2000 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America


IDEAL for a first-time driver


Fuel gage, odometer, speedometer and dash lights would fail from time to time after a fused needed to be replaced.

Can be unsafe to control when driven on snowy or slick roads in bad weather.

General Comments:

This was my very first car. I bought an 2000 GXE in 2005.

The car was immaculate when I bought it at 56K. It used to be a rental in it's former life -- it looked SOOO good that the back seats looked like they weren't even sat in.

I heard GOOD things about Nissan and the ALTIMA GXE was in my budget. When I rode around in this car I barely put any miles on it each year.

It never gave me any probs until I stored in my garage for a few months. After I took it out, only thing that need changing was the battery and a fuse -- aside from that, it was always reliable. I wish I could've treated it better.

Quiet car, firm ride with an athletic feel, but a little disappointed with the handling. All I really would've changed was that the interior room could've been bigger--I'm 6ft tall and need that leg room.

I'm getting a 02 MITSUBISHI GALANT ES because I need a change, it's bigger and the car fits more of my personality... but I'll NEVER forget the good times I had with my ALTIMA.

Overall this car makes an IDEAL first car for any driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2008

23rd Oct 2010, 02:21

My 2000 Altima was bought brand new from the dealer. I can't complain anything about this car. Odometer reads 345,213 miles as of this writing.

Things I have replaced since year 2000:

1. Radiator - once.

2. Brake shoes - once.

3. Brake pads - Too many, can't remember anymore.

4. Transmission fluid has been replaced religiously every 12000 miles.

5. Change oil every 10,000 miles (used Mobil 1).

6. Axle (CV joint) replaced with brand new replacement parts.

7. Water pump - three times.

8. Tires been replaced 5 times, currently running on the 6th sets.

9. Sets of shocks and springs just a week ago.

Major problems encountered : None

Minor problems: water pump, engine light would lit if using Shell, Union 76, and Mobil gasoline, but will stay off with Chevron gasoline.

What I like about this car, is that the engine power and acceleration is still there.

2000 Nissan Altima GXE from North America


Strongly Recommended !!


When I bought the car it had just over 199,000 miles on it, and need a new radiator, tires, and oil pump, but got it all fixed for under $2500.

The Service Engine Soon light does not turn off, and had it looked over several times by myself and my friend who owns a car shop, and nothing is wrong.

The shift shock on the car is horrible, especially going from first to second and second to first, I can tolerate it though.

Does have several smaller rust spots.

General Comments:

For the amount of miles and wear and tear the car has good power and a very comfortable ride.

I am 6'3" and this car actually provides me with a lot of unexpected room.

At nearly 209,000 miles the car still runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2008

2000 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4L from North America


Sporty meets stylish meets affordability


The seats make you feel like you are really high up, and they are very hard as well, not soft like my other cars.

General Comments:

For a 4 cylinder, this car is great, drives nice, and smooth.

Quiet engine, good car for the winter as well. great first car for a student or a new driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2008

2000 Nissan Altima SE ? from North America




Well..lets see. When I first got my Altima, one day I started it and the engine started shaking back and forth.. it hasn't done that since. Then my driver and passenger side windows quit rolling down and I had to replace the switches and the motors. One day I was driving down the interstate at 70mph during rush hour and the engine stopped. The dealer said it was due to a rod or gasket and sludge in the engine. I replaced the engine with a used one and now when I start my car it makes this loud screeching noise until the car warms up. It only makes that noise when it is cold outside. Oh, and I have a power steering leak.

General Comments:

FYI: It's for sale! wbearden20@comcast.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th October, 2007

18th May 2008, 00:43

You mustn't have hated the car too much if you drove it for 82k, and anything with 170k on it must have been a pretty decent car.

11th Nov 2008, 00:19

Your car must have had a few bad motor mounts.. They are very good and reliable and have good performance...

20th Aug 2010, 21:41

I bought a 2000 Altima SE brand new. I've had it now 10 years, and the only problem I've had was with the instrument cluster working on and off. I went to the junkyard, and it was an easy replacement. The car runs "beautiful".