine is outstanding and has ample amounts of torque and power.

Fuel economy is best in class.

It has the same power to weight ratio (manual) as a WRX and has the fastest top speed of any Australian six cylinder. Don't try this on the road!

Handling is also a strong point, especially fast, flowing corners. It maintains it's poise even when there are irregularities in the road surface.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

16th May 2004, 03:31

Yes, the Magna is a very nice vehicle. Fast, comfortable, composed, etc. BUT... You cannot realistically compare it to a WRX. Your assertion that it has a better power to weight than a WRX is incorrect.

Current WRX: 168kW & 1395kg = 8.03kg/kW

Current Magna VR-X: 163kW & 1532kg = 9.4kg/kW.

Yes, I know these are the current vehicles, but there is a significant difference in power to weight.

2002 Mitsubishi Magna VRX 3.5L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65 kilometres
Most recent distance55420 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A nice looking lemon

Faults:

Needed to be fixed :

New gearbox and clutch

Needed a new ECU

Needed a head gasket fixed.

CV joints needed to be replaced.

Steering shudder.

Rear right power window died.

Rough idle.

Air bag light went on a few occations,

General Comments:

I found this car to below average. It is comfortable and its very nice inside. But the problems with the gearbox and clutch was a pain in the bum. The resale values on these cars are crap, but great for 2nd hand buyers. It is well built. But its isn't built well enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2003

22nd Mar 2006, 05:17

I have owned one since new will be 6 yrs old soon and I haven't exactly babied the car. Never a problem apart from front power windows failing. Driven it from Cairns to Brisbane 3 times and one from Cairns to mt Isa never missed a beat. Excellent car - loves a thrashing when needed and much more reliable than my other halfs Commodore, and I must say a lot quicker (a new model Commodore by the way). Must bought a real lemon mate!

2nd Oct 2009, 08:12

Here in Adelaide, the taxi drivers are all opting for Magnas cause they have double the reliability of Holden or a Ford. I work on all three for the taxis, and the Magna is by far the most reliable; engines cover 700000km and transmissions. Good for the cabby, bad for my hip pocket.

2002 Mitsubishi Magna Ralliart Edition 3.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired290 kilometres
Most recent distance1750 kilometres
Previous carHSV Clubsport

Summary:

Great performance and quality for money

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car! It is still performing as new, probably since it basically is new with only around 1750km on the clock.

General Comments:

The first thing that you notice about this car is the wicked, beefy exhaust note that sounds beautiful inside the cabin.

The climate control (if fitted) is sensational, it is really user friendly and has magnificent air distribution throughout the cabin.

The stereo is also excellent, it has a great balance between performance and security. It has 14 speakers and a 6 in-dash CD player, and is also compatible with additional equipment that you may want to put on, which I found very useful.

The seat are pretty good, developed by the Monash University as are "Recaro" inspired, which ensures the levels of quality.

The only downside inside the cabin would be the arm rests. They are too low and do not really provide good support, I found them really un-ergonomical.

Tiptronic gearbox is a little slow to change up and down, but it gives you full override and stays in the selected gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2002

31st Mar 2003, 06:52

How does Recaro inspired assure quality? If anything it's bound to be lower quality.

18th Nov 2003, 05:19

14 speakers??? I think not...

27th Dec 2003, 19:15

Actually, they do come with 14 speakers, check any review of them. Most will say "sound quality is superb from the 14 speakers, but the CD player itself is very difficult to use".

28th Jul 2010, 23:31

Yes they are 14 speakers. And the CD player is the simplest thing in the car.

Mac.

25th Nov 2010, 17:42

Well I have had my Ralliart now for eight years, and put 300,000 klms of highway under it. I can say I have enjoyed every kilometer, and not one problem with the car. I do like the sound system and the way the car just does what you want it to do, when you put the foot down at any speed.

Red Ralliart.

2002 Mitsubishi Magna VR-X 3.5 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance5600 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Truly a high performance sedan

Faults:

Clutch master cylinder developed a leak. Which made gear changes near impossible. It was replace under warranty.

Clutch pressure plate was damaged as a result of previous fault. It was also replaced under warranty.

The car has performed brilliantly since then.

General Comments:

If you ever wondered what it feels like to be blasted into space in a rocket, then test drive a manual VR-X.

SS and XR8 (auto) drivers will be scratching their heads at the lights, S and XR6 are not even in the same league.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2002

15th Dec 2002, 03:49

I doubt it would beat a 5.7 V8 auto... really doubt it...

27th Jun 2005, 21:21

Perhaps you should put your assumptions behind you. Mitsu have done wonders with the torque steer factor. And cubes do not equal faster... its the power to weight, the amount of power that you are putting to the road, not lost through the tranny and drive shaft.

1st Aug 2012, 09:39

The Sports and VR-X Magnas were the fastest naturally aspirated cars when they hit Australian roads; their ride quality and practicality is second to none in its class.

And yes these cars will keep up with (if not overtake) a Monaro, an XR8 Falcon, 4.0 V8 Soarer/SC400, and most 4 cylinder Japanese cars BEFORE touching the aftermarket scene.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews