1989 Mitsubishi Pajero Exceed 2.5 turbo diesel, intercooled from Australia and New Zealand


Comfortable, quick, but makes a horror story Discovery look reliable!


Consider this: I paid $18000NZD, spent $54000NZD on repairs, then sold the car $for 5000NZD. It blew 7 heads, 2 blocks and head gaskets by the truckload.

At least parts are cheap!

General Comments:

It was comfy, it would seat 7 in comfort.

I clocked it at 165kph.

The engine was revvy, so performance was good.

Handling, by 80's SUV standards, was surprisingly good; take note Land Rover.

The radio was not worth stealing, because unless you happened to have a high specced Japanese import, the radio (bigger than the glovebox almost!) would not fit your car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st April, 2005

5th Jul 2005, 05:29

This guy should be locked up for the way he treated his car! I own the same model of Pajero as he reviewed and I can say with certainty that his driving habits were the cause of his mechanical problems. Diesels cannot be driven with the same heavy boot that petrol models can, I drive my Paj at between 2000 and 2800 revs. It is certainly not revvy unless I have my foot to the floor and the needle jumping to the 4500 rev red line. I have driven my Paj over 320,000 kms of harsh Australian outback and never had a single problem with the sturdy and robust power plant.

19th Jul 2005, 04:30

Greg here, I must agree and say that my Mitsubishi Exceed 1989 2.5 5 speed diesel turbo inter-cooler has been perfect,only reconditioned the alternator. It has been drive as the car has been designed to do... to get you there and back in comfort, if I wanted to get there quicker I would have taken an aircraft .

1st Aug 2006, 04:58

Are we talking about a Mitsubishi here or the Galloper Exceed? Galloper is a Korean made copy that is horrible (copy of previous model, and was dirt cheap). I grew up in a rural area where "everybody" drove Mitsubishi Pajero. These are bulletproof cars so long that you watch out for rust, especially the 80's Pajeros rusted like mad. But the Galloper cannot be compared. I know several that had (oh yes, past tense) Gallopers and these cars were poorly made. A friend of mine was able to get the car returned to the dealer within a year after ten or so repairs. And this was MAJOR work like blown axles, transmission etc. Some years ago they stopped importing these after many customer complaints.

1989 Mitsubishi Pajero Exceed 3.0 V6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Comfortable family mover


Water pump failed.

Rocker cover gaskets are leaking oil.

Rear heater unit leaked water.

General Comments:

Japanese import.


Excellent family vehicle with seven seats. Comfortable seating for the driver and front seat passenger. Visibility is great. As easy as a car to drive.

Power is adequate and superior to the 2.5 turbo diesel, 6G72 engine is fairly uncomplicated in its single overhad cam format. Engines can be reconditioned as a long block for around $2500. Diesels will cost around twice that figure if they blow. Feels safe even though some accident reviews don't rate them well if they roll.


Not particularily economical at around 21MPG. Has always used oil between changes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2001

12th May 2005, 04:34

I wrote the above review and am now selling the Pajero seven years after purchase and km now read 197600, where it has a blown head gasket. Water pump failed at 128km.Risk of being fined for smokey motor since around 140km (believe dropped valve guides are the reason). At around 175 km the harmonic balancer pulley bolt failed on the motorway and that wrecked the pulley and threw the power steering belt off. $1200 NZD to fix that. I am selling it now as I think that the 6g72 is old technology and would not bother reconditioning it. Similar derivative motors I believe are in Hyundai vehicles also. it was a good wagon with its versatility, especially with the extra seats, but don't expect the engine life expectancy or economy of a holden 3.8 v6. The body is still in good condition.

4th Aug 2005, 04:08

You should have bought a diesel one, mate. They're next to bullet proof with more power and torque.

21st Jan 2006, 17:29

I own a 1989 Pajero 2.5 TDi. I took her for her MOT and she sailed through. Previous vehicles include a Land Rover Discovery (the less said the better) a Shogun V6 (a bit thirsty) and a Jeep Cherokee.

Without favoritism, the best 4x4 so far.

1st Nov 2007, 14:41

I've just recently bought a pajero and having never owned a 4x4 before didn't know what to expect. The bodywork is in excellent nick, bit slow in setting off, but very comfortable.

It was driving very well until I accidentally put petrol in instead of diesel 20 quids worth to 60 quid of diesel. Rang garage in panic and they told me not to worry. If black smoke appears from exhaust just bring it in to change diesel filter. Black smoke is puffing out every time it changes gear. It goes into garage tomorrow. Fingers crossed it will be OK!

Also there is a creaking underneath which I'm having checked at same time.

It needs two new tyres on front and steering is pulling to one side slightly.I'm hoping it is just the tracking and balancing!

I'm not a car expert by any means so any advice would be welcome.

I paid a very good price for this vehicle so if it needs a bit of work its not the end of the world just hope it not too much money. Will keep you up to date with progress.