1997 Nissan 240SX Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1997 Nissan 240SX Coupe 2.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Santana

Summary:

Still a dream car

Faults:

The engine service light comes on frequently; being abroad they have not been able to identify what this means.

The car feels as though it is tracking to the left and has worn the tyres bald on the inside, but the garage can't find a problem.

The exhaust developed multiple holes after only 45,000 miles.

The fuel economy has nosedived now that I've passed 60,000 miles, down from 450 miles per tank to 300.

The rear brakes seem to be a problem area, replaced twice, bound solid once and still squeaking.

Several sets of speakers have now been blown, despite me not being a hooligan who plays loud music.

General Comments:

I think it might be the only example in Scotland, but this does make getting it repaired a little tricky; it took 6 months to get a new exhaust and brake discs were very hard to match.

The car is surprisingly slow for a sports car; about 45 bhp less than the European model and left for dead by e.g. Toyota MR2.

However, the strangely short first gear (is this just my car?), whilst making the car feel slower, does make crawling along in heavy traffic very easy.

For a car of its type, the boot space is remarkably good; more than enough for two people away for a weekend.

The handling is amazing in the dry and vast amounts of fun on our Scottish roads, but a bit of a deathtrap in the wet or on snow. The tail flicks out even thinking about accelerating from a wet roundabout.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2005

17th Aug 2005, 12:58

I had a 97 Nissan 240sx. I had the issue with the check engine light too, but it turned back off after I changed out the air filter. I am not saying that that would work for you, but it did fix it in my case. I drove mine to the point that the engine and electrical systems / computer was getting ready to completely fail.

1997 Nissan 240SX SE 2.0 SR20DET from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 SR20DET Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Best all round Japanese performer

Faults:

Brakes wore out at 84,000 miles.

Stereo quit working.

General Comments:

I have owned a 1994 RX-7, and a 1996 Acura Integra. The 240sx beats these cars hands down. It is the the best performance car I've owned. I had invested large amounts of money into both the RX-7 and the Integra and both have not had the potential of the 240sx.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

20th Jun 2004, 10:52

What? Are you serious? The RX-7's 13B motor has huge potential. The KA24 motor in the 240 has limited power unless you opt for an SR20DET swap. I WOULD choose a 240 over an Integra, but so would any self-respecting import enthusiast. But still, A stock twin-turbo RX-7 is far superior in every way to a stock 240SX.

15th Jul 2004, 01:48

If you scroll down a bit, it says he has an SR20DET...

14th Sep 2004, 09:55

Yes he does have an sr20det. Owned!

2nd Oct 2006, 16:15

It's not unusual to hear about sr swaps in newer generation rx7s.

23rd Jan 2007, 03:52

Come on you guys can't be serious!!!

The rx-7 is one of the best handling cars out there not to mention the megatons of horsepower it can produce!!

Sr20 are great and all, but the rotary is of a different class if you're gonna compare the silvia with anything it should be a generic FR car. Ask anybody who knows, the rx-7 against any normal FR is no contest!!!

19th Oct 2007, 15:06

Rx7 is in a different class.. also all rx7 have twin turbo.

1997 Nissan 240SX SE 2.0L KA20DE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L KA20DE Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

One of the most sought after cars on the market, a true sports car

Faults:

Rear camber is tricky. I brought it for a 4 wheel alignment and they don't know how to fix it.

It has a small shelf in the back, cleverly disguised as a rear seat.

Stock brakes/calipers are too weak.

General Comments:

The engine that comes in the North American version is in all actuality a truck engine. That means it produces a good deal of low end torque (it makes you go fast from a full stop). Getting approximately 25 miles to the gallon, it still delivers a fun ride.

Nissan's Silvia S13 (240SX 89-94),

S14 (240SX 95-98) was designed to be a canyon carver, and these attributes show through quite clearly in the way the car handles. The wheel spacing combined with the low stance of the car allow for a stable base. You can take turns smoothly and at a slightly faster pace than most, without experiencing chassis roll.

Interior seats are reminiscent of bucket design. For someone of average to small stature they are quite comfortable. People with broad shoulders should find relative comfort.

The dashboard gages are reverse indiglo, meaning black numbers on a white background, which allows for easy reading during daylight hours, and at night, viola, the digits are illuminated for stress-less reading.

Probably one of the best looking cars around. Not many on the road as they were a semi-limited run. So they are head turners. But the real beauty lies in the cars capabilities. With the right equipment, and a decent wallet, this can be the great car it was meant to be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

10th Jun 2004, 21:25

I just noticed that you said the engine was a KA20DE, but that's not a real Nissan engine. The engine that came in all American 240sx's were the KA24DE or the KA24E in early versions. Also, these were 2.4L engines not 2.0L engines.

23rd Jul 2005, 01:41

You're braking problems can probably be solved with more aggressive brake pads and a flush of your brake lines.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews