Mitsubishi Scorpion Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1984 Mitsubishi Scorpion GL 2.6L (2555cc) from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.6L (2555cc) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

A powerful 4 cylinder - not to be underestimated

Faults:

With the age of the car, it's not so much "what's gone wrong", but what has needed to be replaced as a safety necessity - in this case, just about everything in the time that I've owned it, excluding the A/C compressor and the windows.

Typically, the timing chain slackened off, the diff-centre needed to be rebuilt and with the performance options that I made for the vehicle, the starter motor needed to be replaced a few times. With the compression ratio being higher than standard, I switched to a Bosch reduction-drive starter, the one used out of the TN and TP Magna.

General Comments:

Without modifications, this car was powerful and very comfortable to drive, and not bad for blowing off other 4 cylinder vehicles of smaller stature (with the occasional straight-6 falling victim to its power).

With modifications (and this is a very modifiable car, with some parts harder to find than others), Twin Weber carburettors, Genie Extractors, sports exhaust, lowered 1.25" all round (and those are just for starters), it handles better than on rails and can take sweeping bends at well over 100 km/h without even thinking of stepping the rear wheels out. It brakes like a dream, the take-off is superb (especially with a modified cam) and it doesn't spin the wheels unless you want it to.

To date, this car has dragged off 10 consecutive VL-Commodores (some stock, most modified - automatics are a little harder to beat and throw in a greater challenge). This car hasn't done any quarter-mile times as yet, but it has gone from 0-100 km/h in 7.5 seconds in 2nd gear @ 5900 RPM.

All in all, this is a very reliable car, which cost a bit to modify (about $15,000), but once the goals were achieved, the results have more than paid off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2002

3rd Nov 2002, 18:28

0-120 km/h in 8.0 seconds in 2nd gear @ 5900 RPM.

No modifications to my scorpion btw ;)

9th Apr 2003, 21:33

My 2.6 sigma astron goes 0-100km/h in 4 seconds flat, 3 speed auto with a 2.0 inch exhaust.

But my scorpion does it in under 4.0 seconds easily without even an exhaust kit. The 2.6 astron motor is such a revvy motor I cannot believe it. The technology is amazing, sigmas are the best sports cars to ever come out of Japan. A sigma would easily beat an R33/4 GTR Skyline or VL Turbo.

I haven't ran my sigmas down the 1/4 yet, but I'd guess they'd make low 11 second passes easily. Wow. Sigma power.

4th Sep 2003, 07:39

11seconds you are dreaming!!!

All I have is cam, extractors, modified carby and re-graphed dizzy and I pull 16.8sec at 138mph on bold street tires.

1980 Mitsubishi Scorpion GJ 2.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

New starter motor.

Ring kit and bottom ends.

Half of the dash was missing.

General Comments:

Great first car, not much work to be done to beat Commodores or Fords.

Needs more room in the back seat, but nice in the front.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

1985 Mitsubishi Scorpion GSR turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance63500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Scorpion

Summary:

Great fun, good looking, and very rare

Faults:

Exhaust needed replacing.

Handbrake cable required freeing.

Slight rust on the rear arch.

New clutch.

General Comments:

This car is not awesomely quick, but has phenomenal braking due to vented discs all round and a massive servo.

Suspension could be better.

Ugly steering wheel.

Very tunable 4G63t up to 400hp, but only 170hp standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

9th May 2001, 03:36

Its not fair, I want a turbo too!!!

25th May 2001, 20:53

Get a set of really big mags (17 inch comes to mind), lower it and then bolt on extractors and exhaust. A huge increase in power comes from replacing the stock carby with a Weber or Holley. Add a stage 3 cam from RPW (www.rpw.com.au) and you have one fast Scorpion. Apart from a nice paint job, leave the body stock; it is to nice to cover in spoilers and so on.

9th Jan 2002, 06:32

Hey buddy.

I don't know much about the Scorpions, but I used to drive Mum's MR Coupe Lancer, it was an auto and quick shift, and that was slow as hell. The manual's a bit quicker, but I reckon that a turbocharged 2.6 Scorpion would keep up with the Lancer and probably even beat it, but I've never driven a Scorpian or a manual Lancer. But I reckon you would still be competition for the Lancer.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 14 reviews