2005 Nissan Altima Reviews

2005 Nissan Altima from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Not worth buying, better cars are available

Faults:

Had all 4 wheel bearings replaced, A/C compressor and hose replaced.

The floor is rusting and needs replacing. Nissan refuses to help in any way; the rep would not answer most of my questions, and refuses to acknowledge the problems.

General Comments:

I bought this car to drive for 200,000 miles, but it's now falling apart. Nissan refuses any goodwill. I will never buy another Nissan or Infiniti.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2014

2005 Nissan Altima SL Extra 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance158800 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

The random hard starting is getting old

Faults:

Left inner tie rod arm at 130,000.

Battery in 2012.

Left front wheel bearing at 135,000.

Steering wheel u-joint knuckle at 135,000.

Camshaft position sensor at 140,000, and emission control sensor (expensive repair, $899).

Fan speed blower control resistor at 140,000.

Serpentine belt at 140,000.

Camshaft position sensor and crankshaft position sensor at 155,000.

Completely new rotors and pads at 155,000.

General Comments:

Imagine you're the captain of an enormous boat. This boat is huge, fairly slow, but very comfortable. This about sums up the Altima.

While the car has been relatively good for 2 years that I owned it, I feel I must speak about the repeated problems I've had with the crankshaft and camshaft position sensors.

The car will sometimes have a hard time starting. This worrying fact has caused me to sell the car at a steep discount.

The car is very roomy and comfortable. Nissan knows how to make a great sounding sound system. The NDSS 6x9's in the back seriously sound like after market bass.

Sadly, the only Nissan I may ever buy would be a GT-R, but at their prices, that will not likely happen.

So long, good bye, and never again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2013

15th Jun 2013, 07:34

So, you buy a old car and expect it to run like new?

It's amazing how many people come on here to complain about cars they buy that are close to 10 years old.

17th Jun 2013, 00:04

130,000 kilometers on an eight-year-old car isn't exactly "severe service." Problems with the engine and camshaft timing on such a young vehicle are not really acceptable, in my opinion. The author is right to be annoyed.

17th Jun 2013, 16:36

It seems Nissan has problems with grounding the upper parts of their engines. Over time the factory grounds seem to fail. I own a 1997 Maxima with V6 that had intermittent hard starting, random variation in idle speed and other gremlins. I studied the Stillen grounding kit instructions and made my own cables. Voila! All the gremlins are gone. You may have luck by mimicking this grounding scheme. Check the battery ground at the engine as well. Mine was corroded.

See http://www.nissanraceshop.com/product/331974/stillen-grounding-nissan-altima-0206-606330

Good luck.

26th Jun 2013, 00:22

Actually, I had a problem with the car mainly because it wouldn't start reliably any more. Go to the store, come back - it turns but won't fire. Wait 2-5 minutes. It might start. Repeat. In 1 year I spent over $2000 in repairs.

I sold it for cheap, and bought a newer non-Nissan (Mazda). No regrets.

2005 Nissan Altima from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired14 miles

Summary:

Would love it even more if I could figure out what is wrong with it

Faults:

Transmission will not engage if car has been parked for long periods of time (8hrs +).

General Comments:

The car held up, considering how many miles I have put on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th February, 2011

2005 Nissan Altima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Wouldn't buy another Nissan

Faults:

Wears out brakes fast... Could be my driving.

Lost power going down the freeway. Gas pedal wouldn't work. They replaced it for free.

Transmission stopped in the middle of the street... goes in reverse fine, but won't go up hills or faster than 5mph on level streets.

General Comments:

Noisy on the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2010

2005 Nissan Altima S 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Love Nissan

Faults:

Oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

Never had a problem with my 2005 Altima. Got 167000 miles and runs perfect, but the only problem is the seats are not that comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th May, 2010

2005 Nissan Altima from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This car is overated, and the dealer/maker does not stand behind their product

Faults:

Jerking between 1st and 2nd gear after 100,000KM. Computer diagnosis of solenoid replacement does not fix the problem.

General Comments:

Despite multitude of customer complaints, the maker refuses to acknowledge the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2010

2nd Oct 2011, 17:46

I own a 2004 Altima and I am having the same issue, and now I am stuck with a costly repair that financially am unable to fix. I have complained to Nissan, but they don't seem to care too much that a single parent of 3 children doesn't have thousands of dollars laying around to fix an obvious ongoing problem. I guess that goes to show how well they stand behind their product. So just know you are not alone in your battle with an unreliable and very costly car.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 34 reviews