1986 Nissan 200SX Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1986 Nissan 200SX from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 kilometres
Most recent distance207000 kilometres

Summary:

A high performing money stealer!

Faults:

Power steering is leaking fluid.

There is oil leaking from the turbocharger and from the bottom of the bellhosing. There is a little bit of smoking from this.

Left rear seatbelt didn't work.

Had to weld the exhaust at 203000 kilometers.

2 Fuel injectors were seeping at 200000 kilometers, the cost just for the parts was $470.

General Comments:

This was an all around good, reliable car.

It handles awesome and I'm liking the rear wheel drive.

However the parts are very expensive!

Nothing really started going wrong with the car until it hit 200000 kilometers and now it seems like I'm at the shop every 2 weeks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

1986 Nissan 200SX XE 2.0 liter fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

Speedy, sporty, beautiful hatchback with attitude

Faults:

Front two brake disk pads have broken.

Rust near the rear wheel wells.

Seats have become hard, but still somewhat comfortable.

Burns oil, but does not smoke.

Uses up power steering fluid quite a bit.

Wire harness loose.

Spark plug wires loose.

General Comments:

Excellent cabin, although back seat space is nonexistent.

All digital dash, everything electronic, you would think it'd take two batteries for everything.

Excellent stock stereo system, comes with graphic equalizer and 4 excellent, and easily modifiable speakers (have hooked up 2 after-market large speakers in addition, in the hatch).

Was a Rally Car... run extremely hard, but still runs like new, albeit a few hiccups now and then.

Really speeds when you learn how to drive it. I've raced quite a few cars (Camaros, Corvettes, RX7, etc), and the car performs wonderfully. It's quite satisfying to see the look on a hot-rodders face as you beat them in this little hatchback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

18th Jan 2002, 20:19

I own a 86 200SX turbo and am seeking people who may know or have done modifications to this car. Please let me know anything.

bartc_2@hotmail.com

Thanks

Bart

8th Feb 2003, 01:32

I have an 86 200sx with the 2.0L. I wrecked it the first week in Dec. 2 years ago, and I lost my condenser for the AC. I was wondering if any body knew what I can and can't take off dealing with the AC. You can e-mail me at WDKING69@aol.com. Thanks.

27th Oct 2005, 12:57

I own a 1986 200 sxxe and my ac pump is not even hooked up! The only thing holding the pump in the engine bay is the return hose. No wires, no bolts, no nothing. It is literally hanging in the engine bay. So, if it helps any my car runs perfect. Who needs AC anyway? Isn't that what power windows are for? My suggestion is just take the whole thing out STARTING with the fusebox relay. I hope this bit of information is beneficial to you. Good Luck and God's Speed to you.

Unborn 200.

1986 Nissan 200SX XE HatchBack 2D 4 cylinder 2.0 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 2.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance123000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Old, somewhat pimpin, take your chances

Faults:

- Side armrests ripped pretty good.

- Little plug above the back window wiper motor popped out and disappeared.

- Slight rusting above the wheel wells.

- Door lining is loose and pops out at times.

- Lighter doesn't work all the time.

- Windshield cracked.

- Burns a bit of oil, but is easily fixed with a bottle of Durant "No Smoke".

- Cord to plug the car in is not hooked up, but it doesn't need to be cause it starts like nothing.

- Noisy speedometer, and now it doesn't work.

General Comments:

- Fun car to have.

- Good pimping stereo system car (hatchback).

- Powerful on the highway.

- Slow acceleration.

- Sun roof is great but would've been better if it was automatic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

10th May 2001, 08:46

I have a 1987 Nissan 200sx, and LOVE IT TO DEATH! Serious, it is a powerful car on the highway, it even passed my husbands 8cyl Grand Marquis when we took both cars (he follow me and then we caught ourselves racing) from Kentucky to Georgia. It however did need a little work before we took this trip, (electrical, speedometer NEVER worked, exhaust) but none the less it is a car worth having. It even passed several newer 200s easily, I guess out of respect they blew their horns back and waved. My car is a hatchback, with sun-roof, power windows and locks, and both pop-up headlights STILL work! I hope Nissan makes a special edition 200 with the '86-'88 body style.

1st Nov 2001, 11:40

I own a 1986 200SX. Mostly all original parts (inside and out). I want to know where I can get a new engine and how much they cost. I only have 115,000 miles but I want to put a new engine in it. I have a 2.0 DOHC non turbo, 4cyl, 5 speed manual. I need to find a place that sells after market parts for this car.

Thank you.

optimus_y2k@yahoo.com

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 5 reviews