2001 Mitsubishi Shogun Pinin equippe 1.8 gdi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

High priced new. low resale value

Faults:

Reliable? yes. but that's all its got going for it.

Needs servicing every 5000 miles.

Needs petrol every 60 miles with a ten pound note along with it.

The most uncomfortable car you are every likely to drive.

General Comments:

Usual Mitsibushi engineering. reliable starts first time etc etc.

I would describe this car as a tar-dis in reverse. (looks big from outside, but no room at all when you get inside) and I mean NO ROOM.

This car cost me to buy in 2001 £ 13500.00.

This car attracted the handsome trade in price in 2003 (two years later) £ 6000.00 now I know cars depreciate as soon as you get them, BUT.

Very costly to keep this car with a service needing done every 5000 miles.

Good four wheel drive? only when you look at it from outside, as it looks good and like a proper 4x4 should look.

Get inside and it is a very different story.

You feel EVERY bump, and that's even on a flat pot-hole free road.

The only words I feel sum up this car are (wee pretend jeep)

Buy one if you really like its looks etc.

But don't say you haven't been informed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

17th Feb 2004, 14:05

I disagree with your comments, I find my pinin reliable and economical. I have owned it over a year now and never had trouble with it. Pinin's don't need servicing every 5000 miles. I have run up 20,000 around the uk last year and serviced it once. I have enjoyed my pinin so much I have traded it in at no loss, and bought another one, a little newer. Well done Mitsubishi for such a compact and reliable car.

9th May 2004, 08:58

Servicing is 9000 miles or 12 months - and they don't voluntarily stamp the book to say you've had the bodywork inspected to keep the warranty going.

Dan Coed.

15th Jun 2007, 11:45

I agree with you have just bought 1 and is the bumpiest ride ever and is drinking the juice. The engine sounds like a tractor when you put your foot down and my mileage left doesn't show up on computer am thinking of selling due to petrol consumption.

22nd Nov 2007, 20:07

My Pinin is great, comfortable ride, currently getting 30 MPG (mainly motorways) VERY capable off road.

Used to own an X-Trail, Pinin is much better off road with a real transfer box.

Thoroughly recommended!

9th Apr 2009, 03:53

Bought my Pinin Vivo 11 auto in 2001 with 5500 miles on clock for £13000 being 6 months old. 8 years later, true with only 35000 miles on clock, it's sufferings its first signs of age, exhaust failure. Careful driving returns 32mpg. Even the battery is original. Says it all really.

10th Oct 2009, 10:25

I have read the reviews on this car and I need to say I am shocked. I have had my 01 plate Pinin since March, changed from a Merc C200, and I am very impressed. Not sure these people are driving the same car.

11th Mar 2010, 08:08

Just bought 2001 Pinin 1.8 GDI (Y plate, 76k miles, 1400 pounds) & driven 1500 miles from UK to Spain. Achieved 35 mpg fully laden. Performs very well on muddy, uneven track to our villa. Very happy with it!

4th Feb 2011, 05:21

You consider a bumpy ride on tarmac as a sign of a bad off-roader? It is bumpy because it is meant to be driven in rough areas, a stiff ride is better off-road. My Pinin is more than capable of keeping up with any 4x4 in the mud.

2001 Mitsubishi Shogun Pinin Equippe 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A well intentioned vehicle, but does not meet the requirements expected

Faults:

The wheels had showed signs of rusting and have been replaced under warranty.

Along with a Rusting front grille and the wheel cover plastic nuts dropping off.

The Near side front passenger door started rusting and it took for ever and a day to get the dealer to sort.

The handbrake lever fell to bits and was replaced, but without the handbrake being adjusted.

There is Two rattles coming from the engine and although still under warranty the dealer, Manufacture state they will strip the engine out, but if they find nothing I will have to pay for the strip out.

The rear seat belt was faulty and was changed under warranty.

General Comments:

This car has tied up a lot of my time traveling back and forward to the dealer.

Mitsubishi have shown little support with the engine problem along with the dealer using scary tactics.

Believe it or not I do like the compactness and stocky features of the car, but as you can imagine one can only stay loyal for so long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

2002 Mitsubishi Shogun Pinin Elegance 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great looking, reliable, easy to live with

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car has the rugged Shogun off road ability with out the size of its bigger brothers, it has true off road capability, unlike the 4X4 pretenders from other manufacturers, its great round town and stable on the motorways, MPG is around 33mph which isn't bad, the small fuel tank lets it down though, about 270 miles to a tank, a nifty little dashboard display tells you how many miles left in the tank, average MPG and average speed as well as outside temperature, The 2.0 litre engine is nippy around town, visibility is good all round, but the airconditioning could do with being upgraded to automatic aircon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

2002 Mitsubishi Shogun Pinin Equippe 5-door LWB 2.0 GDi petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not cheap, but the best small 4WD

Faults:

Steering pulled to left at 1000 miles.

Selling dealer unable to rectify, but another dealer did so.

Wheels had rust spots at 9000 miles. Replaced under warranty.

Poor fuel economy from new. Rectified at 9000 miles by decoke and modified exhaust manifold. Apparently a common problem!

General Comments:

Car is quiet and comfortable, although ride a bit choppy at times.

Auto box is excellent.

Fuel economy c. 30mpg. Very small fuel tank with max range of 270 miles.

Selling local dealer very poor. One with more experience of 4WD v.good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2003