1996 Nissan 300ZX Reviews

1996 Nissan 300ZX 3Litre NA from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3Litre NA Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 kilometres
Most recent distance89000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Concerto

Summary:

Buy this car!

Faults:

Had a slight rattle from the air filter (I think), but this has since disappeared.

General Comments:

This car is brilliant; very fast, handles brilliantly on dry road, gotta be a bit careful when it's wet.

I love the interior, everything feels right where it should be. Bit loud on the inside, but who cares when you have this kind of car, it's absolutely BRILLIANT.

I don't ever plan to lose this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2007

1996 Nissan 300ZX 2+2 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance74500 miles
Previous carJaguar X-Type

Summary:

It is great just to watch it sit in my garage!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This car is a beauty to drive. It handles like a sports car, looks like a sports car yet is built to last a lifetime.

It rides nice on the highway and especially at high speeds, +65. Mileage, MPG, is about 24 in-town and 28 on the highway.

The car does ride low to the ground and some have difficulty getting in and out. Drive-thru restaurants and ATM machines can be a problem due to the height of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2004

15th Apr 2004, 16:35

What exactly is a "2+2"?

29th Apr 2004, 09:26

Just to define the "2 + 2" model of Z car: This model has something that can be called a back seat. I've never experienced it myself, but hear that it's good for very small children and short people with no legs. The other models don't even pretend to have a back seat.

31st Dec 2004, 21:17

I just bought a 1992 300zx 2+2 and I myself can say that there is not much of a backseat, little children's can fit back there, but it is mostly for insurance purposes...

3rd Apr 2011, 07:39

This reviewer had an X Type Jag, and finds that the 300zx is better. OK, that's it, I'm buying one. I was looking at a VW Jetta, but there are a number of people disappointed. I would stick to the 300ZX to update my beloved Alfa Romeo.

3rd Apr 2011, 11:35

I saved insurance on buying a new 82 280zx because I had the. 2+2. No longer a 2 seater. I was in my late 20s and single, so that was a factor then.

1996 Nissan 300ZX Version S 2 Seater 3.0 liter DOHC twin turbo V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter DOHC twin turbo V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired121 miles
Most recent distance36054 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

A sports car untamed by nature that dominates all who oppose it

Faults:

There isn't much wrong about this car. The turbo-chargers don't flow as well in manual transmission as in the automatics, though. It has always run perfectly for me.

General Comments:

This is an astounding car. It has 300 stock horsepower and can beat just about anything on the road today. I've outrun Camaros, Firebirds, 3000GTs, Supras, RX-7s, and once, a Corvette.

This is my favorite sports car I've ever owned. It is extremely fast and furious. The fastest that I've had the car up to is 169.4 MPH. If I were you, I'd buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

8th Apr 2004, 22:02

I love the 300zx. I don't have one, but it is my dream car, of course I'm 16 and my insurance company wouldn't cover it, but right when it does that car is mine.

17th Oct 2004, 13:24

I own a pearl yellow manual T. T short wheel base 1990.

Its fantastic, I got it in part ex for my Porsche 944.

And I just wanted to say "I'm SCARED OF IT"

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 3 reviews