1997 Nissan 200SX Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1997 Nissan 200SX from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Reliable and easy to care for, its the perfect car for one or two people on the go.

Faults:

Nothing beyond general used car upkeep such as brakes, alternator, and now I think it might need a clutch.

One very noticeable issue is with the paint. It has faded on the hood and started chipping on the bumpers. A friend who has the exact same car (but different color) is experiencing the same thing.

General Comments:

This Nissan has been a surprisingly reliable and fun car.

Although it is a little low in power (eg. it doesn't do well on hills), it keeps going without much extra upkeep.

Its interior is smaller as it's a small sized two-door, but once in there is plenty of space to move.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2007

1997 Nissan 200SX SE from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

One purchase I will never regret!

Faults:

I was surprised to read in another review that the dash lights flickered because that is the same problem I had with my Nissan! I took it to the dealer twice for this which drove me crazy at night not being able to see my dash. they said they had to disconnect/disable the key-less entry that the previous owner put in so that the lights would not flicker anymore. it still happens occasionally so apparently that wasn't the problem. I have had this car 8 yrs, its got 35k on it and its barely cost me anything at all in maintenance. i did have a flat tire and found out the spare is just a donut so keep that in mind. no space in the back for a REAL tire. better keep a few cans of fix a flat with you at all times.

General Comments:

This car is small inside, but extremely reliable and nearly hassle free!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2006

2nd Sep 2007, 03:15

What's wrong with having a donut spare tire? you're going to fix the "real" tire, right? I've ridden on the donut and not realized it wasn't a "real" tire.

19th Jun 2009, 16:45

I, as well, have the flickering dashboard. I usually just flip the roller a few times and it comes right back on. Also, a while ago my key no longer opens my doors or my trunk. Can't lock my doors. Hmph. But really it has been a remarkably good car for as little work I've done on it.

1997 Nissan 200SX Sports Limited 2.0L 4 cylinder turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Awesome car that can be modified infinitely at a budget price

Faults:

Two Blown Head Gaskets within two years.

Also compared to the R33 Skyline GTS-T, it's a light car!

General Comments:

Two blown head gaskets, but only because I drive the car hard! Too bad for the North Americans because this car is awesome! The engines are designed with so much potential to modify, just adding an after-market air filter and 3inch pipe from the turbo back will add another 15% to the cars performance! In stock specs, it will beat a fully modified Mits FTO. With the added two modifications above, it will outrace both the R32 adn R33 Skyline GTS-T's, Porsche Boxter and Subaru WRX (stock). I know because I've raced them all and beaten them! And in an automatic!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

1997 Nissan 200SX SE 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Excellent commuter: economical and reliable

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent reliability and very economical on gas and maintenance. minor discomfort with the cup holders and stereo, basic inside, but great commuter car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

1997 Nissan 200SX Touring edition 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance53500 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

A real wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

The auto gearbox oil cooler sprang a leak and had to be replaced. The dealer wanted an absolute fortune to replace it at over £400! The problem was solved by obtaining a decent second hand part from a breakers yard. My local mechanic was then able to replace, total out lay (including the part) was just £90.

The dealers are horrendous, and seem to know little about the car. Parts take ages to order and are very expensive. Best shop around breakers yards, as parts manufacturers do not seem to make pieces for the 200sx.

General Comments:

Having said that, it is a real drivers car. The handling is excellent, and it drives beautifully. The performance will bring an instant smile to the driver. It reminds me of my mis-spent youth romping around in big V6 Capri's. Plenty of go, no space in the rear seats, and lethal in the wet!

The touring version comes with a full black leather interior, 10 stack Sony CD and smooth automatic transmission.

Although I was unsure about going back to a four cylinder car again, this car has changed my mind. Its tremendous fun.

It's a nice looking car, its sober appearance is pleasing to the eye and hides its power potential. A real wolf in sheep's clothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

16th Dec 2003, 16:54

Well I still love this car! My mileage is now just under 67k as my girlfriend lives a 246 round miles away.

I have had no problems with it apart from replacing two tyres and the exhaust. Both of which I got from a local centre who didn't charge me the earth.

Only major problem I have had is with some low life deciding that it was just too nice and scratching it with their key.

I will probably be selling it in 2004 to buy a 300zx. Although I still stand by my original comments. It's a lovely car to drive, turns heads and never fails to raise a smile when out on the M25 on a Friday! I love it.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews