1996 Nissan Almera Si 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Buy one, You won't regret it


The motor that powers the windscreen washers fuse blew!

That was it.

General Comments:

Since I sold my Almera I've owned a Renault Megane, Toyota Yaris and a Renault Kangoo van.

Arrrgh! what was I thinking.

Ignoring negative press reports and dull reviews I'm in the process of purchasing a new model of Sunderlands finest (Almera that is not Double Maxim)

The reason I'm buying another Almera is simple.

They're Reliable.

They're Good value.

They're economical.

They look good.

They're well equipped for the cash.

And finally every new car I've had since doesn't give me the same good vibe and good service the Almera did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2004

15th Jan 2005, 15:47

I've got an almera si and it will stick to most things off of the lights.

9th Mar 2009, 12:21

My washers don't work on my 99 1.6 SLX, which fuse is the one for the washers?

10th Mar 2009, 09:16

To the comment on the 15th JAN... stop using industrial strength glue on the front of your car then!

27th Jul 2010, 10:09

Does the Si model 1996 have a timing chain? I've had my Almera for 5 years; best car I've ever had.

1996 Nissan Almera Equation 1.4 from UK and Ireland


I will buy another one!


New clutch required at 70,000 miles.

Blower fan got an intermittent fault at 90,000 miles.

New sump required at 98,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has always started first time: the reliability is astonishing.

While the 1.4 needs to be worked a bit on open roads, the drive and ride is excellent.

Bit cramped inside for big people - long journeys are tiring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2002

18th Nov 2002, 10:15

How can an automatic possibly require a new clutch???

1996 Nissan Almera GTi 2.o 16v from UK and Ireland


The fastest bread van on earth


There is a slight wobble at the steering when approaching a decent speed. Already checked wheel balancing so I'm stumped.

General Comments:

This car is an under estimated beast, its my second gti and this one is as fit as a fiddle!

Fuel consumption is cracking pushing about 32-35 mpg not bad for a 2 litre lump.

Absolutely stunning in black when I severley polish it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

11th Dec 2002, 11:34

Get the camber angle of the front wheels checked (wobble at certain speed) similarly the Bushes and driveshafts.

Black Almera? I am so jealous!

23rd Jan 2004, 06:08

Did you ever sort out the vibration. Mine does the same and it's a tad annoying. Let me know if you did find a cure.

19th Mar 2010, 10:08

I have a black imported Almera. Love the car, very reliable. Does anyone know if it is a low negative system, as I am trying to get a voice alarm system, and was told it only works with a negative system.

1996 Nissan Almera GXD 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland


Superbly reliable and economical


Starter motor at 102,000 miles.

Exhaust (back box) at 104,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has given me almost 90,000 miles of trouble-free service often towing trailer or small caravan.

Fairly economical on fuel, low insurance, very economical on service and repair costs.

Well equipped, comfortable, useful and handles well though a little sluggish.

If you're not a "boy racer" it can't be faulted for comfortable reliable economical motoring.

Best car I've ever had and I still think its good-looking!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2002

1996 Nissan Almera 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland


Good value for money


Nothing until after 125,000 miles.

Fluid clutch system repaired.

Power steering pump needed reconditioning.

Rear shocks replaced.

Failed emissions test first time at our national car test. Eventually just passed after using all sorts of fuel additives and smoke treatments.

General Comments:

This car has served me pretty well considering it has had to stand up to fairly rough treatment, e.g. towing trailers and carrying heavy loads in the boot.

It handles well, but you certainly won't leave anyone behind you at the traffic lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

1996 Nissan Almera SRi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland


Nippy, comfortable, excellent package for excellent value and running costs


Looking at the full service history, nothing.

General Comments:

I have been nothing but impressed with this car.

I bought it as I was looking for something that was reliable and well-built, with good performance. The Almera comes out above others in it's field, as it's cheaper to insure for the equivalent size engine. It also has the advantage that it doesn't attract unwanted attention, and is a bit different to the usual suspects, which is important to me.

This is the 3-door model. The SRi has leather steering wheel, gear stick, and handbrake, and sports seats (front & rear!), which are firm, yet extremely comfortable. It also comes with front fog lights, colour-coded bumpers, rear spoiler, PAS, immobiliser, CD player, electric sunroof, drivers airbag, side-impact bars. The suspensions is firm, with little or no body roll, and the handling really impressed me, particularly on the back roads. I didn't think it was particularly fast when I first got it, then I looked at the speedo; this is a nippy car that will beat any non-GTi hatch.

The interior is far from bland, and is well-built. Another advantage is the large kick panels in the front, meaning that 16.5cm speakers can be fitted front and rear, and the boot is larger than I expected, meaning good room for a sub. Soundproofing is good as standard, and the car is free from any panel rattles; the build quality is superb. Overall, this car is 50cm longer than my previous, but there is so much space in the front and rear, it feels much larger.

These cars are as reliable as can be, and I had no problems buying one with this sort of mileage. Go for a full service history, keep to the servicing interval, and this car will last. I wouldn't change this car for anything else at the moment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2002