1995 Mitsubishi Space Wagon 1.8 from Philippines

Summary:

A family car and an unpredictable car

Faults:

Under-chassis problem, oil leaks - engine & transmission, rain water flooding in the driver side, insufficient cool air at the back, roof paints starting to wear.

Every time I'm starting to run, I always hear a squeak or knocking sound, then after a few miles of running it quiets down.

Replaced just recently axle bearing rear left, changed ball joints and stabilizer link last 4 months ago, put rubber lift at front and back of the shock absorbers.

What went wrong?

General Comments:

It was my dream car, that is why I bought it in the first place, though it's already a second hand car.

I like its roomy and comfortable interior.

Now, I'm looking for a club or organization for the space wagon owners where I could share my experiences and learn a proper way to maintain my space wagon, and be proud of it as long as I live.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2008

26th Jul 2010, 12:26

Excellent review. I know you made this years ago and you are probably a bit surprised it took this long for someone to comment back.

I just got my Space Wagon a couple of days ago, so I want to know and learn about my new found love/car. My 4 kids love it too.

The thing is my mechanics can't seem to figure out what's wrong with it. Every time I shift it's not smooth one bit, and the idling acts up and it's like it keeps kicking. Hard to explain. But if you read and get this, perhaps you have advice?

Thanks.

22nd Mar 2011, 07:00

I may not have a Space Wagon yet, but it has almost the same mechanical and electrical parts as my Galant is.

Try to look at the servo unit, it may broken or just dirty. Servo helps maintain the RPM range of the engine. But if it is good, check the engine compression. The erratic behavior of the RPM is also caused by the servo complementing the lack of compression.

I hope this help. I'm looking forward to buy a SpaceWagon. It would be a dream to have one.

Cheers!

17th Jun 2011, 00:49

The Space Wagon or Chariot Grandis is really a nice car.. I love it too.

2nd Aug 2011, 08:32

Hi, I own also a Space Wagon 2.4 GDI and a Chariot Grandis; very good cars indeed, but I am currently experiencing starting problems on both of them. If there is someone out there that can assist me with info or manuals, I would appreciate it a lot.

My name is Reinard from Namibia.

19th Sep 2012, 06:46

You're right, the Space Wagon is a Galant in a different body. We just bought one last month, 2nd hand, and it's a 4G93 SOHC A/T. My wife adores it, my folks laud it, and my kid loves it. He even doesn't want to ride in our 2 other cars anymore.

Engine performance is above satisfactory. Highway fuel consumption is decent, but city fuel consumption is a bit guzzling. And there's a mystery about that squeaking sound when driven. Servo issues concerning Mitsubishi cars aren't new anymore.

Overall verdict? Thumbs up for this ride!

1995 Mitsubishi Space Wagon GLXi 2.0L Gasoline from Hong Kong

Faults:

I have bought the car for just over one month, and noticed that a rear tire loses its tread quickly. Maybe it happened before I got the car, but I noticed it recently.

General Comments:

The running cost of owning a car in Hong Kong is great. The government license fee is high (USD 256/4 months), insurance is OK (20% NCB, USD 282/year), petrol cost is high (USD 1.54/Litre), parking cost is high (USD 200/month).

So you can understand why the Space Wagon has a market here, you pay about the same amount as an ordinary 5 seats car, but you get to take on 2 more people.

The space is really limited inside for the second row (which seats 3) and the third row (which seats 2). Also if you are taking 7 people, the luggage space is very, very limited indeed.

The handling of the car is not as responsive or impressive as a 5 seater. I used to own a Honda Civic prior to this, and I find the Space Wagon can be termed as a economic choice for a 7 seater, and handles better than a MPV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

11th Jun 2005, 21:58

Thanks for the great review! It was almost uncanny, how relevant your comments were for us. We're thinking of buying this exact car from a colleague who's leaving town soon test drove it this weekend. (We also live in Hong Kong and currently own a Honda Civic, which is easy to drive, economical on gas and easy to find parking.)

When we tried it my colleague's Space Wagon this weekend, the car handled well, but we observed some minor things like a slightly loose gearbox (it's automatic transmission) and a sensitive accelerator (hair-trigger response). Is that something that's common among all Space Wagons of that generation? Also, living in Hong Kong, there are a lot of hills and our Civic, being a 1.5-L engine labors quite a bit. Do you find the Space Wagon - with its 2.0-L engine - more adept at going uphill?

12th Oct 2005, 23:10

Thanks for this wonderful space given to us buyer's. I would like to know if the given price of $3,600 for a second hand, but well maintained 1995 Mitsubishi space wagon car is practical to buy? I have four kids and one niece plus my mother in-law that suits to that seven seater car. I need your suggestion.thanks.

1995 Mitsubishi Space Wagon GLXi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Headlamp washers stopped working. Fixed under 3 year warranty.

General Comments:

Very well designed and built. Starts first time every day, holds price well, roomy, very easy to drive and lively for such a big car. Only drawback is fuel consumption - but then it is big.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 1998