2001 Mitsubishi Montero Limited from North America - Comments

29th May 2002, 14:37

I have a 99' Montero. One day my wife and 2 children were in it, and the brakes when! The dealer told us that the brake pads were worn out. To those who have RV's, don't tow anything over 3000 pounds with this car, I know that the dealer says that it can tow 5000 pounds, but that's not true. I even have the V6! If you are a family *no more than 4*, who wants a good SUV and are willing to pay $30,000, the Montero is for you.

29th Oct 2002, 20:25

My Montero Sport had the same problem with brakes. I replaced the pads at 22000 miles and again at 44000 miles. Then the sensor light came on after it was repaired and they started shuddering. Since I was disgusted with the service at my dealership, I had my local mechanic replace the disks and pads (again) to the tune of $600. I haven't had any brake problems since then. But now my steering wheel vibrates despite having the tires aligned and balanced. My dealership can't figure out what's wrong with it (or so they tell me).

16th Jan 2003, 11:07

I purchased a 2001 Montero Limited in July 2000 - had 1600 miles, and was a dealer demo. Added factory nose guard and running boards myself, with no problems. I have over 60,000 miles on this vehicle now, and here's what I've had done:

1) replaced from brake pads (only) at about 53000 - rotors were in great shape.

2) had dealer replace faulty gear indicator light in dashboard (~40K, under warranty).

3) had dealer replace faulty A/C blower switch (~40K, under warranty).

4) had a front differential switch sensor replaced shortly after purchase - I noticed a very slow leak when I was changing the oil the first time.

5) in the process of replacing factory Bridgestone tires.

Aside from that, I've done regular oil/filter changes about every 5000 miles, rotate tires every 10-15K miles. This is the third Montero I've owned (had '95, '97), and have had no major problems. Mostly highway driving, some 4WD in snow, pulled a minivan out of the sand after they got stuck once. Great vehicle, a little top-heavy. My only complaints come from the dealer's service department - I'd rather fix the minor things or do routine maintenance myself, since it seems that every time I take it in for something (i.e. a recall, free service) something else goes wrong, and I have to bring it back again for them to fix.

Sounds like other's experiences with this vehicle are hit-and-miss!

22nd May 2003, 04:48

I bought a 2001 with 7000 dealer use miles on it in fall of 2001 at full price to get 0% interest (stupid I know). It wouldn't pass inspection in late summer of 2002 (17000 miles). Dealer replaced right ball-joints bearings and both front tires at their cost (although one of the tires was my spare) and did an alignment. Even with several balancings, the tires wear scalped and vibrate the front after a couple of months. The front tires were shot again by spring of 2003. I bought new Goodyear trackers (all 4) when it had 26000. We have have CD problems it skips and the CD's are too hot too hold when ejected. The "hub" holders on the tires are different sized on the front and can be broken when tires are rotated. Buy the rear ones and put them one the front to prevent problems when rotating tires. I'll never buy another but it looks like were stuck with it as its always worth about 6000 less than we owe.

21st Oct 2003, 23:48

2002 Mitsubishi Montero Ltd.

1,202 Miles:

Minor-Typical rattles, undercoating overspray, water spots, fallout on finish. Warrantied

Major- steering wheel vibration. warrantied/balance tires

3,196 miles:

Major- Rear brake rotors warped. "Goodwill" turned. Turning your rotors actually shaves off the metal surface irregularites and Decreases rotor service life.

12,291 miles:

Major- Right rear parking brake locked up due to faulty bearing seal, which contaminated parking brake shoes, gumming up the mechanism and locking the parking brake. The only way to get moving again was to put the vehicle in gear and apply moderate throttle. The parking brake released with a loud "clang"! This happened on vacation in Corpus Christi, Texas resulting in the Montero being in the shop for 4 days. The bearing was not in stock and had to be Fed Ex'd from Los Angeles, Ca. We were not authorized a rental car by the dealer. I forgot about our extended warranty coverage, which probably would have re-imbursed charges. Luckily, my parents had a second car for us to use.

15,504 miles:

Major- Parking brake would not hold vehicle on an incline. Had to take it into shop and have it re-adjusted.

16,375 miles-

Major- Montero is in shop, as I type this, for brake problems again. Brake shudder, indicating warped rotors or possibly a faulty bearing again. This is getting old. Plus now they are not willing to warranty the repair. I told them that they must have a bad batch of brake rotors. an they should have installed new rotors when the problem first appeared at 3,196 miles.

Starting problem: It takes 3-4 seconds of cranking to start engine. It didn't do this when we first bought it. They fed me a song and dance about firing order theory! Please!. I will keep the list posted. Round two tomorrow! Ding! Ding! And in this corner...

13th Jan 2004, 08:14

I have a 2000 Montero Sport. The vehicle has 40,000 miles on it. All in all it runs good except I have taken it in three times for a steering wheel slippage problem. They can't find anything wrong with it. I'm dealing with it. At 30,000 miles got new pads and had the rotors resurfaced. Rotors were completely gone after another 5,000. Got new rotors at 35,000 under dealer warranty. Today, at 40,000 miles is in again for brake problems. No longer under warranty. Was told that because I use the vehicle in city driving, I should expect to need brake work every 5,000 miles because pads are too small for such a large vehicle. If you buy one of these, you should expect to have front brakes replaced between 20-30,000 miles and rear brakes at 40,000.

16th Sep 2004, 21:42

I have a 2001 Montero XLS with 72,000 miles that has needed nothing, but a set of front and rear brake pads. I just replaced the rears myself last week in about 30 minutes at a cost of $26. Why all the complaints about brakes? The original tires lasted 69,000 miles. This vehicle is very solid and rattle free, and I would not hesitate to buy one again. I had a 1992 Montero that was just as reliable. My only wish is that it got better gas mileage.

27th Oct 2004, 13:33

I have a 2001 Montero only major thing I've had to do was replace pads and rotors at 65k.. I think it is a great SUV been off road a few times and it did better than expected. OK the MPG isn't great, but it's an SUV it has the same aerodynamic qualities as a brick... Love the interior space, it handles well can get two MT bikes in there without folding the seats down... Have camped in it folding the seats all the way down to make a reasonably comfortable bed.. Sorry for you guys having all the problems...

Kalua123-@hotmail.com remove dash before @ to Email.