2004 Mitsubishi Magna Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Mitsubishi Magna ES V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carSame Lancer

Summary:

Why not Magna

Faults:

Nothing really so far.

General Comments:

This Magna is not bad for what they cost. But I would like to ask others who own the same models on why the resale of these cars are so low? I mean so far that I have driven, i have no complaints. Its got more than a standard Falcon or Commodore. And costs about a third less. How come? is it because its front wheel drive and Australians do not support a car of this nature? Or is it looks? Or maybe all of its models look a like? Still tho, its got electronic drivers seat, ABS, electric windows "all", Climate control, an alarm and immobiliser, cruise control and trip computer. All these would not on a car that would cost no less than $40 to $45 grand Falcon or Commodore. Where as you can get all this for $30 grand on the road at Mitsubishi. How come no one thinks about these things when buying the more expensive brands? Believe me when I say these Magnas are reliable. I do give its moneys worth on the road or highway when it comes for some show off. Its economy is better then most V6's.

I would love to hear some comments about the questions that I have raised.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2004

8th Dec 2004, 18:09

Reason why not many people buy them is due to the fact that Mitsubishi has kept recalls under the carpet. Also the ugly front end does not help.

Mitsubishi has always had dismal resales.

18th Dec 2004, 09:27

I would certainly put to poor resale down to the fact that the current Magna is exceedingly ugly. This is not a view shared only by myself, out of everyone I have talked to it about only one has actually liked the shape. I did actually like the previous model and considered the vrx or ralliart Magna for a second car. The new shape however is a different story, it wouldn't matter how far they reduced the price I could not bring myself to own something so hideous.

I would have thought that Mitsubishi would have taken notice of the lesson learned by Ford with its AU, but I guess it this was not the case.

2004 Mitsubishi Magna ES doch from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission doch Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance5010 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Magna Really Rules!!!

Faults:

Touch wood, so far nothing.

General Comments:

Very roomy cabin and all user friendly dials. Or though it kicks in a little to rough from 1st gear to 2nd on semi auto, otherwise pretty fast car for a V6. This thing can go over 100km on second gear easy. Done about 120km per hour my self, at about 5500rpm on second gear. It could spin the tyres if the lift off is floored. Happens to me on even 18inch wheels.

The other week went to Apollo Bay Ocean Drive, man this thing can take corners like you wouldn't believe. And the semi auto was made for roads and corners like that. Even had to take over a WRX because he couldn't keep up. Honest. Even tho I have the base model ES I have more options on this car than a Ford Fairmont. For 2/3 the cost.Climate, ABS, 4 Airbags, 6 way electric drivers seat unlike Fords 4 way. All electric windows and the most important a Trip Computer. The bloody thing even tells you when or how often you should take a break between each drive. I mean what more can you ask for a car that you can have for less than 33 thousand $$$ on the road?!?! Let me tell you, NOTHING :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2004

9th May 2004, 19:35

Mate have you ever been in a WRX. if you had you would realise that the driver you overtook wasnt trying or had no idea how to drive. I like magna's, but to say that the ES is quicker than a WRX is stretching it a bit don't you think.

13th May 2004, 22:16

Yeah I think you are right. But I never said that Magnas are faster or better then WRX's. I was just making a general comment on my experience and yes he may have been be puss driver. What ever the excuse I GAVE it to him with my Magna. Someties its not what you drive its how you drive it. I just proved that very POINT. So anyone out there think that all roads are straight by flooring you can win, DREAM ON!!! Because I will be waiting for you at the finishing LINE. :) :) :)

17th May 2004, 19:01

WRX's are not that special. They are cheap cars that you can make loud and put a pop off on, of course, to make up for your manhood no doubt! My brother in-law has a 11/2003 WRX and my cousin has a 2002 Magna VRX. I have driven both those cars and can say that the VRX beats it hands down! The funniest moment ever though was when a 'sik mate' WRX owner 'tried' to beat me on my Kawasaki ZZR1100 roadbike. Classic!!!

28th Sep 2004, 05:47

Interesting point re the speed difference between the WRX and VRX. I remember watching the Bathurst production car race on TV maybe last year or the year before. Magnas were overtaking WRX's on Conrod.

Am I biased, no. I have driven both WRX and Magna's. Different cars for different people. I currently drive a 2000 Magna Sports which replaced a 5 litre Calais. Son-in-law had a Club Sport. I prefer the Magna. Smoother, and almost as quick, more relaxing to drive. Just about to buy a new AWD VRX. This is the first car I have ever updated to the same make. The Magna has impressed me.

2004 Mitsubishi Magna TL ES 3.5L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance22909 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

An average car

Faults:

1- Engine needed to be replaced because it dropped a valve.

2- Sport shift 5 speed auto thumps hard when changing from 1st to 2nd gear. Both in fully automatic and manual control.

3- Irritating rattle around the passengers side.

4- Air conditioner does not work sometimes.

5- Rear right hand side rear window stopped working.

6- Steering vibration.

Only a few of the problems has been fixed.

General Comments:

It is a smooth and quiet car. But this is a company car replacing my Camry V6. I don't like the front end of it much, but it is comfortable though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 10 reviews