1995 Mitsubishi RVR Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1995 Mitsubishi RVR Sports Gear gasoline from St. Vincent & the Grenadines

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission gasoline Automatic
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

I like it

Faults:

There has been a slight pinging noise especially when the vehicle is under strain like when going up a hill at low speeds. The noise disappears if I accelerate more. I took it to a mechanic who checked the timing belt which was OK, changed the gas filter, spark plugs and air filter. The noise disappeared for about 2 days, but has reappeared. I tried using a fuel injector cleaner, but that doesn't work. Matter of fact the gas consumption has increased since those changes were made. Not sure what to do next!!

General Comments:

I love the car. The handling/cornering is great. And the 4WD is wonderful for me for I live on a dirt road and it rains a lot. this vehicle handles it with grace. I am looking for a way to reduce the fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd February, 2006

1st Jan 2010, 02:05

Sounds a bit like the 02 sensor is finished.. would explain the pinging, and increased fuel consumption.

1995 Mitsubishi RVR Super Sports Gear 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Awesome performance meets practical family car

Faults:

Purchased 2 days ago. Have noticed a bad "miss" under hard acceleration around 2500RPM.

Suspect the front suspension bushes require replacing as they rattle at speeds below 60Km/H.

Exhaust tip is fairly black so I suspect it's running rich and will require adjustment.

CD player keeps skipping so it will be discarded for a new model.

General Comments:

This car was purchased due to it's flexible seating arrangement. Performance was initially secondary - until I learned what was under the bonnet.

I find it's amazingly quick and have enjoyed the extra power. Will be running some tests to see what fuel consumption is.

After going around corners I feel like stopping to check to see if some has put it on rails!

Wheels are 16" alloy wearing Yokohama 225/60R16 tires that look near new.

It has a bullbar, foglights, side rails and Haymen Reese towbar.

Visibility is excellent.

Couple of points:

How do you set the compass?

What does the A/T button (on the next to the exterior mirrors control) do?

What is the little mirror on the front left guard for?

How do you activate the headlight washers?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2005

1st Nov 2005, 20:35

Have put together a log file of my fuel consumption - since purchasing this car it's average is 11.56L/100Km.

That's a mixture of town running and long distance runs (2X 420Km and 4X120Km).

Still has the "miss" and still seems to be running rich so will be working on it over the next month and see if the fuel exconomy improves.

8th Apr 2006, 17:08

The miss-fire type thing at around 2500 rpm is apparenty caused by using incorrect spark plugs. Replacing them with Denso Iridium IW22 plugs should solve that problem.

The engine is essentially out of a Lancer EVO 3, so many SSR drivers frequent evo forums for tips.

14th May 2006, 09:02

How To Set The Compass.

Press the "S" button briefly while stationary.

You'll notice the arrow go back and forth (Side to Side).

While this is happening, very slowly drive off and make a full turn (full circle).

This should automatically reset the Compass to where it's suppose to be! It's amazing...

14th May 2006, 09:12

To activate the headlight washers all you have to do is press the button on the tip of the indicator column.

The mirror on the front left is purely to check the blind spot around the front left wheel. It's useful when reversing or to check how far away from the curb you are when parking.

It must be positioned so that the arrow meets the dot where it turns!

6th Oct 2008, 21:38

I am looking at using a 1995 non turbo 2l petrol RVR for towing a small-ish boat (4-5 metre). Has anyone ever towed anything with an RVR and how did they get on?

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews