1988 Nissan 200SX Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1988 Nissan 200SX SE V6 3.0 VG30E SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 VG30E SOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Little Car... Big Engine

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong so far, but for a car as old as it is the center plastic piece between the tail lights is hazed and the rear window trims paint is flacking. And the seat's have turned blue/purple from the sun like old tint.

General Comments:

Talk about a under rated sports car, in a car this small I was suprised about its performance. V8 guys watch out you won't realize it until I pass you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2003

21st Feb 2004, 06:07

V6? SOHC? I think yours is a 280ZX, not a 200ZX.

11th Jun 2006, 10:29

I bought my Nissan 200SX new. My wife drove it mainly to work and back. I never realised it's sports car capabilities, until I executed a tight turn one day. It took it like a pro. She hunkered down and went around that curve with amazing control. The rear shocks are original. I had the front end steering control replaced 5 years ago and the steering is still tight and responsive. No rust on the body.

It does have an idle problem and cuts out at times. I turn off the ignition and restart it. Sometimes two or three tries before the engine evens out.

The drivers side window is hard to activate in the up position. The engine does not burn a drop of oil at 121000 miles.

Parts are becoming rare. My alternator needs replacement and my repair shop is waiting for one coming from Denver.

It seems there are just a few on the road.

I own the only 200SX in my area.

22nd Oct 2006, 06:43

I own a 1988 200SX with the extremely rare 300zx power train option. This car is dependable, very fast, and good on gas. I looked for 5 yrs for one like this. They only imported 3157 units to the US, the other 1843 went to the rest of the world. This car and the 1987 V-6 models are the rarest Nissan's ever built. Collector car status for sure. If you can find one, grab it. Cars like this are upwards of $10k or more in the US alone. A real sleeper, with unlimited room for performance mods... watch out Corvettes!

1988 Nissan 200SX XE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance218000 miles
Previous carFord Cougar

Summary:

Great low maint enance car

Faults:

Have had to replace 2 oil pressure sensing units, first at 30,000 then 210,000. Also replaced 2 fuel pumps, first at 50,000 then 190,000. Also replaced the gas tank at about 190000. Many brakes. The undercarriage is now rusted pretty bad. The front driver seat has no more padding left to it although it does not show any wear.

General Comments:

The motor and power train in general were great, and still are in this car (V6). The usual mechanical stuff has worn out, but at very high miles. The radiator, alt were replaced at about 175,000 miles. That is pretty good if you ask me. The bad things about the car are the brakes wear very fast even with highway use. The underside of the car is rusted very bad. I will have to stop driving it due to the frame being rusted too much. Although the motor and trans is fine (oil pressure is still respectable for 200,000+ miles!). I have had zero emissions related problems with this car. I did all of the maintenance on the car myself after the warranty was up. I was also the one who drove it off the showroom floor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

1988 Nissan 200SX SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

A Solid Sleeper!

Faults:

Calipers Starting to stick.

Exhaust Starting to Clog.

Passenger Side Wiper doesn't work.

Sagging rear Suspension.

The rack & pinion steering leaks from one of the boots.

The vinyl is starting to peel or sag.

General Comments:

I have kept regular maintenance up on this car. I flushed the coolant, brake fluid, clutch fluid (brake fluid), regular waxing & Detailing. it has almost 200k miles on it, and still runs quick! compression is no lower than 120psi on all cylinders. I plan to make this car put out 300 Horsepower. It will have a great suspension, awesome exhaust, and many custom creations to upgrade this car. Overall, I would Highly Recommend that if you see this car, buy it. you can't get body kits like the hondas can, but who needs them, this car smokes those things!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

1988 Nissan 200SX SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles

Summary:

Underdog sports car

Faults:

My power steering pump has gone out.

I got new tires and wheels.

I got the usual stuff done to it, like the timing belt, new battery...

This car almost has 200,000 miles on it, and still going strong.

That's Nissan for you:)

General Comments:

I got this 200sx SE a while back, and have loved it ever since. It has power everything, cruise control, nice interior that has everything working.

I recently got a completely new Kenwood system, new Fondmetal wheels, and many more new parts to make this car shine.

The engine is the VG30E, which is the same one used in the 1980's generation of the 300zx.

It is a 3.0 liter V6 with rear wheel drive. It has loads of torque (165) with plenty of horsepower (170) for such a light car.

I have researched a long time on this model of car, and it is a gem. It would be very hard for me to sell, unless I could buy a 300zx Twin Turbo for the money I got from it. :)

This handles nice, and gets up and goes!! This has more power than most of those new Integras and Civics which, in my opinion, suck.

I have had no major problems with this car, and plan to keep it for as long as I can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2002

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews