1987 Mitsubishi Pajero from Australia and New Zealand - Comments

19th Sep 2004, 08:14

I inherited a 1987 pajero (gas) LWB high roof. True, it has a minor leak in its power steering system. Other than that, no problem. My complaint, however, is that it considerably consumed premium gasoline perhaps due to its old age. I plan to replace the gas engine into a turbocharged diesel engine preferably from 1996 pajero. The suspension is very good especially in rough roads. It also endures in floody areas especially here in Manila during rainy season. Prices of gasoline here are high so switching to diesel is a better alternative for SUV like mine. Roy of Sta Mesa, Manila.

5th Feb 2005, 13:19

I drive a 1987 Pajero 2.5TD (LWB). 489,000km (only!) on the meter so far, and still perfect factory engine and bodywork. It's as tough as nails, and the interior is comfortable enough for long drives.

I do have some grips though, based on observed design flaws.

In my opinion the standard 15" wheels (with 235 75 R15 tires) are too small for this sort of vehicle, especially when you consider that Land Rover and Toyota put 16" rims on their 4x4s. So I replaced them with 16" rims with 205 75 R16 tires. Now my Pajero drives better on the road, and stays better in the ruts on dirt roads.

Then the 4x4 system appears to be archaic, it does not work well when making tight turns on dry surfaces, the front tires jerk and jump on the turn and that is probably not good for the tires. The user manual states not to use 4x4 on dry pavement, but sometimes it just happens that you do! It works great off-road though. But still, why Mitsubishi have not refined their 4x4 technology even in mid-90s Pajeros is a mystery to me.

Changing the headlamp bulb on the side where there is the front battery is a nightmare, it is such a tight fit even for my smallish hands; farmers' hands have no chance, but to remove the battery first. Why the battery was put so close to the headlamp backing is also a mystery to me.

Lastly, the windscreen wipers are longer than the air vents on the other side of the glass. That's a problem for winter sleet driving because the ends of the wipers do not gather heat through the glass, ice gathers at the ends of the wipers, and that causes the wipers to lift somewhat from windscreen contact. And that happens at precisely that part of the wiper that swipes across the drivers vision, no longer clearing water and sleet off the glass. Shorter wipers is the only solution to this design flaw.

Overall, these are issues I can live with because the Pajero's strengths outweight the flaws.

24th Feb 2005, 04:51

Boyd tecson.

My three door Pajero is great it is a box type model A/T. It has a 2.5 diesel intercooler turbo. It has good visibility, but I really don't like the pinion type steering, it's annoying. Another thing is the poor brakes, especially with A/T's like mine.

But overall, it;s really a great rig. It even pulls my off-road Suzuki from most unforgiving Cebu, Phils mud.

4th Aug 2005, 04:26

In reference to the battery being mounted too close to the headlight assembly, that's not all its too close to. It also happens to be positioned next to the top mounted intercooler, positive post first.

When the battery bracket begins to corrode and allow the battery to slide around a bit, the intercooler, connected to the negative post via the chassis earth system, is just the right height to allow the battery to slide under it and cause the positive post to wedge against the underside. BUZZ!

15th Aug 2005, 05:37

Hi avid readers, I just purchased a very pretty '84 NA turbo diesel wagon, high roof, electric everything for $2500 Australian. Nice machine, well kept, only 230,000 ks on the clock, just a few problems though, 1: Japanese import, although it carries Aussie VIN numbers, 2: rear end has been replaced with a disk brake diff of unknown origin. Amazing braking performance, just no way of replacing the broken hand brake cable!! Any reviews, specs etc on this model would be welcomed. gonzo@itxtreme.com.au.

7th Jan 2006, 18:54

Futher to my 482000km post, I now have 520000km on my trustworthy 1987 Pajero LWB. I did some online research to read up on centre-differential technology, which is what full-time 4x4s have, meaning Pajero does not. A centre-differential handles wheel speed so that on curves there is compensation made between the slower inside and faster outside wheels. Mitsubishi does not apply this technology to Pajero, only apply Super-Select for on-the-fly shifting between 2x4 and 4x4. Lack of a centre-differential is probably one reason why Pajero is somewhat cheaper to buy than Land Rover Discovery or Toyota Land Cruiser which are full-time 4x4. I am fixed on a Toyota Land Cruiser 95 3.0TD 120kw as my next 4x4, which is a full-time 4x4. But I will wait for as long as my trustworthy old lady Mitsu gets me from A to B!

31st Jan 2006, 02:45

WHAT ABOUT FUEL ECONOMY?

Iam thinking of buying a Mitsubishi Pajero 3000 V6 Station wagon model 1988 that uses unleaded petrol. Can anyone give me a hint of the consumption of this beast. Or mpg.

Thank you

Harris Liarikos

Greece.

8th Feb 2006, 16:15

Can any one say what miles per gallon one should get with a 1989 pajero exceed 3000 petrol 17000 kms on clock urban & cruising also sometime towing a caravan, Thank you.

8th Mar 2006, 15:57

1 have a 1989 pajero 2.5d import issue with rear seat belts can any one help as no info found. do I need 3 point or lap belts. thank you.

23rd Mar 2006, 08:36

Hi my name is Dani. I own a 1989 Mitsubishi Pajero GLX 2.5d. I like the car very much, it has a lot of power especially on mud an snow every thing's great, but there's one thing that I really want to know: the tires are 235 75 r15 on 15" rims. Can I put wider tires on the rims? what size? I expect an answer as soon as possible.

22nd May 2006, 12:16

Hello, I just bought an 88 Paj Wagon V6 3000 and the fuel economy is, to put it bluntly, horendous! Around town I'm lucky if I get 6 Km's per litre.

Just before I bought it (at 235,000 k's) the whole engine was overhauled, the people spent $4500.00 on it. Now I'm wondering whether there's anything wrong with the computer system which controls the fuel/air mix ratios.

Does anyone have a suggestion?

Regards.

Steve. (Nth. Queensland Australia).

11th Jan 2007, 15:51

I have just purchased a 1990 Pajero LWB 2.5TD japanese import to the UK. The vehicle is in first class condition and drives superb. I have previously owned Discoverys, but this vehicle is a much more comfortable and a more powerful vehicle. I am amazed by the condition for the year. It does not smoke at all and has loads of power and torque. It has all the extras like air con, pas, etc.

23rd Nov 2007, 04:28

1986 Pajero, previously 2.6L petrol, Replaced engine with a used ex-japan 2.5 Turbo Diesel engine. This was easy to do as the bell housing of the petrol engine fits the diesel engine (4D56) with no modification. I did the job myself so, no expenses. The mounting for the diesel engine and the petrol engine is the same. I didn't have to change even the top-shaft bearing for the gearbox. Although the car was previously used for election campaigns in Kenya and the body had a real beating, after wielding the floor and other areas that needed to be wielded, new paint work, new heavy duty shock absorbers and tires in January this year, this is the greatest of them old cars that I have driven. So far done 7850 km on it since rebuit. For Kenyan roads, it is a rocket especially uphill and consumption is good. The space is marvelous too and the back fold-able seats make it a pickup besides being a luxury car for the family as well. Consumption 12 km/litre. Very comfortable for it's age. The car has a leaky power steering box and I will put a new kit in December, has a cracking noise in the right 4WD shaft. I will replace that as well and the wiper motor is dead (still being used after rewinding, but am sure it will break soon again. I love the car, my wife and kids love it too. Pajero spares are readily available in Kenya but can be very expensive. The'86 model is the cheapest of all, very simple as well.