Nissan 180SX Reviews

1991 Nissan 180SX Type II SR20DET from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission SR20DET Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102600 kilometres
Most recent distance104200 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Tempest

Summary:

The best sports compact coupe of the 90's

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Absolutely hands down the best value for the money in the sports compact car segment. Civic killer performance, comfort and cargo capacity plus the price and style to beat any domestic vehicle on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2006

22nd Jun 2006, 13:34

That car is the crappiest of the sx series and is nothing compared to even the non-turboed 300ZX's, at least in terms of acceleration and speed.

30th Jul 2006, 09:03

Got a 1989 180sx with turbo back exhaust and a t28 running 11psi. Unreal car to get around in, still draws looks. To whoever said that a 300zx n/a will beat one.. you have to be dreaming. You can't compare a 180sx to a GT Cruiser.

27th May 2010, 11:04

I've personally wiped my friends NA 300ZX in my 1996 180SX. 300ZX's are over rated as hell; even the turbo ones don't go the way a 3 liter turbo should. A Supra would eat one for breakfast. If you get the suspension balance on the 180 right, they are amazing through the corners, and always tail happy if you want them to be :)

22nd Feb 2012, 11:41

That would be because the 300ZX is a 3000cc engine, and the 200SX (not 180SX because of the SR20DET 2.0 litre engine) is only 2.0. The 300ZX has 300bhp and the 200SX has 207bhp.. Of course it will be better.

1989 Nissan 180SX 1.8lt DOHC (CA18DET) from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8lt DOHC (CA18DET) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres

Summary:

Value, speed and style

Faults:

Very soon after I purchased the car the water pump went, other than that everything is engine wise is fine.

The drivers seat is worn and the passenger window switch sticks.

General Comments:

This car is definitely value for money. Considering it is an auto, and basically stock it is rather quick. The handling is literally awesome with Koni shocks all round, eliminating body roll.

The car looks great giving that it is now 15 years old, as well as out performing most other new cars on the road.

A warning for anyone who buys one of these cars that the back end has a BAD tendency to not be in-line with the front :D Be very careful in the wet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

1989 Nissan 180SX 1.8 dual cam turbo intercooled from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 dual cam turbo intercooled Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Performance and style

Faults:

Had a problem with the yurbo, which I had to get fixed. Some sort of seal broke and was letting oil into the pipes and the inter-cooler, I ended up getting the turbo reconditioned.

The front driver's seat is warped. The upright is twisted and does not go up above a 45 degree angle. It was like this when I purchased the car.

General Comments:

Awesome performance for a stock standard 80's car.

Love the front factory bucket seats.

Engine performance can be increased with a few minor mods.

Great for two people, but impossible when you need to fit yourself, a mate, and a few ladies in.

Body shape is sleek and sexy, an all round great looker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

24th Oct 2005, 18:05

Well, At least you have moved up from the holden, I have a 1992 Nissan 180sx, it's a dream ride, she never fails me and will take me anywhere I want =D.

2nd Nov 2005, 06:23

Hey There, was just browsing the net and found this site. I'm 17 and looking at buying a 180sx 89 or 90 model in the next 6 months or so. Just wondering if anyone could tell me a little about the car and whether or not it would be a good first car considering petrol prices at the moment?

Thanks matt.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 3 reviews