Mitsubishi V3000 Reviews

1988 Mitsubishi V3000 Super Saloon from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired192000 kilometres
Most recent distance214000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable thirsty good-handling workhorse

Faults:

Engaging overdrive button results in the transmission shifting to neutral gear.

Boot takes in water, requiring the drilling of two drain holes in the floor of the tyre well. Unfortunately the jack has completely rusted up as a result of the water leak, and is now unusable.

General Comments:

Smallish car with a 3 litre V6 that makes it fly!

This car handles brilliantly and always starts first time, even in subzero temperatures, which we had a few weeks back.

Very basic setup with three speed auto gearbox + overdrive, great brakes, although not ABS.

I let the kids use this car to knock about in. It just won't die!

My father had one of these in top-spec SEi form, and cruise control would have been good for this vehicle, but alas is absent.

Without overdrive, it's thirstier than my Lexus V8. Doesn't use any oil or water, and haven't had any servicing issues thus far.

If you can get a tidy one second hand, they are bulletproof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2011

11th Mar 2012, 21:42

Owner update: Am about to sell this vehicle for $600. It's now done 218,000 km. Still has the loss of overdrive option, but otherwise is rock steady and reliable. I reckon it will do 300,000 before it dies.

13th Apr 2012, 03:45

Further owner's comment: Sold the car three weeks ago for $550, and have spotted the new owners heading down to Wellington.

1991 Mitsubishi V3000 Executive 3.0L V6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance320000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Giulietta

Summary:

Powerful, reliable beast of burden

Faults:

Timing belt replaced at 250K.

Engine oil leaks now.

Driver's window winder screws need constant adjustment.

General Comments:

Great power and torque from V6.

A little understeer, but otherwise direct in steering.

FWD limits usefulness for towing, but still good.

Engine needs a makeover, but not surprising with the K's on the clock.

Little information available on the Web, being an NZ-specific model.

Just keeps on truckin'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2009

29th Jun 2009, 08:56

Hi. Does any one know, how to turn the head lights off full beam on the Mitsy V3000? Please e mail on lynnsaltess@yahoo.co.nz.

8th Sep 2009, 07:37

Headlights, high/low beam: flick indicator switch towards you.

3rd Nov 2009, 01:29

I agree, be careful with the switch as it is universal in its operation (was quoted $300.00 odd ex japan). Needless to say I repaired mine.

By the way my 91 V3000 has travel led 115000Km's and has noisy lifter(s), will adding the product PROMAR help?

Thanks in advance, Rick.

1992 Mitsubishi V3000 SEI 3.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 kilometres
Most recent distance144000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Eterna

Summary:

This car is so far the best I have driven and my current favorite

Faults:

When I brought the car it had a fault with the stereo. Took almost a month for the dealer to have it fixed.

The front brake disks needed to be skimmed and the pads replaced at 139000kms due to brake shudder.

General Comments:

Just after I brought the car I had an LPG system installed due to fluctuating petrol prices at the pumps here in NZ.

Although the exterior was not too pleasing to the eye, that was all I could fault with this particular car.

The interior view was more pleasing and I was somewhat initially confused by the luxury gadgets, but soon became familiar with their functions.

After 3 hours of good cornering and smooth road handling, it made you feel that you hadn't just finished a few rounds with Mr Tyson.

The V3000 is not overly quick, but is no slug either when overtaking.

I had previously owned cars which were either screamers or roarers.

So it was a delightful pleasure to whip along rolling country side with a motor that just purred.

The LPG system ran without a hitch and reduced my gas bill with great satisfaction.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 3 reviews