2004 Nissan 350Z Reviews

2004 Nissan 350Z Roadster from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Good, but not great

Faults:

The paint is very low quality; has a lot of pitmarks, and it shows in a black car.

Third gear grinds.

Lots of squeaks and rattles throughout the chassis.

General Comments:

This car is pretty fun to drive, and is a blast with the top down. The engine has plenty of torque throughout the RPM range, and is very smooth.

The exterior styling is very take it or leave it. It looks strange with the top up, but looks much better when the top is retracted under the hard tonneau cover.

What I don't like about the car is that the ride is very harsh; I would expect a much better ride form a heavier car such as this. Also the door sills are very high, so I'm unable to rest my arm on them.

The doors panels are made completely of plastic, and look absolutely terrible.

The exhaust at first was really thrilling, but now I just find it very annoying.

I enjoy driving this car, but it feels like more of a luxury car than a sports car, so I will be trading it in for a Honda S2000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2010

2004 Nissan 350Z Roadster 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30500 miles
Most recent distance30750 miles
Previous carHonda del Sol

Summary:

Great ride

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Fast and handles great.

Very comfortable for a sports car. I tried similar cars and at 6'3" this was the only one I fit in.

I am lucky enough to live in San Diego, so I can enjoy top down motoring year round. The Z makes a wonderful sound and keeps a smile on my face.

One minor gripe, I wish the car had a more comfortable arm rest. I have found some aftermarket ones online and will pick one up soon.

The worst thing about owning the car is knowing that it's sitting in my parking lot at work, and I can't run out and drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2008

30th Nov 2008, 21:48

I have a question. I am 5.8; do you think I can fit comfortably in this car as far as seat height?

25th Apr 2009, 05:52

I'm 6'5 and it's OK for me :)

Great sports car! I also like the fact that there are so many tuning parts for it.

21st Oct 2009, 10:41

At 5'8, you have the best height to drive any car out on the market ever! You're not tall or short.

18th Nov 2010, 23:00

Got my Z in July 2010 used with 63k miles. Paid $19500 drive out. I have never really been 'in love' with a car until I got the Z. It was an impulse buy. I was gonna get a Infiniti G35 coupe, but saw the Z, and it was $5k cheaper.

So far no problems at all. I have been told the engine is probably good for 200k miles, and obviously the previous owner took very good care of the car.

Wish it had a real glove compartment, seats could be a bit more comfy, but otherwise I am very happy. I shut down a Porsche recently going into Austin.. the car sounds really good when it is revving up and it is fast.

It gets 26 mpg just cruising, and around 23 in town.. all in all, for the money I paid, couldn't be happier.. invite comments on the engine etc.. still learning about the car..

2004 Nissan 350Z Enthusiast 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5300 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Smokes 911's for less $

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

After years of looking and almost pulling the trigger on several sports cars (86 Lotus Esprit, 99 Porsche 911, 2004 Mazda RX8, even a 85 Ferrari 308), I made an impulse buy and bought the 350Z. While I may always long after the Porsche or Ferrari, I am quite sure my wallet loves the Z.

I was looking for a pure sports car in the $30k range and picked up the Z for 27,500. I was looking at the 911 at the same time, and came to the conclusion that with the Z I was getting a car that was equal in performance, 5 years newer, still under warranty, and with probable Japanese quality, for $6k less.

I really can't say enough about the performance of the Z. I have run 3 autocrosses in the past 2 months, and have had done really well against some really good cars. There has been some talk about tires feathering and or cupping. I seriously doubt that my tires will ever last long enough for any of that to occur.

At the last autocross (a Porsche club event) I finished 6th overall out of 30. First went to a race prepared Mazda Miata. The course was really tight and the torque of the Z really helped. I could put it in 2nd gear and pull strongly out of every corner.

The car was pushing really bad on my first couple of runs. I had checked the air pressure before leaving home, stock Potenza's had 41 lbs which was perfect. I checked again after 2 runs and it was up to 60. I lowered the pressure to 42 and knocked 5 seconds off my next run. Still had mild understeer, but could kick the back out in very controllable powerslides around the corners. This car is a ball to drift. I know it can get pretty hairy in the rain, but you have to be smart and back off a little when it is wet.

I have to say though, I get a certain satisfaction out of beating the lap times of more expensive, more powerful cars, even some prepared cars in my bone stock Z on worn out tires. I just can't wait to get it onto the track, although I know I will need to upgrade the brakes for track duty. This is an excellent car at a very good price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2006

6th Jul 2008, 22:12

SMOKES 911 for less $???

WHERE?

WHEN?

HOW?

This would be a first so I really would like to see this.

& tahts stock vs stock of course.

28th Feb 2009, 15:25

LMAO hahahahaa... smokes 911. I have a 2000 Carrera and my friend drives the 04 Z. Not even close bro.

29th Jul 2012, 13:39

Guys, having owned a Porsche and several other nice cars, and driven on track 4 different 911's - I have over taken several 911's in a Rover 214!!! More often than not, it's about confidence, and the 350Z is a properly sorted car, which instills confidence. The older 911's before SM definitely are not, and are easily overtaken by cars, which on paper, shouldn't be able to, unless the drivers are experienced.

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews