2000 Nissan Almera Reviews

2000 Nissan Almera 1.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Faults:

Rear brake caliper - replaced after 2 years driving with a faulty caliper.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

Japanese reliability – the car is not fast or comfortable to drive like other vehicles in the same category, but its outstanding reliability puts it up there on the top of the table.

I generally change vehicles every year, which means that I had tried lots of cars, from the unreliable temperamental Peugeot to the more prestige BMW’s that use cheap spare parts, and Nissan has always proven to be a gem. Easy to maintain and very reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2013

2000 Nissan Almera QX Comfort 1.5 from Portugal

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired221000 kilometres
Most recent distance232000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

It's a Japanese car, nothing else

Faults:

The performance is not the best, have to shift a gear down sometimes when the road rises.

The suspension was changed at 225000km.

Starter motor had to be lubricated.

General Comments:

Good reliable car, with good consumption averages, and it's good looking. I like the dashboard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th July, 2009

2000 Nissan Almera Sport 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

Fun, different, reliable

Faults:

Slight misfire - remedied for free and instantly by the dealer.

Brake calliper was seizing a bit, dealer resolved this at service.

Other than general replacements of belts and bulbs nothing else.

General Comments:

Almeras get a slating in the press. But then you never know exactly why. They say it's not as "dynamic" as others. Well what does that mean?

So I ignored all that nonsense and bought a used 3 door Almera Sport and it's terrific. Despite being a "Young Male Driver" I chose it for reliability, good NCAP score and value (up to £1k cheaper than alternatives). And I've not been disappointed.

The reliability is superb, starts every time first time and it's fun to drive (always more fun to drive a car when you know it won't break down). OK, it says Sport on the bootlid, but it's not that fast. However the 1.8 is nippy, easily cruises at motorway speeds and for its size it's not bad on fuel.

An Almera is different and for me it looks great. Admittedly some Almeras look a bit dowdy in certain colours and trims. But the Sport's got a little roof spoiler, smart wheels and that. Shallow, I know! But so much better than the ubiquitous Focus.

Brilliant seats, up there with Volvo seats for me and the dash is an ergonomic dream. The reports say it's "plasticky". Yep it is, but all the buttons work and aren't falling to bits. And if I was bothered about the look of the dashboard then I would be very sad.

To sum up, don't believe the reports, if you are not swayed by image, but want a reliable comfortable small family car the Almera fits the bill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2006

29th Aug 2006, 11:40

Totally agree with you. Great reliable cars.

2000 Nissan Almera SE 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Reliable, good-to-drive car, but thirsty in traffic

Faults:

Brake caliper seized (96000 miles)

That's it.

General Comments:

Not a hot hatch, but the occasions when more power is needed are few and far between. Road-holding excellent.

Comfortable seats.

Wind, road and engine noise present on motorway, but far from intrusive.

33mpg in town/traffic, 37-40 on motorway.

Interior better than Nissans of yore, but still too much plastic.

6-CD changer very neatly into console: no extra unit in boot or under seat. Slow to change discs though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2005

2000 Nissan Almera Comfort Hatchback 1.8 from Sweden

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10500 kilometres
Most recent distance11700 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 340

Summary:

A reliable all-in-one car

Faults:

Engine air mass flow meter at 11300km. Engine MIL came on every now and then.

Rusty trunk lid around the window.

General Comments:

Even though it is a 1.8 liter engine it is rather quick.

The suspension is sportive.

It is reliable and comfy.

It looks really good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2005

2000 Nissan Almera S 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

I look forward to the day when we change it for something better

Faults:

The glove box catches keep breaking off, causing the lid to fall onto the passengers legs when opened.

The plastic trims around the front window switches are loose.

The seats stain very easily.

General Comments:

The performance feels very poor; the engine needs to be worked very hard to make barely adequate progress.

The steering has no feeling whatsoever and is too light.

The turning circle is dreadful, parking at the supermarket (or any car park) involves lots of three pointers.

The build quality is not as good as our previous Micra which we bought from new. For example, the glove box keeps breaking off which may be due to the fact that this has to be completely removed to change the air conditioning pollen filter, according to our local garage.

Although the driving position is comfortable, you get the feeling that the dash and side panels are too high, even with the seat fully raised.

For a car that does not feel particularly fast, the fuel economy is disappointing. Admittedly, we use the car for the school run, but do not thrash it and yet we struggle to get more than 30 to 32 m.p.g.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

4th Oct 2004, 09:38

I took an Almera for a test drive, opened the glovebox and it fell on to the floor, must be a design fault.

7th Mar 2005, 07:50

If the two lugs on the rear of the glovebox are not in the correct position, the glove box will drop out. Open the lid, check by turning them that they are engaging the surrounding frame.

Not defending a weak design, just something to check if you were suffering the same problem. If these tabs are broken they are available from Nissan for very little.

The design generally is bomb proof, interiors wear relatively well by comparison although 3 door seat belt recoil mechanisms are generally weak within 30,000 miles because of the extension arm.

14th Jun 2005, 15:28

I notice that one recurring comment is about the almera's turning circle. I have never had a problem, but then again I have driven coaches on roads that are narrow for cars, taken 28 foot long by 8 foot wide access buses into council estate culdi sacs. Maybe the problem exists with the driver.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews