1985 Nissan 200SX Reviews

1985 Nissan 200SX Hatchback 1.8 liter 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 liter 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles

Summary:

Best purchase I've ever made!

Faults:

Back in 1993, we had a problem with the accelerator "missing". It was diagnosed as a computer related issue and was fixed with no further problems.

The red factory paint faded very quickly. Red paint is more vulnerable to the elements, however the original paint looked pretty bad by it's 5th year.

General Comments:

This car has been driven pretty hard. I even ran the oil low a couple of times during the first 5 years of ownership and it hasn't had any long term affects. Considering the high mileage (220,000), the car has been reliable, easily passes all smog tests and has cost us very little to maintain. We use it as a commuter car and will continue to do so until it "dies"...which doesn't appear to be "in the stars" any time soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2004

7th Apr 2006, 13:50

I had red 1985 200sx. It was the best car I ever owned and I am sad that I ever sold it!

1985 Nissan 200SX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired172000 kilometres
Most recent distance201989 kilometres

Summary:

This car will stay in the ground and will never leave

Faults:

My Nissan is nothing but a hunk of crap.

But first, it was a nice car to drive. I bought it for 4000 dollars canadian. The owner before I bought it was a mechanic.

I am just a student out of college who needed transporation. So I bought a car.

It needed work, but I could handle a few touch ups. Then disaster came.

Fuel line, Thermometer, Brakes, Tires, Fuel Injection, Oil leaks, Antifreeze crack etc. This car was going straight into the ground.

I enjoyed it being my first car that my Dad helped me buy and taught me to drive standard. All I really wanted was a nice looking sports car.

This car is only worth now Approx. $500.00.

General Comments:

This car once was really fast, but old men could beat it in their wheelchairs. Just pushing themselves and they would go faster.

It needs a new compressor since it only works on 3 cylinders which once use to be 4.

Needs a new Exhaust. New side mirror, since some kid ran his bike into the mirror. It drives really really rough.

I just had the fan belt fixed since that was going on top of everything else.

This car has been nothing, but crap, and will stay crap forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

1985 Nissan 200SX XE from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired247000 kilometres
Most recent distance249000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A sporty, fun car despite it's problems.

Faults:

Three fuel injectors needed replacing.

The power steering hose leaks huge amounts of fluid.

Oil pan gasket needed replacing.

Distributor cap needed replacing.

The speedometer is about 15 kilometres under.

Plus a lot more little things needed to be replaced. I can't remember any more of them though, there were so many.

General Comments:

I love the look of this car as opposed to the newer models. The body is in great condition with only a little bit of rust around the taillights and a corner by the doors.

In the driver seat, it's comfortable. However, there's really not much to the backseat. That's fairly common with cars this size though.

It accelerates well, and is great fun to drive. It feels like there is a lot of power compared to the Sentra that I was driving before.

I think now that most of what's wrong with the car is fixed, it will be good for a while yet. Being the age that it is, it's in pretty good shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2003

1985 Nissan 200SX Turbo HB 1.8 SOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 SOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100800 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carMercury Montego

Summary:

A RWD pocket rocket

Faults:

Light seat wear.

Replaced a warped exhaust gasket that was causing a lack of boost.

Cigarette lighter quit working.

Leaky #1 fuel injector.

Leaky power-steering rack.

Windshield washers don't work.

Side mirror adjustors don't work.

Turbo has started to make a noise that sounds like a death whine when cold, but the boost is still there and once warmed up the turbo quiets down.

General Comments:

The combination of light weight, turbo power, and RWD makes the car a kick to drive on the twisties. Feels well planted and weight balanced, if just slightly tail happy. But as they say tail happy, driver happy. Well I say that anyway.

The car I have has the factory body kit, which is an improvement. The aggressive hood dome is rather extreme, but fits the look of the car perfectly. Plus with a dremel tool and a few hours it is easily made useful as a source of under hood cooling, which my car needs badly. I think I have a water pump going south.

The driving position is excellent even for my 6'3 frame. However not much room in the back seats with my seat position. There is a cool B&W pattern on the cloth of the seats and doors. I have the electronic instrument panel, which surprisingly enough still works. It does get hard to read with the sun directly behind though.

I like this car a great deal and am thinking about treating it to the DOHC Japan spec motor and a set of lowering springs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

26th Jul 2005, 03:40

Where can I get lowering springs for my 1985 200sx? If you know where to get them, please e-mail me at djbzbee@yahoo.com.

1985 Nissan 200SX from North America

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Almost no repairs in 13 years, 130,000 miles. Replaced the alternator, computer and exhaust manifold. All within the last 3 years. Other than scheduled maintainance, no other repairs done to the car.

General Comments:

Runs like a dream, 26 mpg, never uses oil. Exterior finish impeccable even though it has never been in a garage. Interior has held up as well. Great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

30th Oct 2001, 09:26

I also have a nissan 200SX. I only have a problem with the fuel pump, it does not shut off and the clucth is almost gone. Runs great, I was just racing the other day, smoked them.

23rd Jan 2003, 14:39

I got an 85 200SX 2 years ago to deliver pizzas with. Shortly after I patched the body, and painted it bright orange. I removed all logos, and added a long blue neon light under the grill, and wheels from a 98 240SX. People are baffled as to what kind of car it is, and I receive complements daily. In those short years it went from 108K to 137K, and only required costly brake work aside from regular maintenance. Oh yeah, I brake torque, neutral drop, and drive like a maniac, and it takes it in stride.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 5 reviews