2005 Nissan Altima SE from North America - Comments

4th Aug 2008, 01:31

I own a 2006 Altima 2.5S and had been noticing transmission problem since I bought it. I owned a 91 Accord before that and its transmission shifted so smooth.

The first thing I noticed with Altima was when I get on an ramp and speed up to get on the highway, the gear shifts up and down couple of times as if it was no sure which gear to use.

I took it to a dealer, and a technician took a test drive with me and he agreed on the problem. The dealer told me that there was a error code on the transmission computer, which tells that the turbine revolution sensor has failed. They replaced it and it was all free since it still had warranty (under 36k). That problem is fixed now, but immediately I started noticing the 1-2 hard shift. May be it was there before and was not paying attention to this issue.

My car is now at 45k miles. Is this some problem which will break my transmission in future, or should I take my car to the dealer right way. If so, any idea on how my will it cost me?

3rd Sep 2008, 14:43

I have a 2005 Altima and having transmission problems. Only 60K miles. It's been meticulously maintained. I've been a loyal Nissan customer for my 15 driving years. I will never buy a Nissan again. It's a shame that Nissan corp refuses to do something about this.

7th Sep 2008, 17:18

I've notice the shifting problem between 1st to 2nd. I took it to a transmission shop and my transmission fluid needed to be changed and it had a transmission fluid leak. It drives better now but I still feel the jerk sometimes between 1st to 2nd. I'm convinced its normal with this Model (2005 Altima) since a lot of people are having the same issue.

I do feel that it shifts better after its been driven for awhile, probably because the tranny fluid expands.

23rd Dec 2008, 13:15

Good luck when you write to Nissan. I own a 2005 Altima and at 40,000 had to replace the rotors, there was no warning at all that the brakes were going on the car. Now a few weeks later I noticed that there was some antifreeze on the snow in my driveway. I could not believe it, I am so disappointed with this car. This is my first Nissan and I bought it as I thought it would be a reliable vehicle and it has not been at all, first the recall on the crank shift sensor, the car never wanted to start from day 1. I am going out to look at Hondas in a week, I am afraid that this car will become a major money pit. Also, I had to replace the tires within a year and the service person at Nissan told that they put junk Continental tires on the vehicles.

23rd Dec 2008, 16:08

I have Nissan Altima 2005. It has 50k miles. I just started to experience a jerk or you can call a thud while shifting. It happens exactly at 15 mph. Sometimes the car shifts smooth, but as soon as it gets hot, it starts to jerk up. After reading all the comments, it looks like this is normal for all Altimas.

28th Dec 2008, 14:41

I just put a 1000 dollar deposit for a used 2005 Nissan Altima 100k. But after reading all these comments about transmission problems and such, I'm not really sure if I want to buy it anymore. It will cost me 500 dollars to cancel the deal (half my deposit). I'm thinking of letting the 500 dollars go and get a 2006 Dodge Charger 115k instead, which will end up being the same price. Any advice/suggestions about this are greatly appreciated.

30th Dec 2008, 12:08

I say get back the $500 and live with the loss, seriously do not buy this car! You would be much better off with a Toyota or a Honda. I would hate to see someone buy a used vehicle and then have to keep dropping money into it. I owned a new 2001 Hyundai Elantra, never had to have any work done on the car at all until it was six years old and the work was minimal. Granted it is not the nicest car to drive, that is why I upgraded to the Altima. I will never ever purchase a Nissan again!

9th Jan 2009, 12:31

I have a 2005 Altima 2.5S with 50K on it. It's been an OK car, but not great. I like the looks and sporty feel better than Toyota's and Honda's, but Nissan doesn't have the same reliability. I think the 1st/2nd shifting is just a design issue and can't be fixed, mine downshifts abruptly sometimes when accelerating around a corner. Under warranty, had front right strut replaced twice (seems they didn't get it right the first time). Then had sound like running water as I accelerate from stop. Dealer said it was air bubble in A/C, recharged it, charged me $70 and it did nothing. Eventually, heater stopped working at idle but worked at all other times. Radiator was full but overflow was empty, so I added water. After a few days heater started working again and water sound disappeared. Don't know what caused the water in the overflow to disappear though. Also I have whining sound from engine/trans/wheels when decelerating, and car cranks (starting) way too much when engine is warm and outside temperature is hot. Overall an OK car but too many issues for my taste.

12th Jan 2009, 18:05

Nissan Altima 2005: after 3 years, 60,000 miles service.

($600.00) during two months - the battery is needed to replaced, brakes - replaced; fog lamp - replaced; transmission fluid - gone; cooling system - problems; brake rotors - need to be monitored.

What car need to buy to replace this one?

12th Jan 2009, 18:12

I just carried my 2005 Altima 83,000 miles in for the same jerking at 20 mph, except mine slipped into neutral. I was wondering if any of you had warranties and if it was covered? Also if you had warranty, did you have your maintenance done on time? I have been happy with the car until now.

13th Jan 2009, 02:25

Wow, before reading all of these comments, I didn't realize that Nissan has serious transmission problems. On the contrary, my 05 Altima 3.5 with 64k jerks when I put it from park to drive. I've done a transmission flush since it was very dark, and a throttle body cleaning, but I still have the same problem. Oh yeah, the dealer didn't even change the transmission filter. Can that be the reason why it's jerking? Any ideas? Thanks

16th Jan 2009, 11:45

I bought my 2005 Nissan Altima 2.5S used with 78,000 miles. The car is gorgeous and I really do enjoy driving it, but yes I have a couple issues as well.

1) The hard shifting between 1st and 2nd gear that occurs sometimes really drives me nuts. It seems as if it occurs the most when the transmission is not pushed. Meaning the transmission shifts smoothly when accelerating uphills and when accelerating quickly. The transmission seems to shift harder when driving on a downward slope. I have noticed that if you accelerate more slowly than normal that it will also shift smoothly. Also, sometimes it will shift smoothly for a while till I forget about the hard shifting before it starts again.

2) Every time I come to stop, the shifter gives clicking sound, which from reading other forums, seems to be normal. Anyone heard any other things!

Has anyone been able to resolve these issues and if so, how much did they cost? What were the solutions to these problems?