Morris Mini Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1977 Morris Mini Clubman 1.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It's a Mini, what else needs to be said!

Faults:

Leaked a lot of oil when purchased.

Replaced gearbox, fitted cooper head, High lift rockers, performance intake and exhaust manifolds, cooper exhaust, fast road cam and high flow air filter.

The engine was rebuilt with all new gaskets and new rod change seal from Mini spares.

General Comments:

This car is very quick for a 1000cc Mini.

The change in carburettor needle has meant that it uses a lot more fuel than standard, but the car is now a lot more enjoyable to drive.

A stereo would be nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

15th Oct 2003, 05:12

I have a Leyland clubman from 1972, I fully customised it myself including paint and interior. My point is if your car is a 1977 then it can't be a Morris, it must be a Leyland.

1964 Morris Mini Saloon 848cc A-series from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1964
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 848cc A-series Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carMG Midget

Summary:

A low-cost inner-city runabout with classic appeal

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

All things considered, the Morris Mini is pretty indestructible. Having said this however, I'm assuming you'll keep up to date with the required maintenance. More importantly I stress that you remember to lubricate the suspension components and change the engine oil on a regular basis.

The 850cc Mini represents excellent value for money with running costs that won't break the bank. A little slow off the mark, but hey, what's the rush?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

1976 Morris Mini 1000 998 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 998 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

A bargain runabout

Faults:

Blocked PCV

Blown clutch seal

Clutch

Front suspension ball joints.

General Comments:

An old British car that although not quick (has Cooper head / extractors) corners like a train.

I am 6'4" and there is more room in the cabin than my previous car - Legacy GT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

17th Sep 2002, 02:18

Do you find that it handles better than the subaru did? I had a 1979 mini 1000 recently, it handled good, but no power, mine was totally factory standard, does having the cooper head etc help with that? and the extractors?

5th Oct 2003, 08:12

There are no other car, Other than the classic mini to give you smiles per miles.. For the money paid, These little gems are road legal go-karts, Get a good one, And other than space, You`ll be laughing all day long, And growing little horns-every time you take a run out in the go-kart..Kev.

5th Mar 2004, 21:56

I until recently had a 998cc mini, and with limited budget was able to get it to run a whole lot better and handle even better.

All that I did was put a 1 1/2" SU carby on it, which set me back about $30 including the manifold.

A set of Hi-Lo's dropped the car by about 2 inches at the turn of a spanner, or back up when I wanted to be legal. Combined with a 3/4 race cam and there was oodles of power and would grip the road better than anything else I have seen, and even with a standard exhaust had a really nice exhaust note.

...now I just wish I didn't sell the car.

3rd Nov 2005, 23:25

I think these cars are awesome... but too small with WICKED headlights that are more blinding than a high ball. You have to be quick, because if you wait around the BIGGER cars will be an annoyance. It's not for a cool, calm, easygoing type that likes to travel a long distance. You can't drive cross-country inside of a rolling jet-potato. Not fun for long. I think it's time to stretch now

1967 Morris Mini Deluxe 1.1 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3545 miles
Most recent distance4789 miles
Previous carHolden Gemini

Summary:

Top car

Faults:

Head gasket.

Small oil leak.

Clutch.

General Comments:

Take in mind that it's an old car and things are bound to start going wrong. Parts are easily available.

This is a top car, there is nothing that I can really say that would go against this car at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2000

30th Nov 2004, 03:48

Hey mate, I've just got myself my very first mini after my dad and my brother both have had one so its in the blood. anyway it's a 67 deluxe and I think its one of the best minis ever produced. beautiful body and if the mods are right, even a 998 engine can give off an awesome tone. long live the mini!

Regards Rhys (18)

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews