2000 Nissan Almera SPORTDECK 1.8 petrol from Finland

Summary:

Unjustly overlooked due to motoring press prejudice

Faults:

In two and a half years nothing apart from headlight bulb failure. Headlights must be on in daytime too in Finland so this is no big surprise. Cheap and easy to replace 4 Euro each.

General Comments:

Read the motoring press eg CAR WHATCAR TOP GEAR and all you'll find is sarcastic remarks about Nissan being boringly reliable.. Is THAT a crime?Not when you have to own and run a car from your own pocket it isn't!

The Almera is my wife's car and we are both extremely pleased with it, it has never given any trouble whatsoever. The 1.8 engine is powerful and makes an excellent long distance car. Average fuel economy is very good on long runs too,7.0litres/100kms or less.

The heating and Air con system are first rate and the headlights (important in long Arctic winters) are astounding. Controls and gearbox nice to use.

Quality of assembly of the cabin is excellent, no rattles or squeaks after 2.5 years. Can FORD manage that? The cars produced in the UK seem to be of very high quality (I own a 2002 Primera and am very pleased with that too, see my review) it uses no oil at all and no leaks anywhere despite having to be in -25 c.

Sunvisor is pathetic though, it is stamp sized and is frankly useless at doing its job. Tyre noise is high too, but this is due to Bridgestones, a switch to Continental should alter that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2002

18th Nov 2002, 10:21

I completely agree with the comment about the factory-fitted Bridgestone tyres. They wear extremely fast (although they may be quiet). At 70000km I need 2 front tyres while my previous car, a Peugeot 405 (a dreadful car, incidentally) was still on its original front tyres at 120000km despite having towed a caravan for about 9000km.

2000 Nissan Almera Luxe 2.2 diesel turbo from France

Summary:

Unfortunately underrated

Faults:

Boot opening mechanism failed - boot jammed shut.

Both headlight bulbs failed simultaneously - after dark during a winter gale of course. LH bulb very difficult to change with normal-sized hands, RH impossible to change without removing coolant expansion bottle (the handbook is useless on this point). Fortunately I had the optional fog lights to get home on.

The Nissan badge dropped off all 4 wheel trims.

Recurrent problems in the (standard) CD charger. Eventually replaced under guarantee.

General Comments:

The Turbo Diesel gives lots of power and torque, but remains economical - it goes like a petrol, but drinks like a diesel. Very noisy on a cold start, but quickly becomes very discreet.

Gear ratio in 5th is too high even with the torque. Motorway cruising is at less than 2000 RPM, but normal road speeds mean frequent change-downs - a pity.

Very high level of equipment at a very competitive price - £2000 less than an equivalent Golf.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

2000 Nissan Almera GX 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A nice car to drive; comfortable, affordable, and reliable

Faults:

The carpet tore in the rear twice.

Vibrating noise from the rear view mirror.

General Comments:

The carpet in the rear of the car has torn twice so far; each time it took approx four weeks to have a new one ordered in, and two days to have it fitted. In my opinion this is not very good service, as I was told by Nissan Ireland that I should just use duct tape to cover the holes in the carpet, while I was waiting for the replacement carpet to come in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th May, 2002

2000 Nissan Almera Sport 3 door 1.8 VVT petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An underrated gem of a car

Faults:

Nothing at all - nor do I expect any problems!!! If I must nit pick, the passenger central locking solenoid is a bit noisy, but really that is it.

General Comments:

This must rate as one of the best cars I have owned. Looks great (draws plenty of positive comment), well built, well equipped, drives well, economical (I was getting 34 to a gallon 5 up with the air conditioning on - knockout result for a 1.8).

The biggest compliment I can pay the car is this. My partner has a Golf GTi (overall a better reviewed car, and accepted as being one of the top in its class) - she would gladly swap it for the Almera without a second thought. She finds it more comfortable, more fun, and generally easier to get on with. Praise indeed.

Go on - try one, ignore the magazines and form your own opinion. I did and don't regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2001

2000 Nissan Almera S 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Babe magnet

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Best car I have ever bought. Goes like a dream and the girlies love it, which is nice!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

2000 Nissan Almera Sport 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The reliability is not worth the discomfort - overrated

Faults:

Only one internal light bulb which is a peculiar size and can not be bought outside the dealers.

General Comments:

The car is totally reliable.

It is the most uncomfortable car I have ever owned.

The suspension is hard.

The seat gives me back-pain.

It is hard on petrol, especially given that the Japanese are supposed to be economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

15th Jun 2001, 16:22

From what I remember of Vauxhall/Opel Astras (your previous car) their suspension is pretty hard and crashes and bangs over poor surfaces - I would get your suspension struts changed/modified.

3rd Sep 2001, 03:26

If you buy a car with a "sport" badge, especially a Japanese one, you will generally get firm suspension thrown into the bag! I own a Nissan with sports settings and, true to form, the suspension is rock hard. If you want comfort go for an "SE" badge, if you want fun go for "sports". Remember that Japanese roads are as smooth as bowling greens so they will always err on the firm side as they don't have to cope with any bumps.

10th Mar 2003, 06:28

It is very wrong to give such a bad impression of a very good and solid built car. As mentioned in a previous reply, if you buy a car which is sporty you will get stiff suspension. The other point I would like to make is that if you really have an Almera Sport then it has a 1.8 litre engine, and not a 1.4 as listed!

25th Aug 2009, 23:22

My Almera is 1.4, and according to logbook is Sport SR 1.4.