1995 Nissan 240SX Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1995 Nissan 240SX Base 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Gorgeous and refined road-going rocket.

Faults:

Turbo required a rebuild (only cost $100) and it needed a new blow off valve (also, only $100) considering the engine sat for so long on shelves before being put in, this is entirely understandable.

General Comments:

I can tailgate Porsches on off-ramps all day. even without the 18x9.5 rear 18x8.5 front tires on Tien HE coil-overs, it never let go of the road.

The 2.0 turbocharged 4 cylinder engine swap lasts forever, starts every time, spools low and revvs high. Clutch action is precise and confident.

Extremely high quality of parts, nothing breaks, rusts, or wears out.

Large space for 2 people, can comfortably seat 3.

Wonderfully bolstered, comfortable seats.

Being 6'3 myself, there was no lack of headroom, and visibility is superb.

Lately people see a 240sx and assume it's still stock (which alone, is still a very nice, obscenely reliable, and sporty motor.) But as soon as they hear the whistle from the Turbo and the hiss of the blow off valve, you can see the look of terror in their eyes.

The engine swap itself is incredibly easy to perform, and a factory manual from an Australian 200sx is exactly what you need for the car, which can be found all over the internet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2005

1995 Nissan 240SX SE 2.4L/KA24DE from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L/KA24DE Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

One of the best imports to own

Faults:

Never broke down on me. always started, and drives great! But the back seats are really small.

General Comments:

The car handles great for stock... it will blow away most 4cyl. imports.. trust me, I've done it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2005

1995 Nissan 240SX SX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

The 240 is a sleek and classy car

Faults:

Water pump broke at 110,000 miles.

Roof paint is peeling.

Stock CD Player gone at 90,000 miles.

Struts wear quickly.

Brake pads need to be replaced frequently.

General Comments:

This car was a hand-me-down from my older brother and I (am a women who) absolutely loves the 240.

Sleek, classy look.

Handles great.

Very dependable.

Very classy car... not loud or obnoxious, but eye-catching and sweet.

Amazing price for such a good sports car.

The best lowest priced sports car on the market.

Wouldn't trade it for the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2005

1995 Nissan 240SX SE 2.4 KA24DE from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 KA24DE Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles

Summary:

The perfect import

Faults:

Clutch has given out.

General Comments:

The car has excellent acceleration for stock and will beat most of the Honda's and Acura's.

Very fun to drive.

Engine still running great.

Handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2003

1995 Nissan 240SX SE ka24de from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission ka24de Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Drift Machine

Faults:

This is a very reliable car. Some of the only things that have gone wrong are the trunk latch doesn't keep the trunk closed.

I think my transmission is going to go out soon, which is understandable because I drive this car very hard.

Other than that, the car is in great shape.

General Comments:

The 240sx, otherwise known as the Silvia, is an outstanding car. The rear wheel drive makes this car very fun to drive. I am really into drifting, and this car's solid chassis and quick throttle response enables me to drift to the car's full potential.

I am planning to soon swap my motor with the sr20det (the Japanese turbocharged motor for this car), which will truly make this car a true sports car.

With upgraded suspension, "Z" rated tyres and the thrill of speed, the 240sx is an absolutely amazing performance machine. This is one of the best suspensions and handling cars of its time, The multi-link suspension used in the 240sx can keep up with, or even out perform the sports cars of 2003.

All in all, the 240sx is a very reliable, high performance vehicle. I seriously doubt that I will ever be able to sell this amazing performance car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2003

18th May 2003, 22:11

I understand that this is a great car for drifting, but how can you drift with automatic???

17th Jun 2003, 08:20

I truly understand the 240SX SE is a really outstanding car, but since the car is mostly an automatic can you get the same performance level for it, if it had a manual transmission such as in areas as Drifting and with just straight up speed for racing.

5th Mar 2004, 07:25

I understand how to drift with an automatic. Five speeds are better, but there is a little something called the emergency brake. This guy probably knows about hot to drift with the brakes both front and rear. But he probably got this car saying hey rear wheel drive sports car. Then after sliding a few times started to drift. I drift every day in my 1993 240 . I have intake, exhaust, clutch, and suspension, 300 brakes, and I also have cheap 17 inch wheels. Watch the wheel clearance on the brake upgrade!

27th Mar 2004, 17:38

Yeah that's cool, I'm buying a 240 next week and plan to do a lot of modifications to it. I've heard very good words bout this car, and I hope they are all true.

6th Apr 2006, 21:39

I definitely agree with the above comment. Turbo the KA! Don't be an SR bandwagoner, there are other choices out there for getting power out of your 240. I wish more people realized there are other routes to take, most are just like "Aww man I need some power to this thing, guess I have to get an Sr20!" NOT. Look into alternative methods, the SR is overrated.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 15 reviews